Imagen del editor

In Search of New Scales : Prince Edmond de Polignac, Octatonic Explorer

Kahan, Sylvia

Editorial: Boydell & Brewer Ltd, 2009
ISBN 10: 1580463053 / ISBN 13: 9781580463058
Nuevos / Hardcover / Cantidad: 1
Librería: Boydell & Brewer (Martlesham, Reino Unido)
Disponible en otras librerías
Ver todos  los ejemplares de este libro
Añadir al carrito
Precio recomendado:
Precio: EUR 63,61
Convertir moneda
Gastos de envío: EUR 15,16
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Guardar para más tarde

Sobre el libro

Detalles bibliográficos

Título: In Search of New Scales : Prince Edmond de ...

Editorial: Boydell & Brewer Ltd

Año de publicación: 2009

Encuadernación: Hardcover

Condición del libro: Brand new


In 1879, French amateur composer Edmond de Polignac (1834-1901) painstakingly devised a new way to create melodies and harmonies using a scale that alternated half and whole steps. This scale -- known today as octatonic -- was an important element in the music of Liszt and Rimsky-Korsakov, and would later figure prominently in the works of Ravel, Stravinsky, and many others. Sylvia Kahan, author of Music's Modern Muse: A Life of Winnaretta Singer, Princ esse de Polignac , here publishes the Prince's octatonic treatise for the first time -- in both the original French and in English translation -- and comments extensively on what the treatise, and the Prince's little-known comp ositions, reveal about musical thought in late nineteenth-century Paris. Given his aristocratic lineage, Polignac might seem an unlikely precursor of musical modernism, yet he was known as an advocate of "advanced ideas." Lat e in life, he married wealthy heiress Winnaretta Singer, who sponsored prestigious public concerts of her husband's bold works, interpreted by the greatest musical artists in Paris. Debussy and Fauré were admirers of Polignac's mu sic, especially the 1879 octatonic oratorio Pilate livre le Christ (Pontius Pilate Hands Christ Over). Marcel Proust lauded his compositions and the "essence of genius of their author." In Search of New Scales i s based on bibliographic material in private archives, as well as letters and other documents in the Bibliothèque Nationale de France. Sylvia Kahan's new book will become a permanent point of reference for all future studies of po st-Romantic and twentieth-century composition. Sylvia Kahan is Professor of Music at the Graduate Center and College of Staten Island, City University of New York. Her previous book, Music's Modern Muse, was publ ished by the University of Rochester Press in hardcover and paperback. N° de ref. de la librería 8557

Librería y condiciones de venta

Opciones de pago

Esta librería acepta las siguientes opciones de pago:

  • American Express
  • Carte Bleue
  • MasterCard
  • Visa

[Buscar en el catálogo de esta librería]

[Todos los libros de esta librería]

[Hacer una pregunta a la librería]

Librería: Boydell & Brewer
Dirección: Martlesham, Reino Unido

Librería en AbeBooks desde: 3 de julio de 2001
Valoración librería: Valoración 1 estrella

Condiciones de venta:

Terms of Sale:
We can accept Mastercard, Visa, and Switch credit cards. We can only accept cheques from customers within the UK.

Returns. If you are not happy with the goods you receive from us, you are entitled to return them, provided you notify us within seven days of receipt. We will normally allow you to return them after this period, but this is at our discretion.

Condiciones de envío:

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

Please note that print on demand titles (POD) will take up to four weeks to print and deliver.