Imagen del editor

Polluting For Pleasure

Mele, Andre *Author SIGNED/INSCRIBED!*

0 valoraciones por Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0393035107 / ISBN 13: 9780393035100
Editorial: W.W. Norton & Co., New York, NY, 1993
Condición: Fine Encuadernación de tapa dura
Librería: edconroybooks (Troy, NY, Estados Unidos de America)

Librería en AbeBooks desde: 12 de febrero de 1997

Cantidad: 1
Comprar usado
Precio: EUR 20,92 Convertir moneda
Gastos de envío: EUR 0,00 A Estados Unidos de America Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío
Añadir al carrito

Descripción

(full book description) W.W. Norton & Co., New York, NY, 1993. 1st Edition 1st Printing, Fine/Fine, Hard Cover, w/Dust Jacket. Size=5.5"x8.5", 224pgs(Index). SIGNED, INSCRIBED by Author on Half Title Page, o.w. clean, bright and tight. No ink names, tears, chips, foxing, etc. Price unclipped. ISBN 0393035107 20% OFF our regular catalogue price. SELLING WORLDWIDE since 1987. 99% OF OUR BOOKS ARE SHIPPED IN CUSTOM BOXES, WE ALWAYS PACK WITH GREAT CARE!. N° de ref. de la librería CONROY221581I

Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Detalles bibliográficos

Título: Polluting For Pleasure

Editorial: W.W. Norton & Co., New York, NY

Año de publicación: 1993

Encuadernación: Hardcover

Condición del libro:Fine

Condición de la sobrecubierta: As New

Ejemplar firmado: Signed by Author

Edición: First Edition.

Tipo de libro: Book

Acerca de

Sinopsis:

In the tradition of Silent Spring and Unsafe at Any Speed comes this frightening, landmark environmental study. The message: seemingly innocuous recreational boats, particularly outboards, are polluting as much as all the cars and trucks in America; and the marine industry has been holding its breath, hoping that nobody notices. Polluting for Pleasure begins with the author accidentally discovering that pleasure boats have been spilling oil into the environment on a magnitude that is staggering. In addition to being 80 times more polluting than automobile engines, the more than 8 million two-cycle outboard engines put more oil into American waters than 15 Exxon Valdez oil spills, annually! Oil, like dirt collecting on the sides of a bathtub, contaminates the shores and marshlands of our lakes and rivers, the cradles of all marine life. This important new book not only studies the problem of pollution from powerboats and the environmental effects, it also offers constructive suggestions for alleviating the problem.

From Library Journal:

Mele, a former navy signalman and boat builder and designer, posits a strong, well-developed, and fully documented argument that pleasure boating is harmful to the environment. He notes that the oil and hydrocarbon pollution caused by such boating is the equivalent of 40 Exxon Valdez disasters every year, yet it goes largely unnoticed. The two-cycle outboard engine is a notorious fuel waster subject to no emissions controls. The smoke from a starting outboard motor is linked to smog, emphysema, and lung cancer, while oil on the surface layer of tidal estuaries has toxic effects on marine species. In response, Mele urges, among other things, that the two-cycle outboard motor be replaced by a clean-burning four-cycle motor and that motors using battery and electric power be developed. He also recommends that the federal and state governments offer tax credits and subsidies for nonpolluting technologies and that emission limits for pleasure boats be established. For all environmental and boating collections.
- Judith B. Barnett, Pell Marine Science Lib., Univ. of Rhode Island, Kingston
Copyright 1993 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Descripción de la librería

Established In 1987, we are an INDEPENDENT e-commerce SHOP with the flexibility of focusing on providing a quality product with personal service. With over 100,000 titles in our catalogue we Specialize in Military History, Social and Political Sciences, Marxism, Communism, World War II, Russian Royalty, Biography, Hollywood and First Editions.

Ver la página web de la librería

Condiciones de venta:

QUESTIONS, please call us 518.279.9638, Mon-Fri 830am to 4pm ET. We ship 6 days a week, with most orders going out in 24 hours. We accept Checks, Postal Money Orders, PAYPAL, American Express, Visa, MasterCard and Discover Cards.

Condiciones de envío:

International orders are shipped via AIR and should arrive in 7 to 10 days after shipping. Over sized items (e.g. Sets containing 2 or more volumes, table size, 4to, folios) and high cost items are sometimes subject to additional shipping charges; we will contact you if such is the case.
Orders shipped outside of the United States may be subject to import taxes, customs duties and fees levied by the destination country. International shipments may be subject to such import taxes, customs duties and fees, which are levied once a shipment reaches the recipient's country. Additional charges for customs clearance must be borne by the recipient; we have no control over these charges and can't predict what they may be. Customs policies vary widely from country to country; you should contact your local customs office for more information. When customs clearance procedures are required, it can cause delays beyond our original delivery estimates.

Todos los libros de esta librería

Métodos de pago
aceptados por la librería

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue