The Dream of Spaceflight: Essays on the Near Edge of Infinity

Wachhorst, Wyn

Editorial: Basic Books, 2000
ISBN 10: 0465090575 / ISBN 13: 9780465090570
Usado / Hard Cover / Cantidad: 0
Disponible en otras librerías
Ver todos  los ejemplares de este libro

Sobre el libro

Lamentablemente este ejemplar en específico ya no está disponible. A continuación, le mostramos una lista de copias similares.

Descripción:

First edition/first printing. Signed with just his name on the title page. Book is in fine (unread, remainder mark on top) condition with a fine unclipped dustjacket protected in a Brodart wrapper. An Attractive Copy! Please feel free to ask me for pictures or more information, Thanks. N° de ref. de la librería

Sobre este título:

Valoración del libro brindada por Goodreads:
3,61 valoración promedio
(31 valoraciones)

Sinopsis: In the tradition of Loren Eiseley, Arthur Koestler, and Lewis Thomas, Wynn Wachhorst is a great rarity: an author of truly lyrical essays on science and technology. In his hands, the drive to explore space is a mirror of humanity's profoundest aspirations and noblest urges.Each of the book's four essays is a montage of images and reflections on the dream of spaceflight and its historical meaning. The opening essay, a survey of major figures from Johannes Kepler to Werner von Braun, sees in the rise of spaceflight a metaphor of modern history as a recurrent story of transformation and rebirth. The second essay recalls the romantic vision of the decades prior to Sputnik, and sets our own nostalgia for those days against that era's nostalgia for the future. The third essay looks at the moon landing as the signature event of our century—the one that our descendants, a thousand years from now, will see as our greatest achievement—and the fourth returns to the themes of transformation and rebirth, offering spaceflight as a cure for the withered capacity for wonder that afflicts the postmodern mind.

Review: Will we walk on distant planets? Terrestrial problems may have regained center stage in our awareness, but the mythic and poetic possibilities unearthed by the space programs of the 20th century have changed us forever. Historian Wyn Wachhorst captures the essence of our birth as an interstellar species in The Dream of Spaceflight, a collection of five essays spanning 500 years of scientific and technological achievement. The marriage of curiosity and hard work that drove heroes like Johannes Kepler, Wernher von Braun, and the Apollo astronauts (one of whom, Buzz Aldrin, wrote the foreword to this collection) to conceive, develop, and implement the knowledge and machinery of space travel comes alive in Wachhorst's evocative prose. The subtitle of the second piece, "Nostalgia for a Bygone Future," speaks volumes about the thoughtfulness and creative energy the author devotes to his craft. Wachhorst knows why we cared so deeply about the space program during its heroic phase. And he explains our curious ambivalence now that human involvement is restricted to mission control and orbital flights perceived as not much different from extended plane rides. The reader comes away from The Dream of Spaceflight freshly inspired--if a few U.S. senators read this, NASA will get all the funding it needs. --Rob Lightner

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Detalles bibliográficos

Título: The Dream of Spaceflight: Essays on the Near...
Editorial: Basic Books
Año de publicación: 2000
Encuadernación: Hard Cover
Condición del libro: Like New
Edición: First Edition.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Wyn Wachhorst, Buzz Aldrin
Editorial: Basic Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0465090575 ISBN 13: 9780465090570
Usado Primera edición Cantidad: 2
Librería
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Basic Books, 2000. Estado de conservación: Good. 1ST. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Nº de ref. de la librería GRP3115331

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 3,02
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Wyn Wachhorst, Buzz Aldrin
Editorial: Basic Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0465090575 ISBN 13: 9780465090570
Usado Primera edición Cantidad: 1
Librería
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Basic Books, 2000. Estado de conservación: Good. 1ST. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Nº de ref. de la librería GRP3403031

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 3,02
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Wyn Wachhorst, Buzz Aldrin
Editorial: Basic Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0465090575 ISBN 13: 9780465090570
Usado Primera edición Cantidad: 1
Librería
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Basic Books, 2000. Estado de conservación: Very Good. 1ST. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Nº de ref. de la librería GRP27610931

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 3,02
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Wyn Wachhorst
Editorial: Basic Books
ISBN 10: 0465090575 ISBN 13: 9780465090570
Usado Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Basic Books. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, that’ll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Nº de ref. de la librería 2816493190

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 3,18
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Wyn Wachhorst
Editorial: Basic Books
ISBN 10: 0465090575 ISBN 13: 9780465090570
Usado Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
ThriftBooks - Free State
(Halethorpe, MD, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Basic Books. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: Very Good. This copy shows very minor wear. Nº de ref. de la librería G0465090575I4N00

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 3,39
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Wyn Wachhorst
Editorial: Basic Books
ISBN 10: 0465090575 ISBN 13: 9780465090570
Usado Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Basic Books. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: Very Good. Book has appearance of light use with no easily noticeable wear. Nº de ref. de la librería G0465090575I4N00

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 3,39
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Wyn Wachhorst
Editorial: Basic Books
ISBN 10: 0465090575 ISBN 13: 9780465090570
Usado Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
ThriftBooks - Squared
(Dallas, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Basic Books. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: Good. Only lightly used. Book has minimal wear to cover and binding. A few pages may have small creases and minimal underlining. Nº de ref. de la librería G0465090575I3N00

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 3,39
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Wachhorst, Wyn
Editorial: Basic Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0465090575 ISBN 13: 9780465090570
Usado Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Half Price Books Inc.
(Dallas, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Basic Books, 2000. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: Good. Item may show signs of shelf wear. Pages may include limited notes and highlighting. Includes supplemental or companion materials if applicable. Access codes may or may not work. Connecting readers since 1972. Customer service is our top priority. Nº de ref. de la librería S_168622960

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 2,18
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,53
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Wachhorst, Wyn
Editorial: Basic Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0465090575 ISBN 13: 9780465090570
Usado Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
HPB-Ruby
(Dallas, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Basic Books, 2000. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: Good. Item may show signs of shelf wear. Pages may include limited notes and highlighting. Includes supplemental or companion materials if applicable. Access codes may or may not work. Connecting readers since 1972. Customer service is our top priority. Nº de ref. de la librería S_140788101

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 2,61
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,53
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Wachhorst, Wyn
Editorial: Basic Books (2000)
ISBN 10: 0465090575 ISBN 13: 9780465090570
Usado Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
HPB-Blue
(Dallas, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Basic Books, 2000. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: Good. Item may show signs of shelf wear. Pages may include limited notes and highlighting. Includes supplemental or companion materials if applicable. Access codes may or may not work. Connecting readers since 1972. Customer service is our top priority. Nº de ref. de la librería S_190566067

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 3,48
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,53
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras 14 copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda