Smith, Tom Rob The Farm

ISBN 13: 9781847375698

The Farm

3,55 valoración promedio
( 22.289 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9781847375698: The Farm
Ver todas las copias de esta edición ISBN.
 
 

The farm editado por Penguin

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Críticas:

'On rare occasions, an author pulls off the high-wire act of writing a crime-oriented novel that easily transcends the genre. The Farm is one of these. In the vein of Høeg's Smilla's Sense of Snow and le Carré's A Perfect Spy, the tale brilliantly choreographs the collision of the present with the familial past. Author Smith takes a new direction here, but his skills are as finely honed as ever, with this tale that's both a page turner and a searing examination of the lives of our protagonist, his lover and his family. Structurally innovative and stylistically resonant, The Farm is a remarkable achievement' --Jeffery Deaver

'Chilling, hypnotic and thoroughly compelling. You will not read a better thriller this year' --Mark Billingham

'Tom Rob Smith has created a truly original and chilling thriller, which makes you ask yourself: who would I believe?' --Jojo Moyes

'This is a neatly plotted book full of stories within stories, which gradually unravel to confound our expectations...Smith's twisting, turning novel shows that Scandi crime also retains the ability to surprise and thrill' --Guardian

'A mind-blowing, addictive plot that will have you on the edge of your seat, tearing through the pages as the truth involving a missing teenage girl, Swedish folklore and some sinister neighbours slowly leaks out' --Stylist

'A pacey page-turner with an ending you'll be dying to talk about' --Good Housekeeping

'This is a tale of suspense as a man is torn between his mother and father, not knowing who to trust. Packed with conspiracies and secrets' --Woman & Home

'The Farm is tense, twisting and claustrophobic, and is everything you could want in a thriller'--The Bookseller

'Gripping' --Gay Times

'A taut and atmospheric psychological thriller, which keeps the reader guessing until the very end...Rob Smith breaks new ground, geographically and stylistically...the story is compelling, well-crafted and gripping...an excellent and unusual thriller'-- Irish Independent

'Tom Rob Smith returns with a brilliant psychological thriller...An eerie ride, perfect for fans of Gone Girl' --Viv Groskop's Recommended Reads, Red

'Tom Rob Smith breathes new life into the landscape, transcending the traditional crime fiction genre with an intricately-knitted thriller steeped in mythology. In The Farm, Rob Smith demonstrates the same craftsmanship that saw his highly-acclaimed novel Child 44 claim the Galaxy Book Award for Best New Writer and long-listed for the Manbooker Prize, among its many plaudits. This latest offering is a tapestry of fairytales old and new; so unsettling and oppressive that it blurs the distinctions between sanity and madness, reality and fantasy, leaving the reader guessing until the bitter end' --Independent

'The author of smash-hit period thriller Child 44 (soon to be a film starring Tom Hardy) shifts style for this satisfying and original psychological thriller' --5 star review, Heat

Praise for Tom Rob Smith

'His mastery of suspense will make any reader's heart pound'Financial Times

'Smith's brilliance is for hitching a history lesson to an express-train plot'Independent on Sunday

'In a class with Le Carré'Suspense Magazine

'An exceptionally strong thriller...perfect entertainment'Die Welt

'Terrific'Daily Telegraph

'Tom Rob Smith is patently a talented writer' Observer

'A searing echo of today's headlines'Library Journal

'Another first-class, must-read crime novel' Booklist

'Tom Rob Smith stands out in having grasped the insidious nature of a system that tries to prescribe what people think...a gripping, complex read'The Times

'Superb...Action-packed, immaculately researched...pungent and powerful'Metro

'The Phrase 'Master Storyteller' simply cannot do him justice'Scotsman

'Tom Rob Smith is a name to watch' Independent

'Explosive...Smith writes with finesse and authority'USA Today

'Smith's prose is propulsive'Entertainment Weekly

'A powerful page-turner' GQ'So Gripping'Daily Express --Daily Express

Reseña del editor:

If you refuse to believe me, I will no longer consider you my son... Daniel believed that his parents were enjoying a peaceful retirement on a remote farm in Sweden, the country of his mother's birth. But with a single phone call, everything changes. Your mother... she's not well, his father tells him. She's been imagining things - terrible, terrible things.In fact, she has been committed to a mental hospital. Before Daniel can board a plane to Sweden, his mother calls: Everything that man has told you is a lie. I'm not mad... I need the police... Meet me at Heathrow. Daniel is immediately caught between his parents - whom to believe, whom to trust? He becomes his mother's unwilling judge and jury. Presented with a horrific crime, a conspiracy that implicates his own father, Daniel must examine the evidence and decide for himself: who is telling the truth? And he has secrets of his own that for too long he has kept hidden...

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver este artículo

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,29
A Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

Imagen de archivo

1.

Smith, Tom Rob
Publicado por Simon & Schuster (2014)
ISBN 10: 1847375693 ISBN 13: 9781847375698
Nuevo Tapa dura Original o primera edición Ejemplar firmado Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
R & B Diversions LLC
(Stratford, WI, Estados Unidos de America)

Descripción Simon & Schuster, 2014. Hardcover. Condición: New. No Jacket. 1st Edition. author signed first printing hardcover in pictoral boards, no dust jacket as issued. First UK edition. new & unused; no marks, not remaindered, not exlib, not book club, prince on rear board exterior, & number line down to 1. simple author signature on title page, no inscription. fiction hardcover. Signed by Author(s). Nº de ref. del artículo: 6592

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 21,20
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,29
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío
Imagen de archivo

2.

Smith, Tom Rob
Publicado por Simon & Schuster Ltd (2014)
ISBN 10: 1847375693 ISBN 13: 9781847375698
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Reino Unido)

Descripción Simon & Schuster Ltd, 2014. Hardcover. Condición: Brand New. 368 pages. In Stock. Nº de ref. del artículo: zk1847375693

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 56,80
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 11,61
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío