Dark Star

3,84 valoración promedio
( 3.826 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9781423146650: Dark Star

Audrey Whitticomb has nothing to fear. Her mother is the superhero Morning Star, the most deadly crime-fighter in the Twin Cities, so it’s hard for Audrey not to feel safe. That is, until she’s lured into the sweet night air by something human and not human something with talons and teeth, and a wide, scarlet smile.

Now Audrey knows the truth: her mom doesn’t fight crime at night. She fights Harrowers livid, merciless beings who were trapped Beneath eons ago. Yet some have managed to escape.  And they want Audrey dead, just because of who she is: one of the Kin.

To survive, Audrey will need to sharpen the powers she has always had. When she gets close to someone, dark corners of the person’s memories become her own, and she sometimes even glimpses the future. If Audrey could only get close to Patrick Tigue, a powerful Harrower masquerading as human, she could use her Knowing to discover the Harrowers’ next move. But Leon, her mother’s bossy, infuriatingly attractive sidekick, has other ideas. Lately, he won’t let Audrey out of his sight.

When an unthinkable betrayal puts Minneapolis in terrible danger, Audrey discovers a wild, untamed power within herself. It may be the key to saving her herself, her family, and her city. Or it may be the force that destroys everything and everyone she loves.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:


Bethany Frenette tried very hard to become a superhero, but eventually decided to write about one instead. Born and raised in Minnesota, she received her undergraduate degree from St. Cloud State University and her MFA in Creative Writing from Hamline University. She lives in Minneapolis, where she still hopes to awake one day with superpowers. Dark Star is her first novel.

From School Library Journal:

Gr 7-11-Eleventh-grader Audrey Whitticomb always assumed that her mother, Morning Star, was a typical vigilante. But after a terrifying encounter outside a local nightclub while investigating a mysterious attack on her best friend, Audrey learns the truth. She and her mother are Kin, members of a powerful ancient race that long ago adapted to life among humans. Morning Star battles Harrowers, bloodthirsty, demonic beings who covet the Kins' abilities. A war between these races is brewing, and Audrey knows her psychic powers could help turn the tables. First, though, she must shake her mother's handsome, but annoyingly overprotective sidekick. Leon follows Audrey everywhere, and she soon learns the reason for this. She alone possesses the power to save-or destroy-life as she knows it. Frenette's debut novel pairs paranormal elements with strong female characters to put a delightfully refreshing spin on the conventional superhero saga. Audrey is smart, funny, and self-sufficient, although her impulsiveness tends to get her into trouble, and even secondary characters come to life. Fans of Cassandra Clare and Karsten Knight will devour this action-packed book.-Alissa J. Bach, Oxford Public Library, MIα(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Frenette, Bethany
Editorial: Hyperion Books 2012-10-23 (2012)
ISBN 10: 1423146654 ISBN 13: 9781423146650
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 4
Librería
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Hyperion Books 2012-10-23, 2012. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Hardcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Nº de ref. de la librería 9781423146650B

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 5,24
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 5,09
De Canada a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Frenette, Bethany
Editorial: Hyperion Book CH (2012)
ISBN 10: 1423146654 ISBN 13: 9781423146650
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Hyperion Book CH, 2012. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. de la librería P111423146654

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 32,17
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,69
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Frenette, Bethany
Editorial: Hyperion (2012)
ISBN 10: 1423146654 ISBN 13: 9781423146650
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Hyperion, 2012. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: Brand New. 368 pages. 8.30x1.30x5.80 inches. In Stock. Nº de ref. de la librería zk1423146654

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 27,37
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 6,80
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío