The Engine of Complexity: Evolution as Computation

3,9 valoración promedio
( 31 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780231163040: The Engine of Complexity: Evolution as Computation

The concepts of evolution and complexity theory have become part of the intellectual ether permeating the life sciences, the social and behavioral sciences, and, more recently, management science and economics. In this book, John E. Mayfield elegantly synthesizes core concepts from multiple disciplines to offer a new approach to understanding how evolution works and how complex organisms, structures, organizations, and social orders can and do arise based on information theory and computational science.

Intended for the intellectually adventuresome, this book challenges and rewards readers with a nuanced understanding of evolution and complexity that offers consistent, durable, and coherent explanations for major aspects of our life experiences. Numerous examples throughout the book illustrate evolution and complexity formation in action and highlight the core function of computation lying at the work's heart.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Book Description:

A major new title in the tradition of Dawkins, Dennett, and Hofstadter providing deep and lucid insight into the computational underpinnings of evolution and complexity.

About the Author:

John E. Mayfield is professor emeritus of genetics, development, and cell biology at Iowa State University. He has also taught at the California Institute of Technology, Carnegie-Mellon University, and Harvard University Biological Laboratories. His research focuses on the development of a generalized theory of evolution that relates naturally and easily to fundamental mathematical and physical principles.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

John E. Mayfield
ISBN 10: 0231163045 ISBN 13: 9780231163040
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
Rem Distributors
(NORWALK, CT, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Estado de la sobrecubierta: New. Shipped promptly and delivered within 3 to 5 working days. For PO BOX, APO, FPO and Puerto Rico addresses delivery done in 20 to 25 working days. Serving customers since 2006. Thousand of satisfied customers!. Nº de ref. de la librería REG_9780231163040_Colum1012_31

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 27,42
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

John Mayfield
ISBN 10: 0231163045 ISBN 13: 9780231163040
Nuevos Cantidad: 4
Librería
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería 19109698-n

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 30,13
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,27
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

John E. Mayfield
Editorial: Columbia University Press, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0231163045 ISBN 13: 9780231163040
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Columbia University Press, United States, 2013. Hardback. Estado de conservación: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. The concepts of evolution and complexity theory have become part of the intellectual ether permeating the life sciences, the social and behavioral sciences, and, more recently, management science and economics. In this book, John E. Mayfield elegantly synthesizes core concepts from multiple disciplines to offer a new approach to understanding how evolution works and how complex organisms, structures, organizations, and social orders can and do arise based on information theory and computational science. Intended for the intellectually adventuresome, this book challenges and rewards readers with a nuanced understanding of evolution and complexity that offers consistent, durable, and coherent explanations for major aspects of our life experiences. Numerous examples throughout the book illustrate evolution and complexity formation in action and highlight the core function of computation lying at the work s heart. Nº de ref. de la librería AAZ9780231163040

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 34,75
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

John E. Mayfield
Editorial: Columbia University Press, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0231163045 ISBN 13: 9780231163040
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Columbia University Press, United States, 2013. Hardback. Estado de conservación: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. The concepts of evolution and complexity theory have become part of the intellectual ether permeating the life sciences, the social and behavioral sciences, and, more recently, management science and economics. In this book, John E. Mayfield elegantly synthesizes core concepts from multiple disciplines to offer a new approach to understanding how evolution works and how complex organisms, structures, organizations, and social orders can and do arise based on information theory and computational science. Intended for the intellectually adventuresome, this book challenges and rewards readers with a nuanced understanding of evolution and complexity that offers consistent, durable, and coherent explanations for major aspects of our life experiences. Numerous examples throughout the book illustrate evolution and complexity formation in action and highlight the core function of computation lying at the work s heart. Nº de ref. de la librería AAZ9780231163040

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 34,75
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

John Mayfield
Editorial: Columbia University Press (2013)
ISBN 10: 0231163045 ISBN 13: 9780231163040
Nuevos Cantidad: 10
Librería
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Columbia University Press, 2013. HRD. Estado de conservación: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería WI-9780231163040

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 26,81
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 10,07
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

John Mayfield
ISBN 10: 0231163045 ISBN 13: 9780231163040
Nuevos Cantidad: 2
Librería
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Nº de ref. de la librería 97802311630400000000

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 37,17
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

John E. Mayfield
ISBN 10: 0231163045 ISBN 13: 9780231163040
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
Bookshub
(Karol Bagh, India)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. New. US edition. Perfect condition. Customer satisfaction our priority. Nº de ref. de la librería ABE-FEB-28413

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 37,32
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De India a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

John E. Mayfield
ISBN 10: 0231163045 ISBN 13: 9780231163040
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
EBOOKSTORE2010
(New Delhi, ND, India)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: Brand New. New. US edition. Customer Satisfaction guaranteed!!. Nº de ref. de la librería SHUB28413

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 37,36
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De India a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

John E. Mayfield
ISBN 10: 0231163045 ISBN 13: 9780231163040
Nuevos Cantidad: 1
Librería
Basi6 International
(Irving, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: Brand New. New, US edition. Excellent Customer Service. Nº de ref. de la librería ABEUSA-28413

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 39,61
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Mayfield, John E.
Editorial: Columbia University Press (2013)
ISBN 10: 0231163045 ISBN 13: 9780231163040
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Columbia University Press, 2013. Estado de conservación: New. Num Pages: 416 pages, 77 figures. BIC Classification: PSAJ. Category: (P) Professional & Vocational. Dimension: 235 x 160 x 31. Weight in Grams: 706. . 2013. Hardcover. . . . . . Nº de ref. de la librería V9780231163040

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 39,72
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Irlanda a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda