Forensics For Dummies

4,03 valoración promedio
( 369 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780764555800: Forensics For Dummies

A plain-English primer on crime scene investigation that's a must for fans of CSI or Patricia Cornwell
Since the O. J. Simpson case, popular interest in forensic science has exploded: CBS's CSI has 16 to 26 million viewers every week, and Patricia Cornwell's novels featuring a medical examiner sleuth routinely top bestseller lists, to cite just a few examples. Now, everyone can get the lowdown on the science behind crime scene investigations. Using lots of fascinating case studies, forensics expert Dr. D. P. Lyle clues people in on everything from determining cause and time of death to fingerprints, fibers, blood, ballistics, forensic computing, and forensic psychology. With its clear, entertaining explanations of forensic procedures and techniques, this book will be an indispensable reference for mystery fans and true crime aficionados everywhere-and even includes advice for people interested in forensic science careers.
D. P. Lyle, MD (Laguna Hills, CA), is a practicing cardiologist who is also a forensics expert and mystery writer. He runs a Web site that answers writers' questions about forensics, dplylemd.com, and is the author of Murder and Mayhem: A Doctor Answers Medical and Forensic Questions for Writers, as well as several mystery novels. John Pless, MD, is Professor Emeritus of Pathology at Indiana University School of Medicine and former President of the National Association of Medical Examiners.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

From the Back Cover:

Features famous forensic case studies

"Dynamic, entertaining, and educational . . .blows the lid off the science of crime."
—Kathleen Antrim, author of Capital Offense

Fascinated by forensics? This plain-English guide introduces you to all the key players behind the investigations, revealing how they work crime scenes to identify the victim, criminal, and the circumstances surrounding the crime. You’ll follow the medical examiner and the forensic team in action, find out how they collect and evaluate evidence, and get a glimpse into the criminal mind.

Praise for Forensics For Dummies

"Dr. Doug Lyle has created the must-have guide to forensic science."
– Simon Wood, author of Accidents Waiting to Happen

"An informative, fun, and accessible compendium of facts for laymen and professionals alike. Highly recommended."
– Barbara Seranella, creator of the Munch Mancini crime novels

"This is the lay person’s indispensable guide to the fine art of criminal investigation."
— Taylor Smith, author of Liar’s Market and other novels of suspense

Discover how to:

  • Assess the scene of a crime
  • Analyze trace evidence
  • Determine how and when a victim died
  • Trace drugs and poisons in the body
  • Evaluate firearms evidence
  • Pursue a career in forensics

About the Author:

D. P. Lyle, MD, operates The Writer’s Medical and Forensics Lab at www.dplylemd.com. He has served as a consultant for prominent writers and television programs, including Law & Order.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Douglas P. Lyle
Editorial: For Dummies (2004)
ISBN 10: 0764555804 ISBN 13: 9780764555800
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción For Dummies, 2004. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. 1. Nº de ref. de la librería DADAX0764555804

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 23,14
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,25
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Lyle, Douglas P.
Editorial: For Dummies (2004)
ISBN 10: 0764555804 ISBN 13: 9780764555800
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción For Dummies, 2004. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. de la librería P110764555804

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 32,67
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,70
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Lyle, Douglas P.
Editorial: For Dummies (2004)
ISBN 10: 0764555804 ISBN 13: 9780764555800
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 2
Librería
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción For Dummies, 2004. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Brand New!. Nº de ref. de la librería VIB0764555804

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 32,67
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,56
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Lyle, Douglas P.
Editorial: For Dummies (2004)
ISBN 10: 0764555804 ISBN 13: 9780764555800
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
Nearfine Books
(Brooklyn, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción For Dummies, 2004. Estado de conservación: new. Shiny and new! Expect delivery in 20 days. Nº de ref. de la librería 9780764555800-1

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 48,28
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,41
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Lyle, Douglas P.
Editorial: For Dummies
ISBN 10: 0764555804 ISBN 13: 9780764555800
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: 1
Librería
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción For Dummies. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 0764555804 New Condition. Nº de ref. de la librería NEW7.0328848

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 52,67
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,25
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío