Unholy Alliance: A History of Nazi Involvement with the Occult

3,72 valoración promedio
( 223 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780826414090: Unholy Alliance: A History of Nazi Involvement with the Occult

Engagingly written, Unholy Alliance is a comprehensive, popular history of the occult background and roots of the Nazi movement, showing how the ideas of a vast international network of late 19th- and early 20th-century occult groups influenced Nazi ideology. Levenda takes readers through the teachings of Madame Blavatsky, Aleister Crowley, the Thule Gesellschaft - the occult secret society that formed the ideological heart of the early Nazi Party - the Order of the Golden Dawn, and the Order of the Eastern Temple and demonstrates how each influenced Nazi ideology. He also details the expedition to Tibet of the Ancestral Heritage Research and Teaching Society, comprised of the same SS officers who would later be involved in grisly medical experiments on concentration camp prisoners. Levenda traces the Nazis' movements as they continued their activities after the war or morphed into neo-Nazi, skinhead, and satanic groups, such as the Christian Identity and White Aryan Resistance movements. Levenda's is not only a "major work of investigative reporting," but also the striking story of the unholy alliance between politics and religion - or politics and occultism - that has dominated events in Europe and the Americas since World War I, with all its implications for continuing racial and religious violence in Europe, Asia, and the Americas.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

Peter Levenda is the author of The Secret Temple: Masons, Mysteries and the Founding of America (Continuum, 2009) and Unholy Alliance: A History of Nazi Involvement with the Occult (Continuum, 2002), which has appeared in 6 foreign-language editions.

Review:

"Unholy Alliance is a treasure of scholarly details about the relatively unelucidated chamber of history where the Nazi Party and a number of higher practitioners of the occult came together and flew apart. So it is a book of startling and sinister coincidences, of murder, magic, and mysterious questions there for us to pursue. Needless to say, it’s highly readable."—Norman Mailer

"To belittle National Socialism as a criminal conspiracy to dominate the world is more or less the accepted rule. To blame one man for the horrible disasters Germany caused within twelve years...is also common practice. However, there is more to it, and Peter Levenda, in his breathtaking Unholy Alliance: A History of Nazi Involvement with the Occult, has the answers: The Third Reich was deeply rooted in mystical thinking; its philosophical origins go back thousands of years, and millions of people fell under the spell of its occult rites, symbols and teachings....Levenda’s book reaches deeply into the human mind, identifying those dark instincts that draw us to evil and which the Nazis so aptly exploited....Some of the voices heard here today echo the voices Hitler and his gang pretended to hear and used for their apocalyptic purposes. Peter Levenda’s Unholy Alliance makes that shockingly clear."—Hans Janitschek, President, United Nations Society of Writers and Artists

"With humor, courage, an eye for irony and through humble scholarship, Levenda draws the relationship between Nazis, the Vatican, the CIA, anti-Communist organizations...a whole slough of occult societies and our own local yokels. Beginning like a good exciting spy novel in the clutches of a dangerous Nazi hideaway in Chile called Colonia Dignidad, Levenda...weaves this dangerous locale into his vast documentation and original research from many archives in a sophisticated and thrilling revelation of cults and their victims....Too complicated for Geraldo and too shocking for Oprah and too damaging to large corporate entities like ITT (which financed Allende’s overthrow)....I recommend a serious reading of Peter Levenda’s Unholy Alliance."—Bob Rudner, Chicago Greens/Green Party USA

"Peter Levenda's Unholy Alliance is at once a terrific read, an underground classic, and a major work of investigative reporting. Shinning a bright light on the darkest corners of 'history's basement,' Levenda traces and explicates the origins of Nazi occultism from the theosophical enlightenment of the early 20th century to its recent resurgence in North and South America. Rich in documentation and insight, Unholy Alliance is a profound and fascinating book in the tradition of Louis Pauwel's and Jacques Bergier's The Morning of the Magicians."—Jim Hougan, author of Spooks and Secret Agenda.

“Peter Lavenda offers readers a thorough yet popular history of the occult background and roots of the Nazi movement beginning in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries....readers come away from reading it with the feeling that the connection between Nazism and the occult is very real.... Open-minded readers should find this book to be a fascinating look at an underemphasized but key aspect of the Nazi movement in terms of its foundational causes.” –Jim Lewis, Journal of Church and State, Vol. 46, Issue #3, Summer 2004

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Levenda, Peter
Editorial: Bloomsbury Academic (2002)
ISBN 10: 0826414095 ISBN 13: 9780826414090
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Bloomsbury Academic, 2002. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería P110826414095

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 86,09
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,59
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Peter Levenda
Editorial: Continuum (2002)
ISBN 10: 0826414095 ISBN 13: 9780826414090
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Continuum, 2002. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. 1. Nº de ref. de la librería DADAX0826414095

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 94,70
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,46
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Peter Levenda
Editorial: Continuum (2002)
ISBN 10: 0826414095 ISBN 13: 9780826414090
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Continuum, 2002. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería SONG0826414095

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 137,19
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,46
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Levenda, Peter
Editorial: Bloomsbury Academic (2002)
ISBN 10: 0826414095 ISBN 13: 9780826414090
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Media Neat
(Glenview, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Bloomsbury Academic, 2002. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. newWe Ship Every Day! Free Tracking Number Included! International Buyers Are Welcome! Satisfaction Guaranteed!. Nº de ref. de la librería 10000003442N

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 402,07
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,46
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío