Imagen del editor

The Rise & Fall of Great Powers

Rachman, Tom

6.213 valoraciones por Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0804164576 / ISBN 13: 9780804164573
Editorial: Random House Audio Publishing Group 0
Comprar usado
Precio: EUR 26,06 Convertir moneda
Gastos de envío: EUR 3,79 A Estados Unidos de America Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío
Añadir al carrito

Ofrecido por

Powell's Books
Portland, OR, Estados Unidos de America

Valoración 5 estrellas

Librería en AbeBooks desde: 11 de junio de 1997

Descripción

COMPACT DISC Audio Books-Fiction . USED, Standard. N° de ref. de la librería 01978080416457300

Cantidad: 1

Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Detalles bibliográficos

Título: The Rise & Fall of Great Powers

Editorial: Random House Audio Publishing Group 0

Acerca de

Sinopsis:

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
NPR · The Seattle Times · The Globe and Mail · Kirkus Reviews · Daily Mail · The Vancouver Sun


For fans of Jennifer Egan, Dave Eggers, and Donna Tartt—the brilliant, intricately woven new novel by Tom Rachman, author of The Imperfectionists


Following one of the most critically acclaimed fiction debuts in years, New York Times bestselling author Tom Rachman returns with a brilliant, intricately woven novel about a young woman who travels the world to make sense of her puzzling past.
 
Tooly Zylberberg, the American owner of an isolated bookshop in the Welsh countryside, conducts a life full of reading, but with few human beings. Books are safer than people, who might ask awkward questions about her life. She prefers never to mention the strange events of her youth, which mystify and worry her still.
 
Taken from home as a girl, Tooly found herself spirited away by a group of seductive outsiders, implicated in capers from Asia to Europe to the United States. But who were her abductors? Why did they take her? What did they really want? There was Humphrey, the curmudgeonly Russian with a passion for reading; there was the charming but tempestuous Sarah, who sowed chaos in her wake; and there was Venn, the charismatic leader whose worldview transformed Tooly forever. Until, quite suddenly, he disappeared.
 
Years later, Tooly believes she will never understand the true story of her own life. Then startling news arrives from a long-lost boyfriend in New York, raising old mysteries and propelling her on a quest around the world in search of answers.
 
Tom Rachman—an author celebrated for humanity, humor, and wonderful characters—has produced a stunning novel that reveals the tale not just of one woman but of the past quarter-century as well, from the end of the Cold War to the dominance of American empire to the digital revolution of today. Leaping between decades, and from Bangkok to Brooklyn, this is a breathtaking novel about long-buried secrets and how we must choose to make our own place in the world. It will confirm Rachman’s reputation as one of the most exciting young writers we have.

Praise for The Rise & Fall of Great Powers

“Ingenious . . . Rachman needs only a few well-drawn characters to fill a large canvas and an impressive swath of history.”—Janet Maslin, The New York Times
 
“A superb follow-up to 2010’s The Imperfectionists . . . ambitious and engaging.”The Seattle Times
 
“Engaging and inventive . . . full of wonderfully quirky, deeply flawed, but lovable characters . . . On the spectrum of interesting literary childhoods, Tooly Zylberberg—the protagonist of Tom Rachman’s second novel—would rank somewhere in the vicinity of Jane Eyre and Oliver Twist.”San Francisco Chronicle
 
“I found it impossible not to fall in love with shape-shifting Tooly. As an adult, she sports an ironical sense of humor and an attraction to dusty old books. As a child, her straight-faced mirth and wordplay are break-your-heart irresistible.”—Ron Charles, The Washington Post
 
“[A] read-it-all-in-one-weekend book.”The New Republic
 
“A compelling page-turner . . . intricate, sprawling, and almost Dickensian.”USA Today
 
“Rachman’s comedic powers drive the story, with grace and wit.”—Minneapolis Star Tribune
From the Hardcover edition.

About the Author:

Tom Rachman was born in London in 1974 and raised in Vancouver. He attended the University of Toronto and Columbia Journalism School, then worked as a journalist for the Associated Press in New York and Rome and for the International Herald Tribune in Paris. His first novel, The Imperfectionists, was an international bestseller, translated into twenty-five languages. He lives in London.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Descripción de la librería

Ver la página web de la librería

Condiciones de venta:

All books are available on a first ordered/first served basis. Multivolume sets are charged a per book shipping rate. DEALERS: Sorry, but we offer no dealer discount. Also, we are not able to act as third party drop shippers on your behalf. Canadian customers: please note we include GST on all our Canadian orders at the time your order is processed.

CONDITION/EDITION INQUIRIES: If you have questions concerning specific books not addressed by the citations on Abebooks.com, place an order for the ...

Más información
Condiciones de envío:

Shipping Speed within the United States
Expedited: 2 to 7 business days.
Standard: 4 to 9 business days. (Please note that while the overwhelming majority of packages shipped via our Standard method arrive within the time specified above, in rare cases shipments can take 3 to 8 weeks to arrive.)

Shipping Speed outside of the United States
Expedited to Canada: 5 to 10 business days.
Expedited to all other countries: generally takes 7 to 12 business days (some exceptions apply).
Economy Mail to Canada: 7-15 business days.
Economy Mail to all other countries: generally takes 5 to 21 business days (some exceptions apply).

Canadian customers: please note we include GST on all our Canadian orders at the time your order is processed. Multi-volume sets are subject to a per book shipping charge.

Todos los libros de esta librería

Métodos de pago
aceptados por la librería

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue