Imagen del editor

Shark

Will Self

Editorial: Penguin, 2014
ISBN 10: 0670918571 / ISBN 13: 9780670918577
Usado / hard / Cantidad: 2
Librería: Topping & Company Booksellers (Bath, Reino Unido)
Disponible en otras librerías
Ver todos  los ejemplares de este libro
Añadir al carrito
Precio: EUR 26,14
Convertir moneda
Gastos de envío: EUR 21,93
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Guardar para más tarde

Sobre el libro

Detalles bibliográficos


Título: Shark

Editorial: Penguin

Año de publicación: 2014

Encuadernación: hard

Condición del libro: fine

Condición de la sobrecubierta: fine

Ejemplar firmado: Signed by author

Edición: First edition

Tipo de libro: Hardback

Descripción:

Will Self's novel Shark is based on an incident which occurred during the Second World War, where a ship delivering fissile material to the South Pacific to be dropped on Hiroshima is subsequently sunk by a Japanese submarine. 200 of the 900 lost men are killed in the largest shark attack ever recorded. Skip ahead to North London in the 1970's. Creep, an American resident, begins to tell the therapeutic community rambling stories of this shark encounter. It is left to psychiatrist Zack Busner, who many may have come across in Self's 2012 Booker shortlisted novel Umbrella, to decipher whether Creep's stories of shark-related episodes are true or just schizoid delusions. To complicate things further, Creep's father appears, determined to remove his son from what he regards as a perverse commune. As columnist for the New Statesman and The Observer as well as with his regular appearances on Have I Got News for You and Radio 4, Self has gained a cult following for his cutting yet humorous comments. His shrewd observations and dry wit are sure to prevail in Shark, which is set to be a thought-provoking and insightful novel. N° de ref. de la librería 7246

Sobre este título:

Valoración del libro brindada por GoodReads:
3,51 valoración promedio
(209 valoraciones)

Sinopsis:

Shark by Will Self - the eagerly anticipated new novel from the Booker-shortlisted author of Umbrella

4 May 1970. A week earlier President Nixon has ordered American ground forces into Cambodia to pursue the Vietcong. By the end of the day four students will be lying in the grounds of Kent State University, shot dead by the National Guard. On the other side of the Atlantic, it's a brilliant sunny morning after an April of heavy rain, and at the Concept House therapeutic community he has set up in the London suburb of Willesden, maverick psychiatrist Dr Zack Busner has been tricked into joining a decidedly ill-advised LSD trip with several of its disturbed residents.

Five years later, sitting in a nearby cinema watching Steven Spielberg's Jaws with his young son, Busner realizes the true nature of the events that transpired on that dread-soaked day, when a survivor of the worst disaster in the US Navy's history - the sinking of the USS Indianapolis in the shark-infested south Pacific - came face-to-face with the British Royal Air Force observer on the Enola Gay's mission to Hiroshima.

Set a year before the action of his Booker-shortlisted Umbrella, Will Self's new novel continues its exploration of the complex relationship between human psychopathology and human technological progress; and like Umbrella, weaves together multiple narratives across several decades of the twentieth century to produce a fiendish tapestry depicting the state we're enmeshed in.

Will Self is the author of many novels and books of non-fiction, including Great Apes, The Book of Dave, How the Dead Live, which was shortlisted for the Whitbread Novel of the Year 2002, The Butt, winner of the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for Comic Fiction 2008, and Umbrella, which was shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2012. He lives in South London.

Sinopsis:

Shark by Will Self - a thrilling new novel based on incredible real events, from the Booker-shortlisted author of Umbrella

Shark turns upon an actual incident in the Second World War when the ship which had delivered the fissile material to the south Pacific to be dropped on Hiroshima was subsequently sunk by a Japanese submarine with the loss of 900 men, including 200 killed in the largest shark attack ever recorded.

When Creep, an American resident in the 1970s at the therapeutic community in north London supervised by psychiatrist Zack Busner, starts to tell rambling stories of thrashing about in the water while under attack from sharks, Busner has to decide whether they are schizoid delusions or reflect some sort of reality. And things get complicated when Creep's father flies in to remove his son from what he regards as a perverse commune.

Shark is a must-read for anyone who enjoyed The Book of Dave and Umbrella, and will appeal to readers of Irvine Welsh's Skagboys, David Mitchell's Cloud Atlas and Huruki Murakami's IQ84.

Will Self is the author of many novels and books of non-fiction, including Great Apes, The Book of Dave, How the Dead Live, which was shortlisted for the Whitbread Novel of the Year 2002, The Butt, winner of the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for Comic Fiction 2008, and Umbrella, which was shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2012. He lives in South London.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Librería y condiciones de venta

Opciones de pago

Esta librería acepta las siguientes opciones de pago:

  • American Express
  • Carte Bleue
  • MasterCard
  • Visa

[Buscar en el catálogo de esta librería]

[Todos los libros de esta librería]

[Hacer una pregunta a la librería]

Librería: Topping & Company Booksellers
Dirección: Bath, Reino Unido

Librería en AbeBooks desde: 4 de junio de 2014
Valoración librería: Valoración 4 estrellas

Condiciones de venta:

Please do contact us for further information about any of our books. For refunds
and returns, please refer to the AbeBooks policies.

For all enquiries, please contact Saber Khan at the Bath branch. Email bath@toppingbooks.co.uk or
phone +44(0)1225 428111.

Topping & Company Booksellers Ltd is a Limited Company registered in England (No. 04458361).
Registered Office: 9 High Street, Ely, Cambridgeshire CB7 4LJ. VAT Registration Number: GB


Condiciones de envío:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is
heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

All books are individually wrapped with protective cellophane. Our
environmentally-friendly packaging is often recycled, but of extremely good
quality and sturdiness. All shipped items are subject to a stringent inspection
before being handed to the courier.