What Are You Looking At?: The Surprising, Shocking, and Sometimes Strange Story of 150 Years of Modern Art

4,18 valoración promedio
( 2.102 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780142180297: What Are You Looking At?: The Surprising, Shocking, and Sometimes Strange Story of 150 Years of Modern Art

In the tradition of Eats, Shoots & Leaves, art history with a sense of humor

Every year, millions of museum and gallery visitors ponder the modern art on display and secretly ask themselves, "Is this art?" A former director at London's Tate Gallery and now the BBC arts editor, Will Gompertz made it his mission to bring modern art's exciting history alive for everyone, explaining why an unmade bed or a pickled shark can be art—and why a five-year-old couldn't really do it. Rich with extraordinary tales and anecdotes, What Are You Looking At? entertains as it arms readers with the knowledge to truly understand and enjoy what it is they’re looking at.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

Will Gompertz writes, presents, and produces programs about the arts for the BBC. He lives in Oxford, England.

From Booklist:

*Starred Review* Gompertz succeeds in his stated mission to take a “personal, informative, anecdotal, and accessible” approach to defining the full spectrum of modern art movements, beginning with impressionism, by portraying the instigating artists and explaining what they were up to and why. A former director of the Tate in London, and currently the arts editor at the BBC, Gompertz is adept at elucidating complex aesthetic ideas and artistic techniques and linking revolutionary art movements to social upheaval (war, communism, the Holocaust) and scientific and technological developments (quantum physics, television, the atom bomb). He revels in the creative, multidisciplinary synergy surrounding such key figures as Monet, Picasso, de Kooning, and Warhol. And he daringly takes a novelist’s approach to such foundational acts as Duchamp’s purchase of a urinal in New York City in 1917 to create a “readymade” sculpture that embodied the pivotal realization that if an artist says something is a work of art, it is. Gompertz adeptly divides each broad movement into its intriguing subgroups and includes many more artists, critics, and dealers than the usual suspects. His dissections of performance and conceptual art are uniquely clarifying, and he even coins a keenly apt term for such current provocateurs as Damien Hirst and Jeff Koons: the “entrepreneurialists.” A deeply enlightening and buoyant history of modern art and beyond. --Donna Seaman

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Gompertz, Will
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 2013. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería VP-9780142180297

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,79
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Gompertz, Will
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
Nuevos Cantidad: 3
Librería
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 2013. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería IB-9780142180297

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,97
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Will Gompertz
Editorial: Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Penguin Random House. Estado de conservación: New. Brand New. Nº de ref. de la librería 0142180297

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,81
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,97
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Gompertz, Will
Editorial: Plume Books 9/24/2013 (2013)
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
Nuevos Paperback or Softback Cantidad: 2
Librería
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Plume Books 9/24/2013, 2013. Paperback or Softback. Estado de conservación: New. What Are You Looking At?: The Surprising, Shocking, and Sometimes Strange Story of 150 Years of Modern Art. Book. Nº de ref. de la librería BBS-9780142180297

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 14,18
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Gompertz, Will
Editorial: Plume
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: 1
Librería
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Plume. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 0142180297. Nº de ref. de la librería Z0142180297ZN

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 14,54
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Gompertz, Will
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
Nuevos Softcover Cantidad: 3
Librería
VNHM SHOP
(Pompano Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Softcover. Estado de conservación: New. In the tradition of Eats, Shoots & Leaves, art history with a sense of humor Every year, millions of museum and gallery visitors ponder the modern art on display and secretly ask themselves, "Is this art?" A former director at London's Tate Gallery and now the BBC arts editor, Will Gompertz made it his mission to bring modern art's exciting history alive for everyone, explaining why an unmade bed or a pickled shark can be art?and why a five-year-old couldn't really do it. Rich with extraordinary tales and anecdotes, What Are You Looking At? entertains as it arms readers with the knowledge to truly understand and enjoy what it is they’re looking at. Nº de ref. de la librería 5336769

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 14,83
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Gompertz, Will
Editorial: Plume (2013)
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 4
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Plume, 2013. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. de la librería 0142180297

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 13,24
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,69
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Gompertz, Will
Editorial: Plume
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Plume. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 0142180297 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Nº de ref. de la librería SWATI2132146521

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 12,05
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Gompertz, Will
Editorial: Plume
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: 6
Librería
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Plume. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 0142180297 BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY! NOT OVERSTOCKS OR MARKED UP REMAINDERS! DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER!|1.25. Nº de ref. de la librería OTF-S-9780142180297

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 12,90
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Will Gompertz
Editorial: Plume Books, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Plume Books, United States, 2013. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of Eats, Shoots Leaves, art history with a sense of humor Every year, millions of museum and gallery visitors ponder the modern art on display and secretly ask themselves, Is this art? A former director at London s Tate Gallery and now the BBC arts editor, Will Gompertz made it his mission to bring modern art s exciting history alive for everyone, explaining why an unmade bed or a pickled shark can be art--and why a five-year-old couldn t really do it. Rich with extraordinary tales and anecdotes, What Are You Looking At? entertains as it arms readers with the knowledge to truly understand and enjoy what it is they re looking at. Nº de ref. de la librería ABZ9780142180297

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 17,35
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda