Christofi, Alex Glass

ISBN 13: 9781846689680

9781846689680: Glass
Ver todas las copias de esta edición ISBN.
 
 
Críticas:

This first novel makes me want to use words like "sparkling", "sharp", "translucent" - not surprising, since it is about glass and one man's obsession with it ... Christofi's writing really does gleam with wit, inventiveness and an offbeat charm (Kate Saunders The Times 2015-02-07)

[An] impressive, tightly paced coming-of-age story ... Christofi delivers a multi-layered story that follows one man's refracted path through life's prism (Zoe Apostolides Financial Times 2015-02-28)

A rare novel ... rollicking (Josephine Livingstone Dazed & Confused 2015-01-03)

Christofi's debut novel is both charming and funny, and not a little affecting, too ... there's enough here to show you the author has plenty more to offer and that, like his hero, he definitely has his heart in the right place. (Daily Mail 2015-01-30)

Eccentricity ... alongside raw emotion ... a promising debut from an intriguing new voice. (We Love This Book 2015-02-10)

It's a tale about growing up, one that's as funny as it is touching. A talent to keep an eye on. (Shortlist 2015-02-18)

A confident and frequently adroit first novel ... enjoyably mercurial and quixotic (Morning Star 2015-02-18)

Charming, quirky, unexpected ... Christofi is a writer to watch. Witty and incredibly inventive. (Saga 2015-02-27)

Entertaining and affecting (Russell Leadbetter Herald Scotland 2015-02-28)

By far the most fun I've had with a British debut novel since Ned Beauman's Boxer, Beetle ... The comedic, mock-picaresque approach should appeal to fans of Beauman, Joshua Ferris, Matthew Quick, or even the Channel 4 sitcom Friday Night Dinner ... With a first novel this good, great things are surely in store for Alex Christofi. I daresay you'll take Günter Glass to your heart and follow his misadventures with rapt amusement. (Rebecca Foster BookHugger 2015-03-02)

Reseña del editor:

WINNER OF THE BETTY TRASK PRIZE 2016

Meet Günter Glass - ex-milkman and aspiring window-cleaner, struggling to find his way in the world

His mum has died, his dad's retired, he's just been let go from his milk round - and Günter Glass has his head in the clouds. Fortunately, he also has a head for heights, and a lifelong fascination with glass. So when the call comes to clean the windows of the tallest skyscraper in London, he sets off for the big city with little more than youthful enthusiasm, a dual-squeegee holster and his dear departed mother's homespun wisdom.

But will Günter's innocence put him on a collision course with the modern world? He's never had a girlfriend, and now he's falling for a clairvoyant with unclear intentions. Most of what he knows about
life comes from Wikipedia, so sharing a dingy flat with an eccentric German philosopher is a bit befuddling. And most worrying of all, he's starting to think his new boss may be a little unhinged ...

Glass is a novel about learning to wise up to the world around you. Charming, funny and slyly clever, it establishes Alex Christofi as one of Britain's most exciting young writers.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver este artículo

Gastos de envío: EUR 38,94
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Otras ediciones populares con el mismo título

9781846689673: Glass

Edición Destacada

ISBN 10:  1846689678 ISBN 13:  9781846689673
Editorial: Serpent's Tail, 2015
Tapa dura

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

CHRISTOFI,ALEX
Publicado por Profile Books (2015)
ISBN 10: 1846689686 ISBN 13: 9781846689680
Nuevo Paperback Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Reino Unido)

Descripción Profile Books, 2015. Paperback. Condición: Brand New. 240 pages. 7.80x5.08x0.71 inches. In Stock. Nº de ref. del artículo: zk1846689686

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 51,81
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 38,94
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío