A Case of Exploding Mangoes

3,72 valoración promedio
( 6.688 valoraciones por GoodReads )
 
9780099516743: A Case of Exploding Mangoes
Review:

"Zesty, highly inventive...Hanif is a gifted writer...His explosive finale is brilliantly constructed" ( Daily Mail)

"Exuberant and satirical: this is an angry comedy about Zia's brutal legacy to Pakistan" ( Observer)

"Witty, elegaic and deliciously anarchic" (John Le Carré)

"A Pakistan not reducible to generals, jets and jihadisa...a debut novel shaped as much by the subcontinents fascination with history and historical figures as by political thrillers in the tradition of Forsyth and Le Carre.... Along the way there is plenty of humour and slapstick... Cadet life is entertainingly evoked, overflowing with japes, jerkoffs, hashish highs and liquored lows... The most unexpected aspect of Mangoes is also its most compelling - the wryly told story of a love affair between two cadets" ( Guardian)

"Entertaining.... darkly comic.... There are sharply observed sketches of toadying ministers, mindlessly efficient security chiefs, filthy prison cells, sex-mad Arab sheikhs and erudite communist prisoners...as a piece of political satire, A Case of Exploding Mangoes deserves a high mark" ( Independent)

From the Publisher:

There is an ancient saying that when lovers fall out, a plane goes down. This is the story of one such plane. Why did a Hercules C130, the world's sturdiest plane, carrying Pakistan's military dictator General Zia ul Haq, go down on 17 August, 1988? Was it because of:

1.Mechanical failure

2.Human error

3.The CIA's impatience

4.A blind woman's curse

5.Generals not happy with their pension plans

6.The mango season

Or could it be your narrator, Ali Shigri?

Teasing, provocative, and very, very funny, Mohammed Hanif's debut novel takes one of the subcontinent's enduring mysteries and out if it spins a tale as rich and colourful as a beggar's dream.

Winner of the Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Best First Novel and shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2008.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Hanif, Mohammed
Editorial: Vintage Books
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: 1
Librería
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage Books. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 0099516748. Nº de ref. de la librería Z0099516748ZN

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 6,49
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Hanif, Mohammed
Editorial: Vintage Books 2009-01-01 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 2
Librería
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage Books 2009-01-01, 2009. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. 0099516748. Nº de ref. de la librería Z0099516748ZN

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 6,57
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Hanif, Mohammed
Editorial: Vintage Books
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: 1
Librería
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage Books. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 0099516748. Nº de ref. de la librería Z0099516748ZN

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 6,58
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Hanif, Mohammed
Editorial: Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. There is an ancient saying that when lovers fall out, a plane goes down. This is the story of one such plane. Why did a Hercules C130, the world s sturdiest plane, carrying Pakistan s military dictator General Zia ul Haq, go down on 17 August, 1988? Was it because of: 1.Mechanical failure 2.Human error 3.The CIA s impatience 4.A blind woman s curse 5.Generals not happy with their pension plans 6.The mango season Or could it be your narrator, Ali Shigri? Teasing, provocative, and very, very funny, Mohammed Hanif s debut novel takes one of the subcontinent s enduring mysteries and out if it spins a tale as rich and colourful as a beggar s dream. Winner of the Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best First Novel and shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2008. Nº de ref. de la librería AAZ9780099516743

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,45
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Hanif, Mohammed
Editorial: Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. There is an ancient saying that when lovers fall out, a plane goes down. This is the story of one such plane. Why did a Hercules C130, the world s sturdiest plane, carrying Pakistan s military dictator General Zia ul Haq, go down on 17 August, 1988? Was it because of: 1.Mechanical failure 2.Human error 3.The CIA s impatience 4.A blind woman s curse 5.Generals not happy with their pension plans 6.The mango season Or could it be your narrator, Ali Shigri? Teasing, provocative, and very, very funny, Mohammed Hanif s debut novel takes one of the subcontinent s enduring mysteries and out if it spins a tale as rich and colourful as a beggar s dream. Winner of the Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best First Novel and shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2008. Nº de ref. de la librería AAZ9780099516743

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,61
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Hanif, Mohammed
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Nº de ref. de la librería 97800995167430000000

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,89
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Hanif, Mohammed
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
Nuevos Cantidad: 5
Librería
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería 6060375-n

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 6,81
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,45
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Hanif, Mohammed
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 2009. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. 129mm x 198mm x 18mm. Paperback. There is an ancient saying that when lovers fall out, a plane goes down. This is the story of one such plane. Why did a Hercules C130, the world's sturdiest plane, carrying Pakistan's mili.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 304 pages. 0.219. Nº de ref. de la librería 9780099516743

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,36
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Hanif, Mohammed
Editorial: Vintage Books
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: 1
Librería
Paseo Books
(Mesa, AZ, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage Books. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 0099516748 New. Nº de ref. de la librería Z0099516748ZN

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 6,68
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,71
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Hanif, Mohammed
Editorial: Vintage 2009-06-04 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
Nuevos Cantidad: 5
Librería
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage 2009-06-04, 2009. Estado de conservación: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Nº de ref. de la librería NU-GRD-00564977

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 7,90
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,50
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda