Search preferences

Tipo de artículo



Más atributos

Gastos de envío gratis

  • A España

Ubicación del vendedor

Valoración de los vendedores

  • Carmen Laforet.

    Publicado por Poesia Y Prosa Popular Ediciones., Madrid, Spain, 1985

    ISBN 10: 8475201334ISBN 13: 9788475201337

    Librería: Black Cat Hill Books, Oregon City, OR, Estados Unidos de America

    Valoración del vendedor: Valoración 4 estrellas, Learn more about seller ratings

    Contactar al vendedor


    EUR 27,93 Gastos de envío

    De Estados Unidos de America a España

    Cantidad disponible: 1

    Añadir al carrito

    Paperback. Very Good+ in Wraps: shows indications of very careful use: light wear to extremities; mild rubbing to wrapper covers; binding square and secure; text clean. Remains close to 'As New'. NOT a Remainder, Book-Club, or Ex-Library. 12mo. 212pp. Indice. Mass Market Paperback. Carmen Laforet (1921 2004) was a Spanish author who wrote in the period after the Spanish Civil War. An important European writer, her works contributed to the school of Existentialist Literature and her first novel Nada continued the Spanish Tremendismo literary style begun by Camilo José Cela with his novel, La familia de Pascual Duarte. Laforet was born in Barcelona, Spain, but at the age of 2 she moved with her family to the Canary Islands where she spent her childhood. At age 12 she suffered the loss of her mother, and her father subsequently married a woman disliked by Laforet and her siblings (unsavory experiences portrayed in much of her literature). Between January and September 1944 she penned her first novel, Nada, which earned Editorial Destino's Nadal Prize in its first year of publication (1945). A novel of female adolescent development, Nada is considered a classic in 20th century Spanish literature; in many respects, this novel is Spain's The Catcher in the Rye with regard to such universal themes as existentialism and the adolescent search for identity.She published a total of five novels: the 1952 publication of La Isla y los demonios, which is essentially the prequel to Nada; her 1955 La mujer nueva, motivated by her re-discovery of her Catholic faith and recipient of the Premio Menorca; her 1963 La insolación, the initial installment of the trilogy Tres pasos fuera del tiempo; and finally her posthumous Al volver la esquina, published in May 2004 and considered by many to be her most accomplished psychological novel. Following her visit to the U.S. as a guest of the State Department in 1965, Laforet published her travel notes. Her friendship with fellow Spanish author and U.S. resident Ramón J. Sender was revealed in a series of letters published in 2003 entitled Puedo contar contigo. She also authored short stories, the majority of which were published in a 1952 collection entitled La muerta, as well as novelettes that were published in a 1954 collection entitled La llamada. Four additional short stories--"El infierno," "Recién casados," "El alivio," and "El secreto de la gata"were published in the journals Ínsula (1944 & 1952), Destino (June 1953) and Bazar (March 1952) respectively.