How to Paint Sunlight: New Poems

3,95 valoración promedio
( 112 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780811214636: How to Paint Sunlight: New Poems

How to Paint Sunlight, a new collection of poems by Lawrence Ferlinghetti, is graced with a short introduction by the poet in which he says, "All I ever wanted to do was paint light on the walls of life." For more than fifty years Ferlinghetti has been doing just thatilluminating both the everyday and the unusual, all the while keeping true to his original dictum of speaking in a way accessible to everyone. He has been, and remains "one of our ageless radicals and true bards" (Booklist).

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

The poet, publisher, and activist Lawrence Ferlinghetti, born in Yonkers, New York, in 1919, has received the Robert Frost Memorial Medal and the first Literarian Award of the National Book Foundation. He is the subject of Christopher Felver s new film documentary, Ferlinghetti: A Rebirth of Wonder.

From Publishers Weekly:

"All I ever wanted was to paint light on the walls of life," Ferlinghetti writes in a foreword "these poems are another attempt to do it." A late-career miscellany divided into four sections, this eighth collection draws some of life's great polarities light and dark, tragedy and comedy, ecstasy and despair into the quotidian whorl of this beloved West Coast-transplant poet. In the eponymous first section, Ferlinghetti combines a familiar blend of direct talk and belief in poetic enlightenment to give voice to the "Big Sur Light" ("The moon/ After much reflection says/ Sun is God") and "White Dreams," and to give "Instructions to Painters and Poets": "stand back astonished." The "New York, New York" section features a "Manhattan Mama" and "Overheard Conversations," and makes stops in Europe and China before heading "Into the Interior," the last and best section. There, a series of three poems dealing with Allen Ginsberg's death takes us from the deflectively wry news of his imminent departure ("Death the dark lover/ is going down on him") to a bedside visitation by the poet's released spirit and beyond: "Allen died 49 nights ago, and in Bixby Canyon now the white misshapen moon sailed listing through the sky...." The intentionally over-simple rhymes ("What is light What is air What is life so passing fair?"), puns (as when he addresses his work to "the good burghers eating burgers") and long-winded poetic preaching of the earlier sections may not quite come off, but loss of youth and life and their attendant nostalgias come through, "made of love and light and dung/ some great immortal song." (Apr.) Forecast: Fans of A Coney Island of the Mind and A Far Rockaway of the Heart will find this book repetitive and diffuse, but Ferlinghetti has earned it. And since he does not overpublish, fans old and new will pick it up if it is placed in a demographically strategic spot.

Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information, Inc.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Ferlinghetti, Lawrence
Editorial: New Directions Publishing Corporation
ISBN 10: 081121463X ISBN 13: 9780811214636
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción New Directions Publishing Corporation. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 081121463X *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Nº de ref. de la librería SWATI2132375253

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,85
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,40
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Lawrence Ferlinghetti
Editorial: New Directions (2001)
ISBN 10: 081121463X ISBN 13: 9780811214636
Nuevos Tapa dura Primera edición Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción New Directions, 2001. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería M081121463X

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 19,05
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Lawrence Ferlinghetti
Editorial: New Directions Publishing Corporation, United States (2001)
ISBN 10: 081121463X ISBN 13: 9780811214636
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Book Depository hard to find
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción New Directions Publishing Corporation, United States, 2001. Hardback. Estado de conservación: New. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. How to Paint Sunlight, a new collection of poems by Lawrence Ferlinghetti, is graced with a short introduction by the poet in which he says, All I ever wanted to do was paint light on the walls of life . For more than fifty years Ferlinghetti has been doing just that -- illuminating both the everyday and the unusual, all the while keeping true to his original dictum of speaking in a way accessible to everyone. Nº de ref. de la librería BTE9780811214636

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 25,25
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Resnick, Rachel
Editorial: St. Martin's Press, N.Y. U.S.A. (2000)
ISBN 10: 081121463X ISBN 13: 9780811214636
Nuevos Soft cover Primera edición Ejemplar firmado Cantidad: 1
Librería
SCRUFFY RASCAL'S FINE BOOKS
(Torrance, CA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción St. Martin's Press, N.Y. U.S.A., 2000. Soft cover. Estado de conservación: New. 1st Edition. New / Unread signed by author on title page. Protected in mylar bag since purchased. Our books are shipped protected by bubble wrap with delivery confirmation. Signed by Author(s). Nº de ref. de la librería 000373

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 26,29
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,40
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Ferlinghetti, Lawrence
Editorial: New Directions Publishing Corp (2001)
ISBN 10: 081121463X ISBN 13: 9780811214636
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción New Directions Publishing Corp, 2001. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. de la librería P11081121463X

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 34,73
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,69
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Lawrence Ferlinghetti
ISBN 10: 081121463X ISBN 13: 9780811214636
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
AussieBookSeller
(SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 2001. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Hardcover. How to Paint Sunlight, a new collection of poems by Lawrence Ferlinghetti, is graced with a short introduction by the poet in which he says, "All I ever wanted to do was .Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 94 pages. 0.231. Nº de ref. de la librería 9780811214636

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 20,02
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 31,48
De Australia a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Ferlinghetti, Lawrence
Editorial: New Directions Publishing Corporation
ISBN 10: 081121463X ISBN 13: 9780811214636
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción New Directions Publishing Corporation. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 081121463X New Condition. Nº de ref. de la librería NEW7.1839806

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 52,58
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,25
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Ferlinghetti, Lawrence
Editorial: A New Directions Books, N.Y. U.S.A. (2001)
ISBN 10: 081121463X ISBN 13: 9780811214636
Nuevos Tapa dura Primera edición Ejemplar firmado Cantidad: 1
Librería
SCRUFFY RASCAL'S FINE BOOKS
(Torrance, CA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción A New Directions Books, N.Y. U.S.A., 2001. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Estado de la sobrecubierta: New. 1st Edition. New / Unread Signed by author on title page. Signed in person April 2001 At the "UCLA LA Times festival of books - 2001" FERLINGHETTI was an author assigned to our tent by LA Times. Book was just released by publisher therefore is a 1st Edition 1st Printing, state, although not stated by the publisher believed to be small print run. The books were personally ordered from the publisher. Protected in mylar bag since purchased. Dust jacket covered by a clear mylar archival Brodart D.J cover. Our books are shipped protected by bubble wrap with delivery confirmation. Signed by Author(s). Nº de ref. de la librería 000372

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 140,23
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,40
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío