Visions of Nationhood : Prelude to Nigerian Civil War, 1960-1967

G.N. Uzoigwe

Editorial: AFRICA WORLD PRESS, 2011
ISBN 10: 1592217079 / ISBN 13: 9781592217076
Nuevos / Paperback / Cantidad: 0
Librería: THE SAINT BOOKSTORE (Southport, Reino Unido)
Disponible en otras librerías
Ver todos  los ejemplares de este libro

Sobre el libro

Lamentablemente este ejemplar en específico ya no está disponible. A continuación, le mostramos una lista de copias similares.

Descripción:

New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. N° de ref. de la librería B9781592217076

Sobre este título:

Sinopsis: Visions of Nationhood is a refreshingly bold and informed study of why Nigeria s three dominant sub-national groups the Hausa-Fulani of the Northern Region, the Igbo of the Eastern Region, and the Yoruba of the Western Region were collectively unable to reconcile their conflicting visions of Nigerian nationhood, and thus created situations that forced the Nigerian military to topple the government of Abubakar Tafawa Balewa within six years of Nigerian independence. Obliquely, the book is an engaging treatise on government, emphasizing in the tradition of Hobbes, Locke and Rousseau that government is essentially a contract between the ruler and the ruled, a breach of which by either party leads to disastrous consequences. Thus, the failure of the Nigerian central government, either deliberately or through inability, to fulfill its sacred undertaking in the contract of government led to the secession of the Eastern Region and made the descent into civil war unavoidable. Indeed, all over the contemporary world, in both the industrialized nations and the industrializing ones even among those that claim to be democracies those who exercise political power have not always recognized their obligation toward the ruled, have not always operated as if government is a sacred contract between the people and their government. For many of the so-called democracies, a government erected through the process of universal adult suffrage, often rigged sometimes even blatantly is seen as an end in itself rather than as a means to an end. The book is divided into three parts. Part one is an account and analysis of the post-colonial traumas in Nigeria between 1960 and 1967 that led to the civil war. Part history and part memoir with the historical sections dominating, it is further enriched by the inclusion of the author s conversations with important national figures during the period in review. These include General Yakubu Gowon, Nigerian Head of State and government (1966-1975) while in self-exile in London. Likewise Dr. Michael Opara, Premier of the Eastern Region (1959-1966) also in self-exile in Dublin, Ireland. These were two individuals who were at the very center of the events analyzed in this book; which also includes numerous discussions on the events with a cross-section of the Nigerian population over the last forty years, discussions reflecting, indeed, their conflicting perceptions and interpretations of what happened. Part two reproduces in its entirety a previously unpublished treatise on government I wrote in 1969 in defense of the secession of Eastern Nigeria, raising the issue of the end of the state and of political obligation. In other words, what is the state and why should an individual or groups obey it? Part three reproduces a selection of two original and important documents intended to illuminate the narrative and analyses in part one, thereby aiding the reader to understand the author s interpretations of the events discussed.

About the Author: G.N. Uzoigwe received his doctorate degree in history from Christ Church, Oxford University. He is currently Professor of history at Mississippi State University, having served as Department Head (1999-2005). A widely travelled and prodigiously published scholar, Uzoigwe has previously taught in various universities in Africa and America, and has received several distinguished awards for academic leadership. His books include Britain and the Conquest of Africa: The Age of Salisbury (1974); Foundations of Nigerian Federalism: The Colonial Period, 1900-1960 (1996); Troubled Journey: Nigeria Since the Civil War with Levi Nwachuku (2004).

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Detalles bibliográficos

Título: Visions of Nationhood : Prelude to Nigerian ...
Editorial: AFRICA WORLD PRESS
Año de publicación: 2011
Encuadernación: Paperback
Condición del libro: New

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

G.N. Uzoigwe
Editorial: Africa World Press (2010)
ISBN 10: 1592217079 ISBN 13: 9781592217076
Usado Paperback Primera edición Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Africa World Press, 2010. Paperback. Estado de conservación: Used: Good. First edition. Nº de ref. de la librería SONG1592217079

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 52,52
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 7,52
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

G.N. Uzoigwe
Editorial: Africa World Press (2010)
ISBN 10: 1592217079 ISBN 13: 9781592217076
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Africa World Press, 2010. Paperback. Estado de conservación: Brand New. first edition edition. 374 pages. 8.80x5.90x1.00 inches. In Stock. Nº de ref. de la librería 1592217079

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 64,57
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 6,78
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

G.N. Uzoigwe
Editorial: Africa World Press (2010)
ISBN 10: 1592217079 ISBN 13: 9781592217076
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Africa World Press, 2010. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. de la librería P111592217079

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 70,69
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,67
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

G.N. Uzoigwe
Editorial: Africa World Press (2010)
ISBN 10: 1592217079 ISBN 13: 9781592217076
Usado Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Africa World Press, 2010. Paperback. Estado de conservación: Like New. Almost new condition. Nº de ref. de la librería P011592217079

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 70,69
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,67
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

G.N. Uzoigwe
Editorial: Africa World Press (2010)
ISBN 10: 1592217079 ISBN 13: 9781592217076
Usado Paperback Cantidad: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Africa World Press, 2010. Paperback. Estado de conservación: Very Good. Great condition with minimal wear, aging, or shelf wear. Nº de ref. de la librería P021592217079

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 71,70
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,67
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío