Making Meaning: Inference and Rhetoric in the Interpretation of Cinema (Harvard Film Studies)

4,09 valoración promedio
( 81 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780674543362: Making Meaning: Inference and Rhetoric in the Interpretation of Cinema (Harvard Film Studies)

David Bordwell's new book is at once a history of film criticism, an analysis of how critics interpret film, and a proposal for an alternative program for film studies. It is an anatomy of film criticism meant to reset the agenda for film scholarship. As such Making Meaning should be a landmark book, a focus for debate from which future film study will evolve.

Bordwell systematically maps different strategies for interpreting films and making meaning, illustrating his points with a vast array of examples from Western film criticism. Following an introductory chapter that sets out the terms and scope of the argument, Bordwell goes on to show how critical institutions constrain and contain the very practices they promote, and how the interpretation of texts has become a central preoccupation of the humanities. He gives lucid accounts of the development of film criticism in France, Britain, and the United States since World War II; analyzes this development through two important types of criticism, thematic-explicatory and symptomatic; and shows that both types, usually seen as antithetical, in fact have much in common. These diverse and even warring schools of criticism share conventional, rhetorical, and problem-solving techniques--a point that has broad-ranging implications for the way critics practice their art. The book concludes with a survey of the alternatives to criticism based on interpretation and, finally, with the proposal that a historical poetics of cinema offers the most fruitful framework for film analysis.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Review:

Few books of film criticism are as daring and controversial as Making Meaning. In the tradition of Terry Eagleton's Literary Theory: An Introduction and Fredric Jameson's The Political Unconscious, David Bordwell looks back at the work done in his field, summarizes its strengths, criticizes its weaknesses, and proposes a new point of departure. The result is an arresting overview of contemporary film theory that also exposes its shortcomings. Bordwell concludes that most film criticism and theory is tied to the idea of making meaning, unpacking the overt or hidden messages that lie within the movie. Prophesying that a new era of analysis is before us, Bordwell calls for film scholarship that will both complement and transcend mere interpretation.

From the Back Cover:

This book is at once a history of film criticism, and analysis of how critics interpret films, and suggestion for some alternative research programs. I want to describe how an institution constructs and constrains what is thought and said by its members, and how the members solve routine problems by producing acceptable discourse.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Bordwell, David
Editorial: Harvard University Press
ISBN 10: 067454336X ISBN 13: 9780674543362
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: 1
Librería
WCC Corp.
(Moorpark, CA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harvard University Press. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 067454336X. Nº de ref. de la librería N1-106

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 15,00
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,13
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Bordwell, David
Editorial: Cumbreland, Rhode Island, U.S.A.: Harvard Univ Pr (1991)
ISBN 10: 067454336X ISBN 13: 9780674543362
Nuevos Soft cover Cantidad: 1
Librería
Mima Mia Books
(Boston, MA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Cumbreland, Rhode Island, U.S.A.: Harvard Univ Pr, 1991. Soft cover. Estado de conservación: New. 1357 Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng Language: eng. Nº de ref. de la librería 4A32

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 15,75
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,40
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

David Bordwell
Editorial: Harvard University Press (1991)
ISBN 10: 067454336X ISBN 13: 9780674543362
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harvard University Press, 1991. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería M067454336X

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 24,98
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

David Bordwell
Editorial: Harvard University Press (1991)
ISBN 10: 067454336X ISBN 13: 9780674543362
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harvard University Press, 1991. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería IQ-9780674543362

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 32,21
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

David Bordwell
Editorial: Harvard University Press (1991)
ISBN 10: 067454336X ISBN 13: 9780674543362
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harvard University Press, 1991. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. 1st Harvard Univ Press Ppbk Ed/. Nº de ref. de la librería DADAX067454336X

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 33,02
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Bordwell, David
Editorial: Harvard Univ Press
ISBN 10: 067454336X ISBN 13: 9780674543362
Nuevos Tapa blanda Cantidad: 1
Librería
C. Clayton Thompson - Bookseller
(BOONE, NC, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harvard Univ Press. Estado de conservación: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW Softcover A Brand New Quality Book from a Full-Time Bookshop in business since 1992!. Nº de ref. de la librería 2361561

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 36,70
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Bordwell, David
Editorial: Harvard University Press (2017)
ISBN 10: 067454336X ISBN 13: 9780674543362
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 2
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harvard University Press, 2017. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Never used! This item is printed on demand. Nº de ref. de la librería P11067454336X

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 38,31
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,69
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

David Bordwell
Editorial: Harvard University Press
ISBN 10: 067454336X ISBN 13: 9780674543362
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harvard University Press. Estado de conservación: New. Brand New. Nº de ref. de la librería 067454336X

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 38,05
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,97
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Bordwell, David
Editorial: Harvard University Press (2017)
ISBN 10: 067454336X ISBN 13: 9780674543362
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: > 20
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harvard University Press, 2017. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Never used! This item is printed on demand. Nº de ref. de la librería 067454336X

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 39,84
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,69
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Bordwell, David
Editorial: Harvard University Press (1991)
ISBN 10: 067454336X ISBN 13: 9780674543362
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Harvard University Press, 1991. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería INGM9780674543362

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 38,32
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda