Imagen del editor

The Siege: A Novel

Perez-Reverte, Arturo

1.634 valoraciones por Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1400069688 / ISBN 13: 9781400069682
Editorial: U.S.A.: Random House, 2014
Condición: Near Fine Encuadernación de tapa dura
Librería: Limestone Books (Austin, TX, Estados Unidos de America)

Librería en AbeBooks desde: 22 de diciembre de 1998

Cantidad: 1

Comprar usado
Precio: EUR 165,14 Convertir moneda
Gastos de envío: EUR 3,38 A Estados Unidos de America Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío
Añadir al carrito

Descripción

NF/NF. First American edition, first printing. Signed by the author on title page (signature only). 598 pp. N° de ref. de la librería 19124

Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Detalles bibliográficos

Título: The Siege: A Novel

Editorial: U.S.A.: Random House

Año de publicación: 2014

Encuadernación: Hardcover

Condición del libro:Near Fine

Condición de la sobrecubierta: Near Fine

Ejemplar firmado: Signed by Author(s)

Edición: 1st Edition

Acerca de

Sinopsis:

WINNER OF THE CRIME WRITERS’ ASSOCIATION’S INTERNATIONAL DAGGER

For fans of Alan Furst and Carlos Ruiz Zafón comes a haunting and layered thriller filled with history, adventure, suspense, and an unforgettable love story—by the internationally bestselling author Arturo Pérez-Reverte.

 
Cádiz, 1811: The Spanish port city has been surrounded by Napoleon’s army for a year. Their backs to the sea, its residents endure routine bombardments and live in constant fear of a French invasion. And now the bodies of random women have begun to turn up throughout the city—victims of a shadowy killer.
 
Police Comisario Rogelio Tizón has been assigned the case. Known for his razor-sharp investigation skills—as well as his brutal interrogation methods—Tizón has seen everything. Or so he thought. His inquiry into the murders reveals a surprising pattern: Each victim has been found where a French bomb exploded. Logic tells him to pass it off as coincidence; his instinct tells him otherwise, and he begins to view Cádiz as a living chessboard, with himself and the killer the main players.
 
In a city pushed to the brink, violence and desperation weave together the lives of a group of unlikely people: the Spanish taxidermist who doubles as a French spy; the young woman who uses her father’s mercantile business to run the enemy blockade; the rough-edged corsair who tries to resist her charms; and the brilliant academic furiously trying to perfect the French army’s artillery and bring Cádiz to its knees once and for all. And as Napoleon presses closer, Tizón must make his next move on the bomb-scarred chessboard before the killer claims another pawn.
 
Combining fast-paced narrative with scrupulous historical accuracy, this smart, suspenseful tale of human resilience is Arturo Pérez-Reverte at the height of his talents.
 
Praise for The Siege
 
“A genre-bending literary thriller . . . Pirates; serial killings; steamy, unrequited love: Pérez-Reverte imbues the sensational with significance. . . . His descriptions of the town and people of Cádiz capture colors, smells and personalities, making the page come to life, and he balances these sensory passages with dense observations about history, metaphysics, science, and human nature.”Kirkus Reviews

“Bold . . . [Pérez-Reverte’s] best yet . . . an ambitious intellectual thriller peopled with colorful rogues and antiheroes, meticulous in its historical detail, with a plot that rattles along to its unexpected finale. It’s hard to think of a contemporary author who so effortlessly marries popular and literary fiction as enjoyably as this.”The Observer
 
“Pérez-Reverte has long been Spain’s most popular, inventive writer of historical fiction. . . . This is a big and bold novel, rich in character and incident.”The Sunday Times
 
Acclaim for Arturo Pérez-Reverte
 
“John le Carré meets Gabriel García Márquez . . . Pérez-Reverte has a huge following . . . and it’s spreading.”The Wall Street Journal
 
The Da Vinci Code and The Rule of Four . . . pale in comparison with Pérez-Reverte’s novels.”Time Out New York
 
“It’s a rare novelist who can create a literary page-turner. Arturo Pérez-Reverte . . . is one of those rarities.”The Denver Post

About the Author:

Arturo Pérez-Reverte is the author of many critically acclaimed novels, including The Club Dumas, The Flanders Panel, and the Captain Alatriste series. A retired war journalist, he lives in Madrid and is a member of the Royal Spanish Academy.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Descripción de la librería

Ver la página web de la librería

Condiciones de venta:

Credit cards not accepted at this time. Shipping at $4.50 for first book, $1 thereafter. International shipping at cost. Satisfaction guaranteed. Reserve for 7 days, return in 7 days.

Condiciones de envío:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

Todos los libros de esta librería

Métodos de pago
aceptados por la librería

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue

Giro Postal Dinero en Efectivo