Imagen del editor

Spirits of the ordinary; a tale of Casas Grandes

Alcal?, Kathleen

87 valoraciones por Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0811814475 / ISBN 13: 9780811814478
Editorial: Chronicle Books, San Francisco, 1987
Encuadernación de tapa dura
Librería: Bolerium Books Inc. (San Francisco, CA, Estados Unidos de America)

Librería en AbeBooks desde: 14 de diciembre de 1997

Cantidad: 2

Comprar usado
Precio: EUR 22,63 Convertir moneda
Gastos de envío: EUR 0,00 A Estados Unidos de America Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío
Añadir al carrito

Descripción

244p., signed by Alcal?, very good first edition in cloth-backed boards and unclipped dj. First novel by the Chicana writer concerns a family of clandestine Jews in 1870s northern Mexico. N° de ref. de la librería 82129

Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Detalles bibliográficos

Título: Spirits of the ordinary; a tale of Casas ...

Editorial: Chronicle Books, San Francisco

Año de publicación: 1987

Encuadernación: Hardcover

Condición de la sobrecubierta: Dust Jacket Included

Ejemplar firmado: Signed by Author(s)

Edición: 1st Edition

Acerca de

Sinopsis:

A spectacular tapestry of folklore, spirituality, and constantly shifting landscapes, this enchanting and original first novel will appeal to readers of Isabel Allende, All the Pretty Horses, and Like Water for Chocolate. Unfolding a rare and haunting gift for story-telling, Kathleen Alcalá begins her tale in the 1880s and follows three generations of the Carabajal family on a path of forbidden love and hidden belief that wends across the Mexico-Texas border. Estela risks the security of her comfortable home and children to pursue a consuming passion. Her husband, Zacarìas, is guided by an inexplicable spiritual longing and his affinity for the indigenous people who dwell in the cliffs of Casas Grandes. Zacarìas's father, a cloistered Jew, studies the ancient wisdom of the Torah and the Cabala, hoping to unlock the secrets of his son's future. The truth, when it comes, will surprise all of them.

View the Reading Guide for
Spirits of the Ordinary

Review:

Kathleen Alcalá's first novel, Spirits of the Ordinary, opens in 1870s Mexico where Zacarias Caraval abandons his family and the religion of his fathers--Judaism--to search for gold in the desert. His wife, Estela, responds by declaring herself independent and taking a lover--an action frowned upon in the small village of Saltillo. Zacarias's wanderings take him into the mountains of Northern Mexico and to the cliff dwellings of Casas Grandes, where he witnesses a massacre--an event that will have a profound affect on him and will eventually send him back to the faith he has abandoned. Spirits of the Ordinary is the first book of a projected trilogy and judging by the quality of Ms. Alcalá's work so far, the next two volumes will be eagerly awaited.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Descripción de la librería

Bolerium Books specializes in American social movements and related topics. You can contact us for free email lists in our subject areas. We are located in San Francisco's Mission District on the third floor at 2141 Mission St. Our public hours are Noon to 6pm, Monday to Saturday.

Ver la página web de la librería

Condiciones de venta:

All books in very good condition or better unless noted. California customers will be billed for sales tax unless a resale number is provided. Major institutions and ABAA/ILAB dealers can be invoiced upon request. All drop ships will be sent with a Bolerium return address & the ABE manifest. All books returnable for any reason within 30 days of estimated delivery date.

Bolerium Books is located at 2141 Mission, Suite 300, San Francisco, CA 94110. 415-863-6353, email: order@bolerium.com. Contact ...

Más información
Condiciones de envío:

Orders are securely packed and usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or over sized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required. Overnight shipping available upon request at additional cost

Todos los libros de esta librería

Métodos de pago
aceptados por la librería

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue