Biography J.R. MOEHRINGER The Tender Bar

ISBN 13: 9780340828823

The Tender Bar

3,93 valoración promedio
( 25.490 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780340828823: The Tender Bar

The New York Times bestseller and one of the 100 Most Notable Books of 2005. In the tradition of This Boy's Life and The Liar's Club, a raucous, poignant, luminously written memoir about a boy striving to become a man, and his romance with a bar.

J.R. Moehringer grew up captivated by a voice. It was the voice of his father, a New York City disc jockey who vanished before J.R. spoke his first word. Sitting on the stoop, pressing an ear to the radio, J.R. would strain to hear in that plummy baritone the secrets of masculinity and identity. Though J.R.'s mother was his world, his rock, he craved something more, something faintly and hauntingly audible only in The Voice.

At eight years old, suddenly unable to find The Voice on the radio, J.R. turned in desperation to the bar on the corner, where he found a rousing chorus of new voices. The alphas along the bar--including J.R.'s Uncle Charlie, a Humphrey Bogart look-alike; Colt, a Yogi Bear sound-alike; and Joey D, a softhearted brawler--took J.R. to the beach, to ballgames, and ultimately into their circle. They taught J.R., tended him, and provided a kind of fathering-by-committee. Torn between the stirring example of his mother and the lurid romance of the bar, J.R. tried to forge a self somewhere in the center. But when it was time for J.R. to leave home, the bar became an increasingly seductive sanctuary, a place to return and regroup during his picaresque journeys. Time and again the bar offered shelter from failure, rejection, heartbreak--and eventually from reality.

In the grand tradition of landmark memoirs, The Tender Bar is suspenseful, wrenching, and achingly funny. A classic American story of self-invention and escape, of the fierce love between a single mother and an only son, it's also a moving portrait of one boy's struggle to become a man, and an unforgettable depiction of how men remain, at heart, lost boys.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Review:

"Long before it legally served me, the bar saved me," asserts J.R. Moehringer, and his compelling memoir The Tender Bar is the story of how and why. A Pulitzer-Prize winning writer for the Los Angeles Times, Moehringer grew up fatherless in pub-heavy Manhasset, New York, in a ramshackle house crammed with cousins and ruled by an eccentric, unkind grandfather. Desperate for a paternal figure, he turns first to his father, a DJ whom he can only access via the radio (Moehringer calls him The Voice and pictures him as "talking smoke"). When The Voice suddenly disappears from the airwaves, Moehringer turns to his hairless Uncle Charlie, and subsequently, Uncle Charlie's place of employment--a bar called Dickens that soon takes center stage. While Moehringer may occasionally resort to an overwrought metaphor (the footsteps of his family sound like "storm troopers on stilts"), his writing moves at a quick clip and his tale of a dysfunctional but tightly knit community is warmly told. "While I fear that we're drawn to what abandons us, and to what seems most likely to abandon us, in the end I believe we're defined by what embraces us," Moehringer says, and his story makes us believe it. --Brangien Davis

About the Author:

J.R. Moehringer, winner of the Pulitzer Prize for feature writing in 2000, is a staff writer for the Los Angeles Times Sunday Magazine, and a former Nieman Fellow at Harvard University. He lives in Denver.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver libro

Gastos de envío: EUR 10,10
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

J R Moehringer
Editorial: Sceptre - 2006 (2006)
ISBN 10: 034082882X ISBN 13: 9780340828823
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Final Chapter Books
(Woodhall Spa, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Sceptre - 2006, 2006. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Estado de la sobrecubierta: New. First edition / first printing NEW. Fine / fine. Fine copy in unclipped fine dust jacket - lovely copy. Nº de ref. de la librería CH2156

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 19,74
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 10,10
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

J.R. MOEHRINGER
Editorial: SCEPTRE (2006)
ISBN 10: 034082882X ISBN 13: 9780340828823
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción SCEPTRE, 2006. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. de la librería P11034082882X

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 35,37
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,70
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

J.R. MOEHRINGER
Editorial: SCEPTRE (2006)
ISBN 10: 034082882X ISBN 13: 9780340828823
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción SCEPTRE, 2006. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería M034082882X

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 45,28
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

J.R. MOEHRINGER
ISBN 10: 034082882X ISBN 13: 9780340828823
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
LVeritas
(Newton, MA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Gift Quality Book in Excellent Condition. Nº de ref. de la librería 36SDH6000I0A

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 44,50
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,40
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

MOEHRINGER, J.R.
Editorial: SCEPTRE
ISBN 10: 034082882X ISBN 13: 9780340828823
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción SCEPTRE. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 034082882X New Condition. Nº de ref. de la librería NEW7.0866830

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 52,64
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,25
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío