The Arrows of Time: Orthogonal Book Three

3,99 valoración promedio
( 385 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780575105768: The Arrows of Time: Orthogonal Book Three

Hard science fiction’s grand master delivers the stunning conclusion to his Orthogonal trilogy.

In a universe where the laws of physics and the speed of light are completely alien to our own, the travelers on the ship Peerless have completed a generations-long struggle to develop advanced technology in a desperate attempt to save their home world. But as tensions mount over the risks of turning the ship around and starting the long voyage home, a new complication arises: the prospect of constructing a messaging system that will give the Peerless news of its own future.

While some see this as a guarantee of safety and a chance to learn of their mission’s ultimate success, others are convinced that the knowledge will be oppressive or worse that the system could be abused. The conflict over this proposed communication system tears the travelers’ society apart, culminating in terrible violence. To save the Peerless and its mission, two rivals must travel to a world where time runs in reverse.

Continuing in the tradition of The Clockwork Rocket and The Eternal Flame, Greg Egan’s Orthogonal trilogy has continuously pushed the boundaries of scientific fiction, without ever losing track of the lives of the individuals carrying out this grand mission. The Arrows of Time brings this fascinating space opera to a close while offering insight into human nature and the struggles we face, both as individuals and as a species.

Skyhorse Publishing, under our Night Shade and Talos imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of titles for readers interested in science fiction (space opera, time travel, hard SF, alien invasion, near-future dystopia), fantasy (grimdark, sword and sorcery, contemporary urban fantasy, steampunk, alternative history), and horror (zombies, vampires, and the occult and supernatural), and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller, a national bestseller, or a Hugo or Nebula award-winner, we are committed to publishing quality books from a diverse group of authors.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

From the Back Cover:

In an alien universe where space-time plays by different rules than our own, interstellar voyages last longer for the travelers than for those they left behind. After six generations in flight, the inhabitants of the mountain-sized spacecraft the Peerless have used their borrowed time to develop advanced technology that could save their home world from annihilation.

But not every traveler feels the same allegiance to a world they have never seen, and as tensions mount over the risks of turning the ship around and starting the long voyage home, a new complication arises: the prospect of constructing a messaging system that will give the Peerless news of its own future.

While some of the crew welcome the opportunity to be warned of impending dangers — and perhaps even hear reports of the ship's triumphant return — others are convinced that knowing what lies ahead in their own lives will be oppressive, and that the authorities will abuse the system for political gain. Agata longs for a chance to hear a message from the ancestors back on the home world, proving that the sacrifices of the travelers have not been in vain, but her most outspoken rival, Ramiro, fears that the system will undermine every decision the travelers make.

When a vote fails to settle the matter and dissent erupts into violence, Ramiro, Agata and their allies must seek a new way to bring peace to the Peerless — by traveling to a world where time runs in reverse.

The Arrows of Time is the final volume of the Orthogonal trilogy, bringing a powerful and surprising conclusion to the epic story of the Peerless that began with The Clockwork Rocket and The Eternal Flame.

About the Author:

Greg Egan is a computer programmer, and the author of the acclaimed SF novels Diaspora, Quarantine, Permutation City, and Teranesia. He has won the Hugo Award as well as the John W. Campbell Memorial Award. His short fiction has been published in a variety of places, including Interzone, Asimov’s, and Nature. He lives in Perth, Australia.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver libro

Gastos de envío: EUR 11,21
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Egan, Greg
Editorial: Gollancz (2013)
ISBN 10: 0575105763 ISBN 13: 9780575105768
Nuevos paperback / softback Primera edición Cantidad: 1
Librería
Allyouneedisbooks Ltd
(Westbury, WILTS, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Gollancz, 2013. paperback / softback. Estado de conservación: new. 1st trade edition paperback new . In stock shipped from our UK warehouse. Nº de ref. de la librería 51638

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 5,75
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 11,21
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Egan, Greg
Editorial: Gollancz (2013)
ISBN 10: 0575105763 ISBN 13: 9780575105768
Nuevos paperback / softback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Allyouneedisbooks Ltd
(Westbury, WILTS, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Gollancz, 2013. paperback / softback. Estado de conservación: new. 1st larger trade Gollancz edition paperback new condition. In stock shipped from our UK warehouse. Nº de ref. de la librería 61778

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 5,75
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 11,25
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío