Maryn McKenna Beating Back the Devil

ISBN 13: 9781439123102

Beating Back the Devil

3,89 valoración promedio
( 1.484 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9781439123102: Beating Back the Devil
Ver todas las copias de esta edición ISBN.
 
 

Book by McKenna Maryn

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Críticas:

Robin Marantz Henig, author of "A Dancing Matrix: How Science Confronts Emerging Viruses" Even people who think they know about the CDC and its elite corps of physicians, the Epidemic Intelligence Service, will be surprised by "Beating Back the Devil, " a rare inside account of how EIS works in an age of terrorist threat. McKenna hopscotches the globe -- from a malaria outbreak in Malawi to SARS in Vietnam -- to bring to life some of the most compelling mysteries confronted by these fearless disease detectives.

Marilyn W. Thompson, author of "The Killer Strain: Anthrax and a Government Exposed" In her enthralling first book, Maryn McKenna takes us inside the unexplored world of the Epidemic Intelligence Service, a vital but rarely discussed part of our national public health service. Without McKenna's thorough research and lively narrative, who would have known of the crusading role the EIS has played since the 1950s in solving our most perplexing medical mysteries? In a new world of bioterror threats and harrowing viruses, McKenna's book is a must-read for anyone concerned about the daunting medical challenges of the future.

Howard Markel, M.D., Ph.D., author of "When Germs Travel: Six Major Epidemics That Have Invaded America Since 1900 and the Fears They Have Unleashed" In the tradition of Laurie Garrett and Richard Preston, medical journalist Maryn McKenna tells the fascinating story of some of the most intrepid medical detectives at work today: the Centers for Disease Control's Epidemic Intelligence Service. "Beating Back the Devil" is both an accessible and detailed account of how these microbe hunters survey, contain, and combat deadly germs in the twenty-first century. It's also a great read.

"Even people who think they know about the CDC and its elite corps of physicians, the Epidemic Intelligence Service, will be surprised by "Beating Back the Devil, " a rare inside account of how EIS works in an age of terrorist threat. McKenna hopscotches the globe -- from a malaria outbreak in Malawi to SARS in Vietnam -- to bring to life some of the most compelling mysteries confronted by these fearless disease detectives."

"In the tradition of Laurie Garrett and Richard Preston, medical journalist Maryn McKenna tells the fascinating story of some of the most intrepid medical detectives at work today: the Centers for Disease Control's Epidemic Intelligence Service. "Beating Back the Devil" is both an accessible and detailed account of how these microbe hunters survey, contain, and combat deadly germs in the twenty-first century. It's also a great read."

"In her enthralling first book, Maryn McKenna takes us inside the unexplored world of the Epidemic Intelligence Service, a vital but rarely discussed part of our national public health service. Without McKenna's thorough research and lively narrative, who would have known of the crusading role the EIS has played since the 1950s in solving our most perplexing medical mysteries? In a new world of bioterror threats and harrowing viruses, McKenna's book is a must-read for anyone concerned about the daunting medical challenges of the future."--Marilyn W. Thompson, author of The Killer Strain: Anthrax and a Government Exposed

Reseña del editor:

IN THE WAR AGAINST DISEASES, THEY ARE THE SPECIAL FORCES. They always keep a bag packed. They seldom have more than twenty-four hours' notice before they are dispatched. The phone calls that tell them to head to the airport, sometimes in the middle of the night, may give them no more information than the country they are traveling to and the epidemic they will tackle when they get there. The universal human instinct is to run from an outbreak of disease. These doctors run toward it. They are the disease detective corps of the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the federal agency that tracks and tries to prevent disease outbreaks and bioterrorist attacks around the world. They are formally called the Epidemic Intelligence Service (EIS) -- a group founded more than fifty years ago out of fear that the Korean War might bring the use of biological weapons -- and, like intelligence operatives in the traditional sense, they perform their work largely in anonymity. They are not household names, but over the years they were first to confront the outbreaks that became known as hantavirus, Ebola virus, and AIDS. Now they hunt down the deadly threats that dominate our headlines: West Nile virus, anthrax, and SARS. In this riveting narrative, Maryn McKenna -- the only journalist ever given full access to the EIS in its fifty-three-year history -- follows the first class of disease detectives to come to the CDC after September 11, the first to confront not just naturally occurring outbreaks but the man-made threat of bioterrorism. They are talented researchers -- many with young families -- who trade two years of low pay and extremely long hours for the chance to be part of the group that has helped eradicate smallpox, push back polio, and solve the first major outbreaks of Legionnaires' disease, toxic shock syndrome, and E. coli O157. Urgent, exhilarating, and compelling, Beating Back the Devil goes with the EIS as they try to stop epidemics -- before the epidemics stop us.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

McKenna, Maryn
Publicado por Free Press 2004-09-01 (2004)
ISBN 10: 1439123101 ISBN 13: 9781439123102
Nuevo Softcover Cantidad disponible: 19
Librería
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Free Press 2004-09-01, 2004. Softcover. Condición: New. Softcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Nº de ref. del artículo: 9781439123102B

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 5,83
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,86
De Canada a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

McKenna, Maryn
ISBN 10: 1439123101 ISBN 13: 9781439123102
Nuevo Cantidad disponible: > 20
Librería
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 2008. PAP. Condición: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. del artículo: VS-9781439123102

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,38
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,23
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

McKenna, Maryn
ISBN 10: 1439123101 ISBN 13: 9781439123102
Nuevo Cantidad disponible: 16
Librería
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 2008. PAP. Condición: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. del artículo: IB-9781439123102

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,38
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,23
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

McKenna, Maryn
Publicado por Simon and Schuster
ISBN 10: 1439123101 ISBN 13: 9781439123102
Nuevo Cantidad disponible: > 20
Librería
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Simon and Schuster. Condición: New. Brand New. Nº de ref. del artículo: 1439123101

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,80
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,92
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

McKenna, Maryn
Publicado por Free Press
ISBN 10: 1439123101 ISBN 13: 9781439123102
Nuevo PAPERBACK Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Free Press. PAPERBACK. Condición: New. 1439123101. Nº de ref. del artículo: Z1439123101ZN

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 12,03
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

McKenna, Maryn
Publicado por Free Press 7/1/2008 (2008)
ISBN 10: 1439123101 ISBN 13: 9781439123102
Nuevo Paperback or Softback Cantidad disponible: 5
Librería
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Free Press 7/1/2008, 2008. Paperback or Softback. Condición: New. Beating Back the Devil. Book. Nº de ref. del artículo: BBS-9781439123102

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 12,17
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

McKenna, Maryn
Publicado por Free Press (2008)
ISBN 10: 1439123101 ISBN 13: 9781439123102
Nuevo Paperback Cantidad disponible: 6
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Free Press, 2008. Paperback. Condición: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. del artículo: 1439123101

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,78
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,61
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

McKenna, Maryn
Publicado por Free Press
ISBN 10: 1439123101 ISBN 13: 9781439123102
Nuevo PAPERBACK Cantidad disponible: 5
Librería
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Free Press. PAPERBACK. Condición: New. 1439123101 Brand New! Not overstocks or remainder copy!. Nº de ref. del artículo: OTF-S-9781439123102

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,21
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,23
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

McKenna, Maryn
Publicado por Free Press
ISBN 10: 1439123101 ISBN 13: 9781439123102
Nuevo PAPERBACK Cantidad disponible: > 20
Librería
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Free Press. PAPERBACK. Condición: New. 1439123101 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Nº de ref. del artículo: NATARAJB1FI397735

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,62
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,23
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

McKenna, Maryn
Publicado por Free Press
ISBN 10: 1439123101 ISBN 13: 9781439123102
Nuevo PAPERBACK Cantidad disponible: > 20
Librería
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Free Press. PAPERBACK. Condición: New. 1439123101 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Nº de ref. del artículo: NATARAJB1FI755229

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,62
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,23
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda