Mohammed Hanif A Case of Exploding Mangoes

ISBN 13: 9780099516743

A Case of Exploding Mangoes

3,73 valoración promedio
( 7.497 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780099516743: A Case of Exploding Mangoes
Ver todas las copias de esta edición ISBN.
 
 

Book by Hanif Mohammed

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Críticas:

"Zesty, highly inventive...Hanif is a gifted writer...His explosive finale is brilliantly constructed" (Daily Mail)

"Exuberant and satirical: this is an angry comedy about Zia's brutal legacy to Pakistan" (Observer)

"Witty, elegaic and deliciously anarchic" (John Le Carré)

"A Pakistan not reducible to generals, jets and jihadisa...a debut novel shaped as much by the subcontinents fascination with history and historical figures as by political thrillers in the tradition of Forsyth and Le Carre.... Along the way there is plenty of humour and slapstick... Cadet life is entertainingly evoked, overflowing with japes, jerkoffs, hashish highs and liquored lows... The most unexpected aspect of Mangoes is also its most compelling - the wryly told story of a love affair between two cadets" (Guardian)

"Entertaining.... darkly comic.... There are sharply observed sketches of toadying ministers, mindlessly efficient security chiefs, filthy prison cells, sex-mad Arab sheikhs and erudite communist prisoners...as a piece of political satire, A Case of Exploding Mangoes deserves a high mark" (Independent)

Reseña del editor:

There is an ancient saying that when lovers fall out, a plane goes down. This is the story of one such plane. Why did a Hercules C130, the world's sturdiest plane, carrying Pakistan's military dictator General Zia ul Haq, go down on 17 August, 1988? Was it because of:

1.Mechanical failure
2.Human error
3.The CIA's impatience
4.A blind woman's curse
5.Generals not happy with their pension plans
6.The mango season

Or could it be your narrator, Ali Shigri?

Teasing, provocative, and very, very funny, Mohammed Hanif's debut novel takes one of the subcontinent's enduring mysteries and out if it spins a tale as rich and colourful as a beggar's dream.

Winner of the Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Best First Novel and shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2008.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver libro

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Mohammed Hanif
Publicado por Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
Nuevo Paperback Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Condición: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. There is an ancient saying that when lovers fall out, a plane goes down. This is the story of one such plane. Why did a Hercules C130, the world s sturdiest plane, carrying Pakistan s military dictator General Zia ul Haq, go down on 17 August, 1988? Was it because of: 1.Mechanical failure 2.Human error 3.The CIA s impatience 4.A blind woman s curse 5.Generals not happy with their pension plans 6.The mango season Or could it be your narrator, Ali Shigri? Teasing, provocative, and very, very funny, Mohammed Hanif s debut novel takes one of the subcontinent s enduring mysteries and out if it spins a tale as rich and colourful as a beggar s dream. Winner of the Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best First Novel and shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2008. Nº de ref. del artículo: AAZ9780099516743

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,61
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Mohammed Hanif
Publicado por Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
Nuevo Paperback Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Book Depository International
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Condición: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. There is an ancient saying that when lovers fall out, a plane goes down. This is the story of one such plane. Why did a Hercules C130, the world s sturdiest plane, carrying Pakistan s military dictator General Zia ul Haq, go down on 17 August, 1988? Was it because of: 1.Mechanical failure 2.Human error 3.The CIA s impatience 4.A blind woman s curse 5.Generals not happy with their pension plans 6.The mango season Or could it be your narrator, Ali Shigri? Teasing, provocative, and very, very funny, Mohammed Hanif s debut novel takes one of the subcontinent s enduring mysteries and out if it spins a tale as rich and colourful as a beggar s dream. Winner of the Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best First Novel and shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2008. Nº de ref. del artículo: AAZ9780099516743

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,80
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Hanif, Mohammed
Publicado por Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
Nuevo PAPERBACK Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage. PAPERBACK. Condición: New. 0099516748. Nº de ref. del artículo: Z0099516748ZN

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,91
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Hanif, Mohammed
Publicado por Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
Nuevo PAPERBACK Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage. PAPERBACK. Condición: New. 0099516748. Nº de ref. del artículo: Z0099516748ZN

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,97
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Hanif, Mohammed
Publicado por Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
Nuevo PAPERBACK Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage. PAPERBACK. Condición: New. 0099516748. Nº de ref. del artículo: Z0099516748ZN

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,97
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Hanif, Mohammed
Publicado por Vintage Books
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
Nuevo PAPERBACK Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage Books. PAPERBACK. Condición: New. 0099516748. Nº de ref. del artículo: Z0099516748ZN

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,97
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Hanif, Mohammed
Publicado por Vintage
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
Nuevo PAPERBACK Cantidad disponible: 2
Librería
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage. PAPERBACK. Condición: New. 0099516748. Nº de ref. del artículo: Z0099516748ZN

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,98
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Hanif, Mohammed
Publicado por Vintage 2009-01-01 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
Nuevo Paperback Cantidad disponible: 2
Librería
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage 2009-01-01, 2009. Paperback. Condición: New. 0099516748. Nº de ref. del artículo: Z0099516748ZN

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,98
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Mohammed Hanif
Publicado por Vintage 2009-06-04 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
Nuevo Cantidad disponible: 5
Librería
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage 2009-06-04, 2009. Condición: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Nº de ref. del artículo: NU-GRD-00564977

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 7,29
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Mohammed Hanif
Publicado por Vintage (2009)
ISBN 10: 0099516748 ISBN 13: 9780099516743
Nuevo Paperback Cantidad disponible: 7
Librería
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage, 2009. Paperback. Condición: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Nº de ref. del artículo: mon0000192427

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,69
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,26
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda