Mystery Paul McEuen Spiral: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9780385342117

Spiral: A Novel

3,68 valoración promedio
( 1.102 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780385342117: Spiral: A Novel

In this riveting debut thriller—a finalist for Best First Novel at the 2012 Thriller Awards and a nominee for a Nero Award—the race is on to stop the devastating proliferation of the ultimate bioweapon. Spiral is perfect for fans of Michael Crichton, Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child, and Richard Preston.

When Nobel laureate Liam Connor is found dead at the bottom of one of Ithaca, New York’s famous gorges, his research collaborator, Cornell professor of nanoscience Jake Sterling, refuses to believe it was suicide. Why would one of the world’s most eminent biologists, a eighty-six-year old man in good health who survived some of the darkest days of the Second World War, have chosen to throw himself off a bridge? And who was the mysterious woman caught on camera at the scene? Soon it becomes clear that a cache of supersophisticated nanorobots—each the size of a spider—has disappeared from the dead man’s laboratory.

Stunned by grief, Jake, Liam’s granddaughter, Maggie, and Maggie’s nine-year-old son, Dylan, try to put the pieces together. They uncover ingeniously coded messages Liam left behind pointing toward a devastating secret he gleaned off the shores of war-ravaged Japan and carried for more than sixty years.

What begins as a quest for answers soon leads to a horrifying series of revelations at the crossroads of biological warfare and nanoscience. At this dangerous intersection, a skilled and sadistic assassin, an infamous Japanese war criminal, and a ruthless U.S. government official are all players in a harrowing game of power, treachery, and intrigue—a game whose winner will hold the world’s fate literally in the palm of his hand.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

Paul McEuen is the Goldwin Smith Professor of physics at Cornell University. He has received numerous awards for his research, including the Agilent Technologies Europhysics Prize, a Packard Fellowship, and a Presidential Young Investigator Award. He lives with his wife and five dogs in Ithaca, New York.

Review:

Advance praise for Spiral
 
Spiral by Paul McEuen carries the reader on a fascinating ride through a world of bioweaponry, nanoscience, murder, and international intrigue. This gripping story, partially based on Unit 731, the biological warfare group of the Imperial Japanese Army in World War II, is one of the best debut thrillers I’ve read in a long time.”—Douglas Preston, author of Impact and The Monster of Florence
 
Spiral is an all-too-frighteningly-real tale. This is an exciting debut.”—Steve Berry, author of The Emperor’s Tomb
 
“A riveting story that combines international intrigue with fascinating inventions such as the MicroCrawler, a  spiderlike robot with knife-sharp legs. In more ways than one, Spiral will get under your skin.” —Mark Alpert, author of Final Theory
 
“Fast-paced and suspenseful . . . McEuen, a leader in nanoscience research at Cornell, makes unsettling use of recent developments in the field. . . . After you’ve finished the book, try not hearing [the MicroCrawlers] go tink tink tink in the night. . . . exciting and unsettling."—Kirkus Reviews

“It’s hard to reckon with the realization that a prominent scientist in a cutting-edge field, writing his first novel in his “spare time,” has created what may be the most gripping and engrossing thriller this reviewer has ever read in almost 50 years of thriller reading...[Paul McEuen] wisely writes about what he knows...but also shows a true gift for plotting, pace, characterization, and writerly clarity...and remarkably, he makes [his] ideas accessible to typical thriller aficionados.  A stunning achievement.”
 – Booklist, starred review

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Paul McEuen
Editorial: The Dial Press (2011)
ISBN 10: 038534211X ISBN 13: 9780385342117
Nuevos Tapa dura Primera edición Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción The Dial Press, 2011. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería M038534211X

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 21,59
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

McEuen, Paul
Editorial: The Dial Press (2011)
ISBN 10: 038534211X ISBN 13: 9780385342117
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción The Dial Press, 2011. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. de la librería P11038534211X

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 34,57
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,70
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

PAUL McEUEN
Editorial: Dial (2011)
ISBN 10: 038534211X ISBN 13: 9780385342117
Nuevos Tapa dura Primera edición Ejemplar firmado Cantidad: 1
Librería
Dan Pope Books
(West Hartford, CT, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Dial, 2011. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Estado de la sobrecubierta: New. 1st Edition.... New York: Dial [2011]. First edition. First printing. Hardcover. SIGNED BY AUTHOR on title page. New, in dust jacket. A pristine unread copy. Very fine/very fine in all repsects. Smoke-free shop. Shipped in sturdy box with bubble wrap. Opened only for author to sign. 0.0. Signed by Author(s). Nº de ref. de la librería 05-2011-303

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 48,29
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,37
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

McEuen, Paul
Editorial: The Dial Press
ISBN 10: 038534211X ISBN 13: 9780385342117
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción The Dial Press. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 038534211X New Condition. Nº de ref. de la librería NEW7.0868605

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 52,67
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,25
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío