Captain Corelli's Mandolin

3,95 valoración promedio
( 66.200 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780099540861: Captain Corelli's Mandolin

Extravagant, inventive, emotionally sweeping, Captain Corelli's Mandolin is the story of a timeless place that one day wakes up to find itself in the jaws of history. The place is the Greek island of Cephallonia, where gods once dabbled in the affairs of men and the local saint periodically rises from his sarcophagus to cure the mad. Then the tide of World War II rolls onto the island's shores in the form of the conquering Italian army.

Caught in the occupation are Pelagia, a willful, beautiful young woman, and the two suitors vying for her love: Mandras, a gentle fisherman turned ruthless guerilla, and the charming, mandolin-playing Captain Corelli, a reluctant officer of the Italian garrison on the island. Rich with loyalties and betrayals, and set against a landscape where the factual blends seamlessly with the fantastic, Captain Corelli's Mandolin is a passionate novel as rich in ideas as it is genuinely moving.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

From the Back Cover:

"Brims with all the grand topics of literature — love and death, heroism and skull-duggery, humor and pathos, not to mention art and religion…A good old-fashioned novel." — Washington Post Book World "An exuberant mixture of history and romance, written with a wit that is incandescent" — Los Angeles Times Book Review "Stunning…A high-spirited historical romance…Remarkable." — The New York Times Book Review

“His novel will give pleasure to all sorts of readers. It is also so good that it will last.” —A.S. Byatt writing in Evening Standard

Captain Corelli’s Mandolin is an emotional, funny, stunning novel which swings with wide smoothness between joy and bleakness, personal lives and history…it’s lyrical and angry, satirical and earnest.” — Observer
“A wonderful, hypnotic novel of fabulous scope and tremendous iridescent charm.” —Joseph Heller
“It is funny, heartbreaking, and horrifying in its fictional testimony…. Captain Corelli's Mandolin, delightful and sad, comic and at the same time nearly unbearable in its portrayal of European darkness during the war, is a tour de force depiction of the triumph of life over evil by one of Europe's great comic writers of our time.” — Booklist

“Dazzling.…a fabulous book in the tradition of Tolstoy and Dickens.…So joyous and heartbreaking, so rich and musical and wise, that reading it is like discovering anew the enchanting power of fiction.” — San Francisco Chronicle

About the Author:

Among Louis de Bernières’ bestselling novels are Captain Corelli’s Mandolin, The Troublesome Offspring of Cardinal Guzman, Señor Vivo and the Coca Lord and The War of Don Emmanuel’s Nether Parts. He lives in London.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver libro

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Louis de Bernieres
Editorial: Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 009954086X ISBN 13: 9780099540861
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. It is 1941 and Captain Antonio Corelli, a young Italian officer, is posted to the Greek island of Cephallonia as part of the occupying forces. At first he is ostracised by the locals, but as a conscientious but far from fanatical soldier, whose main aim is to have a peaceful war, he proves in time to be civilised, humorous - and a consummate musician. When the local doctor s daughter s letters to her fiance - a member of the underground - go unanswered, the working of the eternal triangle seems inevitable. But can this fragile love survive as a war of bestial savagery gets closer and the lines are drawn between invader and defender?. Nº de ref. de la librería AAZ9780099540861

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,96
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Louis de Bernieres
Editorial: Vintage Classics 2010-02-04 (2010)
ISBN 10: 009954086X ISBN 13: 9780099540861
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 5
Librería
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage Classics 2010-02-04, 2010. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería NU-BER-00019222

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 7,03
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,35
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Louis de Bernieres
Editorial: Vintage Classics 2010-02-04 (2010)
ISBN 10: 009954086X ISBN 13: 9780099540861
Nuevos Cantidad: 5
Librería
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage Classics 2010-02-04, 2010. Estado de conservación: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Nº de ref. de la librería NU-GRD-00410341

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 7,19
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,35
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Louis de Bernieres
Editorial: Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom (2011)
ISBN 10: 009954086X ISBN 13: 9780099540861
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage Publishing, United Kingdom, 2011. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. It is 1941 and Captain Antonio Corelli, a young Italian officer, is posted to the Greek island of Cephallonia as part of the occupying forces. At first he is ostracised by the locals, but as a conscientious but far from fanatical soldier, whose main aim is to have a peaceful war, he proves in time to be civilised, humorous - and a consummate musician. When the local doctor s daughter s letters to her fiance - a member of the underground - go unanswered, the working of the eternal triangle seems inevitable. But can this fragile love survive as a war of bestial savagery gets closer and the lines are drawn between invader and defender?. Nº de ref. de la librería AAZ9780099540861

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,68
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Bernieres, Louis de
Editorial: Vintage (2010)
ISBN 10: 009954086X ISBN 13: 9780099540861
Nuevos Tapa blanda Cantidad: 5
Librería
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage, 2010. Estado de conservación: New. It is 1941 and Captain Antonio Corelli, a young Italian officer, is posted to the Greek island of Cephallonia as part of the occupying forces. At first he is ostracised by the locals, but as a conscientious but far from fanatical soldier, whose aim is to have a peaceful war, he proves in time to be civilised, humorous - and a consummate musician. Num Pages: 560 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 132 x 33. Weight in Grams: 368. . 2010. Paperback. . . . . Nº de ref. de la librería V9780099540861

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,53
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Irlanda a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Louis de Bernieres
Editorial: Vintage Classics (2010)
ISBN 10: 009954086X ISBN 13: 9780099540861
Nuevos Tapa blanda Cantidad: 8
Librería
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage Classics, 2010. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería EH9780099540861

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,84
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,99
De Alemania a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Bernieres, Louis de
Editorial: Vintage
ISBN 10: 009954086X ISBN 13: 9780099540861
Nuevos Tapa blanda Cantidad: 5
Librería
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage. Estado de conservación: New. It is 1941 and Captain Antonio Corelli, a young Italian officer, is posted to the Greek island of Cephallonia as part of the occupying forces. At first he is ostracised by the locals, but as a conscientious but far from fanatical soldier, whose aim is to have a peaceful war, he proves in time to be civilised, humorous - and a consummate musician. Num Pages: 560 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 132 x 33. Weight in Grams: 368. . 2010. Paperback. . . . . Nº de ref. de la librería V9780099540861

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 12,12
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Berni?res Louis de
Editorial: Random House
ISBN 10: 009954086X ISBN 13: 9780099540861
Nuevos Cantidad: 3
Librería
Majestic Books
(London, ,, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Random House. Estado de conservación: New. pp. 560. Nº de ref. de la librería 6428509

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 7,50
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 6,16
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Louis de Bernieres
Editorial: Vintage Classics
ISBN 10: 009954086X ISBN 13: 9780099540861
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: > 20
Librería
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage Classics. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Nº de ref. de la librería B9780099540861

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 6,25
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 7,77
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Louis de Bernieres
Editorial: Vintage Classics (2010)
ISBN 10: 009954086X ISBN 13: 9780099540861
Nuevos Tapa blanda Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Vintage Classics, 2010. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería ria9780099540861_rkm

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,00
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,33
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda