Functional Differential Geometry

3,83 valoración promedio
( 6 valoraciones por GoodReads )
 
9780262019347: Functional Differential Geometry
From the Publisher:

Physics is naturally expressed in mathematical language. Students new to the subject must simultaneously learn an idiomatic mathematical language and the content that is expressed in that language. It is as if they were asked to read Les Miserables while struggling with French grammar. This book offers an innovative way to learn the differential geometry needed as a foundation for a deep understanding of general relativity or quantum field theory as taught at the college level. The approach taken by the authors (and used in their classes at MIT for many years) differs from the conventional one in several ways, including an emphasis on the development of the covariant derivative and an avoidance of the use of traditional index notation for tensors in favor of a semantically richer language of vector fields and differential forms. But the biggest single difference is the authors' integration of computer programming into their explanations. By programming a computer to interpret a formula, the student soon learns whether or not a formula is correct. Students are led to improve their program, and as a result improve their understanding.

About the Author:

Gerald Jay Sussman is Panasonic (formerly Matsushita) Professor of Electrical Engineering in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT and the coauthor (with Hal Abelson) of Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs (MIT Press). Jack Wisdom is Professor of Planetary Science in the Department of Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences at MIT. Sussman and Wisdom are the coauthors of Structure and Interpretation of Classical Mechanics (MIT Press). Will Farr is a CIERA Fellow at Northwestern University.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver libro

Gastos de envío: EUR 6,39
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Sussman, Gerald Jay; Wisdom, Jack
Editorial: MIT Press
ISBN 10: 0262019345 ISBN 13: 9780262019347
Nuevos Cantidad: 4
Librería
Majestic Books
(London, ,, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción MIT Press. Estado de conservación: New. pp. 256 8 Illus. Nº de ref. de la librería 55115585

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 34,89
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 6,39
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Sussman, Gerald Jay; Wisdom, Jack
ISBN 10: 0262019345 ISBN 13: 9780262019347
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
Books_Universe
(Sugarland, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Brand New. US Edition Book. We do not ship to Military Addresses. Fast Shipping with Order Tracking. For Standard Shipping 7-8 business days & Expedite Shipping 4-6 business days, after shipping. Nº de ref. de la librería 0262019345-RMX

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 41,41
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Sussman, Gerald Jay; Wisdom, Jack
Editorial: The MIT Press (2013)
ISBN 10: 0262019345 ISBN 13: 9780262019347
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción The MIT Press, 2013. Estado de conservación: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: "Another gem in the tradition of Structure and Interpretation of ComputerPrograms and Structure and Interpretation of Classical Mechanics ,providing for applied mathematics what the previous two books did for computer science and physics."-- Piet Hut , Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, New Jersey. Nº de ref. de la librería ABE_book_new_0262019345

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 49,52
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Sussman, Gerald Jay; Wisdom, Jack
ISBN 10: 0262019345 ISBN 13: 9780262019347
Nuevos Cantidad: 2
Librería
Bookshub
(Karol Bagh, India)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. New. US edition. Perfect condition. Ship by express service to USA, Canada, Australia, France, Italy, UK, Germany and Netherland. Customer satisfaction our priority. Nº de ref. de la librería ABE-190516-16999

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 49,54
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De India a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Sussman, Gerald Jay; Wisdom, Jack
ISBN 10: 0262019345 ISBN 13: 9780262019347
Nuevos Cantidad: 2
Librería
EBOOKSTORE2010
(New Delhi, ND, India)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: Brand New. New. US edition. Customer Satisfaction guaranteed!!. Nº de ref. de la librería SHAK16999

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 49,59
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De India a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Sussman, Gerald Jay; Wisdom, Jack
Editorial: MIT Press Ltd, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0262019345 ISBN 13: 9780262019347
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 10
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción MIT Press Ltd, United States, 2013. Hardback. Estado de conservación: New. 229 x 155 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Physics is naturally expressed in mathematical language. Students new to the subject must simultaneously learn an idiomatic mathematical language and the content that is expressed in that language. It is as if they were asked to read Les Miserables while struggling with French grammar. This book offers an innovative way to learn the differential geometry needed as a foundation for a deep understanding of general relativity or quantum field theory as taught at the college level. The approach taken by the authors (and used in their classes at MIT for many years) differs from the conventional one in several ways, including an emphasis on the development of the covariant derivative and an avoidance of the use of traditional index notation for tensors in favor of a semantically richer language of vector fields and differential forms. But the biggest single difference is the authors integration of computer programming into their explanations. By programming a computer to interpret a formula, the student soon learns whether or not a formula is correct. Students are led to improve their program, and as a result improve their understanding. Nº de ref. de la librería AAH9780262019347

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 50,70
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Sussman, Gerald Jay; Wisdom, Jack
Editorial: MIT Press Ltd, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0262019345 ISBN 13: 9780262019347
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 10
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción MIT Press Ltd, United States, 2013. Hardback. Estado de conservación: New. 229 x 155 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Physics is naturally expressed in mathematical language. Students new to the subject must simultaneously learn an idiomatic mathematical language and the content that is expressed in that language. It is as if they were asked to read Les Miserables while struggling with French grammar. This book offers an innovative way to learn the differential geometry needed as a foundation for a deep understanding of general relativity or quantum field theory as taught at the college level. The approach taken by the authors (and used in their classes at MIT for many years) differs from the conventional one in several ways, including an emphasis on the development of the covariant derivative and an avoidance of the use of traditional index notation for tensors in favor of a semantically richer language of vector fields and differential forms. But the biggest single difference is the authors integration of computer programming into their explanations. By programming a computer to interpret a formula, the student soon learns whether or not a formula is correct. Students are led to improve their program, and as a result improve their understanding. Nº de ref. de la librería AAH9780262019347

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 51,58
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Sussman, Gerald Jay; Wisdom, Jack
ISBN 10: 0262019345 ISBN 13: 9780262019347
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
Basi6 International
(Irving, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: Brand New. Ships from multiple locations. FedEx or DHL 4-6 business days delivery to your doorstep. Nº de ref. de la librería 20JULY16APP-11435

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 51,88
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Sussman, Gerald Jay; Wisdom, Jack
Editorial: MIT Press (2013)
ISBN 10: 0262019345 ISBN 13: 9780262019347
Nuevos Cantidad: 15
Librería
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción MIT Press, 2013. HRD. Estado de conservación: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería WM-9780262019347

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 44,03
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 10,47
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Sussman, Gerald Jay; Wisdom, Jack
Editorial: MIT Press
ISBN 10: 0262019345 ISBN 13: 9780262019347
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción MIT Press. Estado de conservación: New. Brand New. Nº de ref. de la librería 0262019345

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 51,32
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,25
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda