Functional Differential Geometry (MIT Press)

3,5 valoración promedio
( 8 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780262019347: Functional Differential Geometry (MIT Press)

An explanation of the mathematics needed as a foundation for a deep understanding of general relativity or quantum field theory.

Physics is naturally expressed in mathematical language. Students new to the subject must simultaneously learn an idiomatic mathematical language and the content that is expressed in that language. It is as if they were asked to read Les Misérables while struggling with French grammar. This book offers an innovative way to learn the differential geometry needed as a foundation for a deep understanding of general relativity or quantum field theory as taught at the college level.

The approach taken by the authors (and used in their classes at MIT for many years) differs from the conventional one in several ways, including an emphasis on the development of the covariant derivative and an avoidance of the use of traditional index notation for tensors in favor of a semantically richer language of vector fields and differential forms. But the biggest single difference is the authors' integration of computer programming into their explanations. By programming a computer to interpret a formula, the student soon learns whether or not a formula is correct. Students are led to improve their program, and as a result improve their understanding.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

Gerald Jay Sussman is Panasonic (formerly Matsushita) Professor of Electrical Engineering in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT and the coauthor (with Hal Abelson) of Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs (MIT Press).



Jack Wisdom is Professor of Planetary Science in the Department of Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences at MIT. Sussman and Wisdom are the coauthors of Structure and Interpretation of Classical Mechanics (MIT Press).



Will Farr is a CIERA Fellow at Northwestern University.

Review:

Another gem in the tradition of Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs and Structure and Interpretation of Classical Mechanics, providing for applied mathematics what the previous two books did for computer science and physics.

(Piet Hut, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, New Jersey)

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Gerald Jay Sussman
ISBN 10: 0262019345 ISBN 13: 9780262019347
Nuevos Cantidad: 3
Librería
BooksForStudent
(West Bloomfield, MI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Brand New Book In Mint condition. Shipping with Trackable Method. No APO/FPO Addresses Please. Nº de ref. de la librería 9780262019347NHS

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 35,55
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Gerald Jay Sussman
ISBN 10: 0262019345 ISBN 13: 9780262019347
Nuevos Cantidad: 2
Librería
firstbookstore
(New Delhi, India)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: Brand New. Brand New Original US Edition, Perfect Condition. Printed in English. Excellent Quality, Service and customer satisfaction guaranteed!. Nº de ref. de la librería AIND-71621

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 44,33
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De India a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

SUSSMAN GERALD JAY ET.AL
ISBN 10: 0262019345 ISBN 13: 9780262019347
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
Bookshub
(Karol Bagh, India)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. New. US edition. Perfect condition. Customer satisfaction our priority. Nº de ref. de la librería ABE-FEB-29196

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 44,83
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De India a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Gerald Jay Sussman
ISBN 10: 0262019345 ISBN 13: 9780262019347
Nuevos Cantidad: 3
Librería
Bookshub
(Karol Bagh, India)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. New. US edition. Perfect condition. Customer satisfaction our priority. Nº de ref. de la librería ABE-FEB-29195

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 44,83
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De India a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

SUSSMAN GERALD JAY ET.AL
ISBN 10: 0262019345 ISBN 13: 9780262019347
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
EBOOKSTORE2010
(New Delhi, ND, India)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: Brand New. New. US edition. Customer Satisfaction guaranteed!!. Nº de ref. de la librería SHUB29196

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 44,87
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De India a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Gerald Jay Sussman
ISBN 10: 0262019345 ISBN 13: 9780262019347
Nuevos Cantidad: 3
Librería
EBOOKSTORE2010
(New Delhi, ND, India)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: Brand New. New. US edition. Customer Satisfaction guaranteed!!. Nº de ref. de la librería SHUB29195

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 44,87
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De India a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Gerald Jay Sussman
ISBN 10: 0262019345 ISBN 13: 9780262019347
Nuevos Cantidad: 2
Librería
Romtrade Corp.
(STERLING HEIGHTS, MI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Brand New Original US Edition.We Ship to PO BOX Address also. EXPEDITED shipping option also available for faster delivery. Nº de ref. de la librería AUSBNEW-71621

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 47,27
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

SUSSMAN GERALD JAY ET.AL
ISBN 10: 0262019345 ISBN 13: 9780262019347
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
Basi6 International
(Irving, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: Brand New. New, US edition. Excellent Customer Service. Nº de ref. de la librería ABEUSA-29196

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 47,28
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Gerald Jay Sussman
ISBN 10: 0262019345 ISBN 13: 9780262019347
Nuevos Cantidad: 3
Librería
Basi6 International
(Irving, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: Brand New. New, US edition. Excellent Customer Service. Nº de ref. de la librería ABEUSA-29195

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 47,28
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Gerald Jay Sussman, Jack Wisdom
Editorial: MIT Press Ltd, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0262019345 ISBN 13: 9780262019347
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 10
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción MIT Press Ltd, United States, 2013. Hardback. Estado de conservación: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Physics is naturally expressed in mathematical language. Students new to the subject must simultaneously learn an idiomatic mathematical language and the content that is expressed in that language. It is as if they were asked to read Les Miserables while struggling with French grammar. This book offers an innovative way to learn the differential geometry needed as a foundation for a deep understanding of general relativity or quantum field theory as taught at the college level.The approach taken by the authors (and used in their classes at MIT for many years) differs from the conventional one in several ways, including an emphasis on the development of the covariant derivative and an avoidance of the use of traditional index notation for tensors in favor of a semantically richer language of vector fields and differential forms. But the biggest single difference is the authors integration of computer programming into their explanations. By programming a computer to interpret a formula, the student soon learns whether or not a formula is correct. Students are led to improve their program, and as a result improve their understanding. Nº de ref. de la librería AAH9780262019347

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 48,08
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda