The Master Switch: The Rise and Fall of Information Empires

3,87 valoración promedio
( 7.381 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9781848879850: The Master Switch: The Rise and Fall of Information Empires
Ver todas las copias de esta edición ISBN.
 
 
Reseña del editor:

The Internet Age: on the face of it, an era of unprecedented freedom in both communication and culture. Yet in the past, each major new medium, from telephone to satellite television, has crested on a wave of similar idealistic optimism, before succumbing to the inevitable undertow of industrial consolidation. Every once free and open technology has, in time, become centralized and closed; as corporate power has taken control of the 'master switch.' Today a similar struggle looms over the Internet, and as it increasingly supersedes all other media the stakes have never been higher. Part industrial expose, part examination of freedom of expression, "The Master Switch" reveals a crucial drama - full of indelible characters - as it has played out over decades in the shadows of global communication. It is suitable for readers of Nicholas Carr's "The Shallows", Clay Shirky's "Cognitive Surplus" and "Googled" by Ken Auletta.

Biografía del autor:

Timothy Wu is an author, a policy advocate, and a professor at Columbia University. A veteran of Silicon Valley, in 2006 he was recognized as one of fifty leaders in science and technology by Scientific American magazine. He won the Lowell Thomas gold medal for Travel Journalism, and has contributed to The New Yorker, The New York Times and Forbes. He is also a fellow of the New America Foundation and the chairman of the media reform organization Free Press. He lives in New York.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar usado
Condición: Bien
Introduction by author, acknowledgements... Ver este artículo

Gastos de envío: EUR 13,97
De Australia a Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Otras ediciones populares con el mismo título

9780307390998: The Master Switch: The Rise and Fall of Information Empires

Edición Destacada

ISBN 10: 0307390993 ISBN 13: 9780307390998
Editorial: Random House LCC US, 2011
Tapa blanda

9780307269935: Master Switch (Borzoi Books)

Alfred..., 2010
Tapa dura

9781848879867: The Master Switch: The Rise and Fall of Information Empires

Atlant..., 2012
Tapa blanda

9781848879843: The Master Switch: The Rise and Fall of Information Empires

Atlant..., 2011
Tapa dura

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

Imagen del vendedor

1.

Wu, Tim
Publicado por Atlantic Books, London (2010)
ISBN 10: 1848879857 ISBN 13: 9781848879850
Antiguo o usado Softcover Original o primera edición Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Syber's Books
(Melbourne, VIC, Australia)

Descripción Atlantic Books, London, 2010. Softcover. Condición: Very Good. First Edition. Introduction by author, acknowledgements, notes and index. Plaintext paperback binding with red and black coloured titles to the front panel and white and black coloured titles to the backstrip black and white photograph of author to the verso of the front panel. In this book the author details how a once free and open technology the Internet has become " . centralised and closed, as corporate power has taken control of "the master switch". from the rear panel blurb. A little rubbing of the book edges and panels. Age toning of the text block edges and pages. Full Number Line. Size: Trade Paperback. [13], 4 - 366, [8] pages, Please refer to accompanying picture (s). Quantity Available: 1. Category: Communications & Media; Modern; Computers & Internet. ISBN: 1848879857. ISBN/EAN: 9781848879850. Inventory No: 0130402. Nº de ref. del artículo: 0130402

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar usado
EUR 10,96
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 13,97
De Australia a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío