Kelly, John GRT MORTALITY

ISBN 13: 9780060006938

GRT MORTALITY

3,87 valoración promedio
( 6.206 valoraciones por Goodreads )
)  
9780060006938: GRT MORTALITY
Ver todas las copias de esta edición ISBN.
 
 

Book by Kelly John

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Críticas:

"John Kelly gives the reader a ferocious, pictorial account of the horrific ravages of [The Black Death]."--Michiko Kakutani, New York Times

"Powerful, rich, moving, humane, and full of important lessons for an age when weapons of mass destruction are loose."--Richard Rhodes, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Making of the Atomic Bomb and John James Audubon: The Making of an American

"Written with a keen eye for the details of the past, it might also be a warning about our future."--Jack Weatherford, DeWitt Wallace Professor of Anthropology at Macalester College and author of Genghis Khan and the Making of the Modern World

"Rich and evocative...written in the tradition of Barbara Tuchman, I couldn't stop reading this work of brilliance and wisdom."--Richard Preston, author of The Hot Zone

"Stunning. The Great Mortality [is endowed with] the sheer immediacy ancient history yields to only a few."--Houston Chronicle

"A fascinating account of the plague. A frightening reminder of what could happen today."--Nelson DeMille, The Birmingham News

"THE GREAT MORTALITY skillfully draws on eyewitness accounts to construct a journal of the plague years."--New York Times Book Review

"A compelling and bone-chilling account."--Tampa Tribune

"Splendidly written. Kelly has written a popular history based on the best scholarship available, and written it very well indeed."--Detroit Free Press (**** 4 out of 4 stars)

"THE GREAT MORTALITY is a chilling account of a global siege, public pits, death-carts, silent villages and empty streets."--Charleston Post & Courier

Reseña del editor:

Chronicles the Great Plague that devastated Asia and Europe in the fourteenth century, documenting the experiences of people who lived during its height while describing the harrowing decline of moral boundaries that also marked the period. Reprint. 35,000 first printing.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver este artículo

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Otras ediciones populares con el mismo título

9780060006921: The Great Mortality: An Intimate History Of The Black Death, The Most Devastating Plague Of All Time

Edición Destacada

ISBN 10:  0060006927 ISBN 13:  9780060006921
Editorial: HarperCollins, 2005
Tapa dura

9780739458457: The Great Mortality: An Intimate History of the Black Death, the Most Devastating Plague of All Time.

Tapa blanda

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Kelly, John
Publicado por Harper Perennial (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060006935 ISBN 13: 9780060006938
Nuevo Paperback Cantidad disponible: 20
Librería
booksXpress
(Freehold, NJ, Estados Unidos de America)

Descripción Harper Perennial, 2006. Paperback. Condición: new. Nº de ref. del artículo: 9780060006938

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,46
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

John Kelly
Publicado por HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0060006935 ISBN 13: 9780060006938
Nuevo Paperback Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)

Descripción HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2013. Paperback. Condición: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. The Great Plague is one of the most compelling events in human history, even more so now, when the notion of plague--be it animal or human--has never loomed larger as a contemporary public concern The plague that devastated Asia and Europe in the 14th century has been of never-ending interest to both scholarly and general readers. Many books on the plague rely on statistics to tell the story: how many people died; how farm output and trade declined. But statistics can't convey what it was like to sit in Siena or Avignon and hear that a thousand people a day are dying two towns away. Or to have to chose between your own life and your duty to a mortally ill child or spouse. Or to live in a society where the bonds of blood and sentiment and law have lost all meaning, where anyone can murder or rape or plunder anyone else without fear of consequence. In The Great Mortality, author John Kelly lends an air of immediacy and intimacy to his telling of the journey of the plague as it traveled from the steppes of Russia, across Europe, and into England, killing 75 million people--one third of the known population--before it vanished.--Jonathan Yardley, Washington Post Book World. Nº de ref. del artículo: AAS9780060006938

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 14,87
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

John Kelly
Publicado por HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 0060006935 ISBN 13: 9780060006938
Nuevo Paperback Cantidad disponible: 10
Librería
Book Depository hard to find
(London, Reino Unido)

Descripción HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2013. Paperback. Condición: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. The Great Plague is one of the most compelling events in human history, even more so now, when the notion of plague--be it animal or human--has never loomed larger as a contemporary public concern The plague that devastated Asia and Europe in the 14th century has been of never-ending interest to both scholarly and general readers. Many books on the plague rely on statistics to tell the story: how many people died; how farm output and trade declined. But statistics can't convey what it was like to sit in Siena or Avignon and hear that a thousand people a day are dying two towns away. Or to have to chose between your own life and your duty to a mortally ill child or spouse. Or to live in a society where the bonds of blood and sentiment and law have lost all meaning, where anyone can murder or rape or plunder anyone else without fear of consequence. In The Great Mortality, author John Kelly lends an air of immediacy and intimacy to his telling of the journey of the plague as it traveled from the steppes of Russia, across Europe, and into England, killing 75 million people--one third of the known population--before it vanished.--Jonathan Yardley, Washington Post Book World. Nº de ref. del artículo: BTE9780060006938

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 14,94
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Kelly, John
Publicado por Harper Perennial 1/31/2006 (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060006935 ISBN 13: 9780060006938
Nuevo Paperback or Softback Cantidad disponible: 10
Librería
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, Estados Unidos de America)

Descripción Harper Perennial 1/31/2006, 2006. Paperback or Softback. Condición: New. The Great Mortality: An Intimate History of the Black Death, the Most Devastating Plague of All Time. Book. Nº de ref. del artículo: BBS-9780060006938

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 18,38
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

John Kelly
Publicado por Harper Perennial (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060006935 ISBN 13: 9780060006938
Nuevo Paperback Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)

Descripción Harper Perennial, 2006. Paperback. Condición: New. Nº de ref. del artículo: SONG0060006935

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 16,99
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,77
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

John Kelly (author)
Publicado por HarperCollins Publishers 2006-01-31, New York, NY (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060006935 ISBN 13: 9780060006938
Nuevo paperback Cantidad disponible: > 20
Librería
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, Reino Unido)

Descripción HarperCollins Publishers 2006-01-31, New York, NY, 2006. paperback. Condición: New. Nº de ref. del artículo: 9780060006938

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 14,08
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 5,54
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Kelly, John
Publicado por Harper Perennial (2020)
ISBN 10: 0060006935 ISBN 13: 9780060006938
Nuevo Paperback Cantidad disponible: 20
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, Estados Unidos de America)

Descripción Harper Perennial, 2020. Paperback. Condición: New. Brand New! This item is printed on demand. Nº de ref. del artículo: 0060006935

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 21,75
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

John Kelly
Publicado por Harper Perennial (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060006935 ISBN 13: 9780060006938
Nuevo Paperback Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)

Descripción Harper Perennial, 2006. Paperback. Condición: New. Reprint. Nº de ref. del artículo: DADAX0060006935

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 23,53
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,77
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

John Kelly
Publicado por 0 0
ISBN 10: 0060006935 ISBN 13: 9780060006938
Nuevo Cantidad disponible: 20
Librería
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, Reino Unido)

Descripción 0 0. Condición: New. Nº de ref. del artículo: 6666-ING-9780060006938

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 16,09
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 15,93
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Kelly, John
Publicado por Harper Perennial (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060006935 ISBN 13: 9780060006938
Nuevo Tapa blanda Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, Estados Unidos de America)

Descripción Harper Perennial, 2006. Condición: New. book. Nº de ref. del artículo: MB00ZT1N5BQ

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 19,88
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 13,34
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda