The Storms of War

Williams, Kate

ISBN 10: 1409139921 / ISBN 13: 9781409139928
Usado / Cantidad: 0
Disponible en otras librerías
Ver todos  los ejemplares de este libro

Sobre el libro

Lamentablemente este ejemplar en específico ya no está disponible. A continuación, le mostramos una lista de copias similares.

Descripción:

Publisher/Verlag: Orion Publishing Group | In the idyllic early summer of 1914, life is good for the de Witt family. Rudolf and Verena are planning the wedding of their daughter Emmeline, while their eldest son, Arthur, is studying in Paris and Michael is just back from his first term at Cambridge. Celia, the youngest of the de Witt children, is on the brink of adulthood, and secretly dreams of escaping her carefully mapped-out future and exploring the world. But the onslaught of war changes everything and soon the de Witts find themselves sidelined and in danger of losing everything they hold dear. As Celia struggles to make sense of the changing world around her, she lies about her age to join the war effort and finds herself embroiled in a complex plot that puts not only herself but those she loves in danger. With gripping detail and brilliant empathy, Kate Williams tells the story of Celia and her family as they are shunned by a society that previously embraced them, torn apart by sorrow, and buffeted and changed by the storms of war. | Format: Paperback | Language/Sprache: english | 690 gr | 231x153x35 mm | 514 pp. N° de ref. de la librería

Sobre este título:

Valoración del libro brindada por Goodreads:
3,53 valoración promedio
(784 valoraciones)

Sinopsis:

A sweeping and gloriously moving novel of the First World War and its aftermath from the brilliant young historian and storyteller recognized on both sides of the Atlantic as one of the “queens of historical fiction” (The Guardian)

In the idyllic early summer of 1914, life is good for the de Witt family. Rudolf and Verena are planning the wedding of their daughter Emmeline, while their eldest son, Arthur, is studying in Paris, and Michael is just back from his first term at Cambridge. Celia, the youngest of the de Witt children, is on the brink of adulthood and secretly dreams of escaping her carefully mapped-out future and exploring the world.

But the onslaught of war changes everything, and soon the de Witts find themselves in danger of losing everything they hold dear. As Celia struggles to make sense of the changing world around her, she lies about her age to join the war effort and finds herself embroiled in a complex plot that puts not only herself but those she loves in peril. With gripping, pitch-perfect detail, cinematic scope and heart-rending empathy, Kate Williams tells the unforgettable story of Celia and her family as they are shunned by a society that previously embraced them, torn apart by sorrow and buffeted and changed by the storms of war.

From the Back Cover:

For fans of Downton Abbey, Atonement, and Birdsong, the first of three novels about a privileged British family during the First World War, from Globe and Mail—bestselling author Kate Williams.

I?n the early summer of 1914, life is good for the de Witt family. Rudolf and Verena are planning their daughter Emmeline’s wedding, while their eldest son, Arthur, is studying in Paris, and Michael is back from his first term at Cambridge. Celia, the youngest de Witt, is on the brink of adulthood, and dreams of escaping her carefully mapped-out future.

But with the onslaught of war, the de Witts find themselves in danger of losing everything. As Celia struggles to make sense of the world around her, she lies about her age to join the war effort and finds herself embroiled in a complex plot that puts not only her but those she loves in peril. 

With pitch-perfect detail, cinematic scope, and heartrending empathy, Kate Williams tells the unforgettable story of the de Witts as they are shunned by a society that previously embraced them, torn apart by sorrow, and changed by the storms of war.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Detalles bibliográficos

Título: The Storms of War
Condición del libro: New

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Kate Williams
Editorial: Orion Publishing Co 2014 Paperback (2014)
ISBN 10: 1409139921 ISBN 13: 9781409139928
Usado Cantidad: 1
Librería
Book Haven
(Wellington, ., Nueva Zelanda)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Orion Publishing Co 2014 Paperback, 2014. Estado de conservación: Very Good. n the idyllic early summer of 1914, life is good for the de Witt family. Rudolf and Verena are planning the wedding of their daughter Emmeline, while their eldest son, Arthur, is studying in Paris and Michael is just back from his first term at Cambridge. Celia, the youngest of the de Witt children, is on the brink of adulthood, and secretly dreams of escaping her carefully mapped-out future and exploring the world. But the onslaught of war changes everything and soon the de Witts find themselves sidelined and in danger of losing everything they hold dear. As Celia struggles to make sense of the changing world around her, she lies about her age to join the war effort and finds herself embroiled in a complex plot that puts not only herself but those she loves in danger. With gripping detail and brilliant empathy, Kate Williams tells the story of Celia and her family as they are shunned by a society that previously embraced them, torn apart by sorrow, and buffeted and changed by the storms of war. 364 pages. Nº de ref. de la librería 1052190

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 5,20
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 17,03
De Nueva Zelanda a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Kate Williams
Editorial: Orion Publishing Co (2014)
ISBN 10: 1409139921 ISBN 13: 9781409139928
Usado Cantidad: 1
Librería
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Orion Publishing Co, 2014. Estado de conservación: Very Good. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Nº de ref. de la librería GRP97052481

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 24,75
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,81
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío