Symphony No. 8: Study score

ISBN 13: 9780193694309

Symphony No. 8: Study score

0 valoración promedio
( 0 valoraciones por Goodreads )
9780193694309: Symphony No. 8: Study score

Vaughan Williams’s Symphony No. 8 was composed between 1953 and 1955. It was the first of his symphonies which Vaughan Williams numbered. Sir John Barbirolli conducted the premiere of the piece on 2 May 1956 with the Halle Orchestra. The Eighth Symphony is the shortest of Vaughan Williams’s symphonies, yet is remarkably inventive, especially in the composer’s experiments in sonority. Not only does he use a much-expanded percussion section, including “all the ’phones and ’spiels known to the composer” (as well as three tuned gongs, the same as were used in Puccini’s Turandot), but the two central movements use only the winds and strings section respectively. Among his symphonies the Fourth Symphony is the only other one to end loudly (the others all have quiet conclusions, often with the Vaughan Williams “fingerprint” niente). The work is in four movements: 1. Fantasia (Variazioni senza tema) (variations without a theme) - the composer also referred to this as being “seven variations in search of a theme.” Even though the variation structure predominates the acute listener may notice elements of sonata form. 2. Scherzo alla marcia (for wind instruments only) - this short, quick march (with trio) is somewhat akin to that of a British military band. The trio section revisits Vaughan Williams’s “pastoral” style. 3. Cavatina (for bowed strings only) - This movement, in a five-part rondo form, has a meditative character and includes important solo passages for violin and cello. The main theme bears a clear resemblance, which Vaughan Williams acknowledged, to the “Passion” chorale (O sacred head, now wounded) that Bach used several times in the St. Matthew Passion and elsewhere. 4. Toccata - the finale (entitled Toccata to indicate its virtuoso nature) contains much exuberant writing for the percussion section. Harmonically, the movement seems uncertain of whether to be in D minor or D major.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

In the fifty years since his death, Vaughan Williams has come to be regarded as one of the finest British composers of the 20th century. He has a particularly wide-ranging catalogue of works, including choral works, symphonies, concerti, and opera. His searching and visionary imagination, combined with a flexibility in writing for all levels of music-making, has meant that his music is as popular today as it ever has been.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver libro

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,69
A Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks


Editorial: Oxford University Press (1969)
ISBN 10: 0193694301 ISBN 13: 9780193694309
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 2
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)

Descripción Oxford University Press, 1969. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. de la librería P110193694301

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 52,06
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,69
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío