What Are You Looking At?: The Surprising, Shocking, and Sometimes Strange Story of 150 Years of Modern Art

4,15 valoración promedio
( 1.912 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780142180297: What Are You Looking At?: The Surprising, Shocking, and Sometimes Strange Story of 150 Years of Modern Art
Críticas:

Normal 0 false false false MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 "Gompertz has an uncanny knack for making difficult art (and ideas) easy...A lively, witty account of the major moments and movements of the past 150 years."
-Associated Press

"An insightful love letter to modern art and an irreverent rejection of the notion that its pleasures are reserved for a chosen few... Each [chapter] hums with engaging history and entertaining anecdotes, cheeky asides and accessible, illuminating criticism."
-NPR

"Gompertz is determined to dispel the layman's fear of the modern art world and those who inhabit it. What Are You Looking At?, which comes out this week, does a very good job of this--replacing isolating esotericism with witty and chatty commentary."
-Interview

"A deeply enlightening and buoyant history of modern art and beyond."
-Booklist (starred review)

"[A] highly lucid, lively, and buoyantly composed history...while his tone is breezy and conversational, [Gompertz] astutely and often wittily describes the core of every movement and its key artists."
-Publishers Weekly
/* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name: "Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow: yes; mso-style-parent: ""; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0in; mso-para-margin-bottom: .0001pt; mso-pagination: widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family: "Times New Roman"; mso-ansi-language: #0400; mso-fareast-language: #0400; mso-bidi-language: #0400;}
Gompertz has an uncanny knack for making difficult art (and ideas) easy A lively, witty account of the major moments and movements of the past 150 years. Associated Press
An insightful love letter to modern art and an irreverent rejection of the notion that its pleasures are reserved for a chosen few Each [chapter] hums with engaging history and entertaining anecdotes, cheeky asides and accessible, illuminating criticism. NPR
Gompertz is determined to dispel the layman's fear of the modern art world and those who inhabit it.What Are You Looking At?, which comes out this week, does a very good job of this replacing isolating esotericism with witty and chatty commentary. Interview
A deeply enlightening and buoyant history of modern art and beyond. Booklist (starred review)
[A] highly lucid, lively, and buoyantly composed history while his tone is breezy and conversational, [Gompertz] astutely and often wittily describes the core of every movement and its key artists. Publishers Weekly"

"Gompertz has an uncanny knack for making difficult art (and ideas) easy...A lively, witty account of the major moments and movements of the past 150 years."--Associated Press
"An insightful love letter to modern art and an irreverent rejection of the notion that its pleasures are reserved for a chosen few... Each [chapter] hums with engaging history and entertaining anecdotes, cheeky asides and accessible, illuminating criticism."-NPR
"Gompertz is determined to dispel the layman's fear of the modern art world and those who inhabit it. What Are You Looking At?, which comes out this week, does a very good job of this--replacing isolating esotericism with witty and chatty commentary."--Interview
"A deeply enlightening and buoyant history of modern art and beyond."--Booklist (starred review)
"[A] highly lucid, lively, and buoyantly composed history...while his tone is breezy and conversational, [Gompertz] astutely and often wittily describes the core of every movement and its key artists."--Publishers Weekly

Reseña del editor:

In the tradition of Eats, Shoots & Leaves, art history with a sense of humor
Every year, millions of museum and gallery visitors ponder the modern art on display and secretly ask themselves, "Is this art?" A former director at London's Tate Gallery and now the BBC arts editor, Will Gompertz made it his mission to bring modern art's exciting history alive for everyone, explaining why an unmade bed or a pickled shark can be art--and why a five-year-old couldn't really do it. Rich with extraordinary tales and anecdotes, What Are You Looking At? entertains as it arms readers with the knowledge to truly understand and enjoy what it is they're looking at.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Will Gompertz
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Nº de ref. de la librería 97801421802970000000

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 12,76
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Gompertz, Will
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 2013. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería VP-9780142180297

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,63
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,55
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Will Gompertz
Editorial: Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Penguin Random House. Estado de conservación: New. Brand New. Nº de ref. de la librería 0142180297

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,33
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,12
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Gompertz, Will
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 2013. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería IB-9780142180297

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,03
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,55
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Gompertz, Will
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 20
Librería
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería 6834433

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,43
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,55
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Gompertz, Will
Editorial: Plume
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: 1
Librería
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Plume. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 0142180297. Nº de ref. de la librería Z0142180297ZN

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 15,53
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Gompertz, Will
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
Nuevos Softcover Cantidad: 3
Librería
VNHM SHOP
(Pompano Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Softcover. Estado de conservación: New. In the tradition of Eats, Shoots & Leaves, art history with a sense of humor Every year, millions of museum and gallery visitors ponder the modern art on display and secretly ask themselves, "Is this art?" A former director at London's Tate Gallery and now the BBC arts editor, Will Gompertz made it his mission to bring modern art's exciting history alive for everyone, explaining why an unmade bed or a pickled shark can be art?and why a five-year-old couldn't really do it. Rich with extraordinary tales and anecdotes, What Are You Looking At? entertains as it arms readers with the knowledge to truly understand and enjoy what it is they’re looking at. Nº de ref. de la librería 9125625

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 15,55
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Gompertz, Will
Editorial: Plume (2013)
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Plume, 2013. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería 0142180297

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 13,21
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,66
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Gompertz, Will
Editorial: Plume
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Plume. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 0142180297 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Nº de ref. de la librería SWATI2132146521

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 13,03
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,55
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Will Gompertz
Editorial: Plume Books, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0142180297 ISBN 13: 9780142180297
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Plume Books, United States, 2013. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Reprint. 212 x 138 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of Eats, Shoots Leaves, art history with a sense of humor Every year, millions of museum and gallery visitors ponder the modern art on display and secretly ask themselves, Is this art? A former director at London s Tate Gallery and now the BBC arts editor, Will Gompertz made it his mission to bring modern art s exciting history alive for everyone, explaining why an unmade bed or a pickled shark can be art--and why a five-year-old couldn t really do it. Rich with extraordinary tales and anecdotes, What Are You Looking At? entertains as it arms readers with the knowledge to truly understand and enjoy what it is they re looking at. Nº de ref. de la librería ABZ9780142180297

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 16,84
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda