The Secret Goldfish

Means, David

Editorial: 4th Estate, 2005
ISBN 10: 0007164874 / ISBN 13: 9780007164875
Usado / Hard Cover / Cantidad: 0
Disponible en otras librerías
Ver todos  los ejemplares de este libro

Sobre el libro

Lamentablemente este ejemplar en específico ya no está disponible. A continuación, le mostramos una lista de copias similares.

Descripción:

A true UK first edition/first printing, with a number '1' on the copyright page. A superb copy of this fabulous, surreal story collection by a writer to watch. His previous book 'Assorted Fire Events' won the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, and was shortlisted for the National Book Critics Circle Award. This copy has no inscriptions, marks, bookplates etc. Immaculate, and not price-clipped. All of our books are protected by a removable plastic cover, and sent to you with care. N° de ref. de la librería

Sobre este título:

Valoración del libro brindada por GoodReads:
3,54 valoración promedio
(309 valoraciones)

Sinopsis:

An extraordinary second collection of short stories from an author who is set to become one of America?s leading literary voices.

In the tradition of Raymond Carver or Tobias Wolff, these are all-encompassing stories of the American psyche; of love and loss; of the landscape and its people. A goldfish circles in its bowl, refusing to die, becoming the silent focus of a difficult family life; a pianist loses his talents as he is forced to question the meaning of love and commitment. Through a blend of lyricism and humour, these stories of ordinary human dilemmas take flight and become mythical and universal. David Means is a rare writer who transports us to the heart of what it is to be human.

Críticas:

?Means? stories meld literary influences from diverse traditions: mainstream writers like Alice Munro and Beat voices like Jack Kerouac. Mix in the impact of singer-songwriters like Bob Dylan, and the resulting fiction is uniquely Means? own-an innovative approach to form, an eerie, somber tone and characters so out of place in American society they seem disposable.? Newsday

?Aims toward a mythology of the modern heartland?so lovely I want to quote the whole thing.? Los Angeles Times

"Vivid? Means?s last collection, Assorted Fire Events was a finalist for the National Book Award?the stories here are just as unsentimental and tightly wound." New York Times Book Review

"Achingly intelligent?With his jump-cut shifts, startling connections and breathtaking disconnections the author stands among our most gifted younger writers." New York Times

"David Means moves from strength to strength. In these new stories, men and women live lives in which loss and its transcendence combine and become inseparable, making a light that illuminates not only the world on the page, but the larger world beyond. Means is a courageous writer, intelligent and funny and humane. His love for his characters is always evident. The pleasure in reading THE SECRET GOLDFISH is tremendous." Donald Antrim, author of THE VERIFICATIONIST and ELECT MR. ROBINSON FOR A BETTER WORLD

"David Means is an anatomist of disaster. His propulsive, riveting, wonderfully atmospheric stories are all poised at the moment of catastrophe, whether natural, automotive or marital. It is Means' signature talent to view the lives of his characters, and life itself, from somewhere just beyond, in a position of maximum understanding and honorable detachment. A semi-divine vantage point for the examination of hopelessly human affairs." Jeffrey Eugenides, author of The Virgin Suicides and Middlesex

?David Means is a brilliant new master of the short story who fully understands and respects the form's power. In each of these stories, [he] reveals the truth of our lives the way great art always has ? by making us see the world as it painfully is, not as our comfortable habits hide it from us.? Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

?Means probes a broad range of social registers, from junkies and criminals festering in the post-industrial decay of northern Michigan?s iron range to the chilly adulteries of the artsy New York haute bourgeoisie, linking them into a bleak, sometimes apocalyptic panorama of he precariousness of life in a country that ?could eat anything, absolutely anything, up.??an imaginative and penetrating collection.? (US) Publishers Weekly

?In The Secret Goldfish, David Means has all the cylinders running: tremendous precision of language, formal innovation to burn, voices as compelling as they are disturbing. More than the sum of its parts, though, Means' new book is a vibrant sign from a distinct, American tradition. Like the early Allen Ginsberg, the Robert Stone of Dog Soldiers, or the photographs of Nan Goldin, these stories display a kind of angry, unsettled brilliance that somehow allows us to find ourselves by reminding us just how lost we've become.? Adam Haslett, author of You Are Not a Stranger Here

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Detalles bibliográficos

Título: The Secret Goldfish
Editorial: 4th Estate
Año de publicación: 2005
Encuadernación: Hard Cover
Condición del libro: As New
Edición: First Edition

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Means, David
Editorial: Fourth Estate,uk (2005)
ISBN 10: 0007164874 ISBN 13: 9780007164875
Usado Tapa dura Primera edición Cantidad: 1
Librería
S.Carter
(Bristol, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Fourth Estate,uk, 2005. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: Very Good. Estado de la sobrecubierta: Very Good. 1st Edition. uk1st.edition.1st.printing.scarcer than the us edition.better than vg hardback in vg dustwrapper-small bumps to bottom corner.a very nice looking copy. Nº de ref. de la librería 30lllllll

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 23,65
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 7,92
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Means, David
ISBN 10: 0007164874 ISBN 13: 9780007164875
Usado Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Hardback. Estado de conservación: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Nº de ref. de la librería GOR002388223

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 34,54
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 5,61
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío