Puccini's Turandot – the End of the Great Tradition (Paper)

William Ashbrook/ Harold Powers

Editorial: Princeton Univ Pr, 1991
ISBN 10: 0691027129 / ISBN 13: 9780691027128
Usado / Paperback / Cantidad: 0
Disponible en otras librerías
Ver todos  los ejemplares de este libro

Sobre el libro

Lamentablemente este ejemplar en específico ya no está disponible. A continuación, le mostramos una lista de copias similares.

Descripción:

208 pages. 9.25x6.00x0.50 inches. In Stock. N° de ref. de la librería

Sobre este título:

Valoración del libro brindada por Goodreads:
3,8 valoración promedio
(5 valoraciones)

Sinopsis:

Unfinished at Puccini's death in 1924, Turandot was not only his most ambitious work, but it became the last Italian opera to enter the international repertory. In this colorful study two renowned music scholars demonstrate that this work, despite the modern climate in which it was written, was a fitting finale for the centuries-old Great Tradition of Italian opera. Here they provide concrete instances of how a listener might encounter the dramatic and musical structures of Turandot in light of the Italian melodramma, and firmly establish Puccini's last work within the tradition of Rossini, Bellini, Donizetti, and Verdi. In a summary of the sounds, sights, and symbolism of Turandot, the authors touch on earlier treatments of the subject, outline the conception, birth, and reception of the work, and analyze its coordinated dramatic and musical design. Showing how the evolution of the libretto documents Puccini's reversion to large musical forms typical of the Great Tradition in the late nineteenth century, they give particular attention to his use of contrasting Romantic, modernist, and two kinds of orientalist coloration in the general musical structure. They suggest that Puccini's inability to complete the opera resulted mainly from inadequate dramatic buildup for Turandot's last-minute change of heart combined with an overly successful treatment of the secondary character.

From Library Journal: Puccini's final work, Turandot (1926), which was completed posthumously, is the last of the great Italian operas to enter the standard repertoire. Puccini had heard Stravinsky and Schoenberg by the 1920s, and he incorporated artistic trends of the day into his new opera. Ashbrook (humanities, Indiana State Univ.) and Powers (music, Princeton Univ.) examine the use of dissonance and exotic themes as well as Puccini's more melodic previous works in relation to the characters, with special emphasis on the two soprano-tenor duets. Turandot 's literary and musical roots, staging, and performance histories are investigated with convincing, richly detailed insights. Yet the many musical examples will be of little significance to readers not familiar with music scores and music theory. For collections supporting serious opera studies.
- James E. Ross, Seattle, Wash.
Copyright 1991 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Detalles bibliográficos

Título: Puccini's Turandot – the End of the Great ...
Editorial: Princeton Univ Pr
Año de publicación: 1991
Encuadernación: Paperback
Condición del libro: Brand New

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
Usado Cantidad: 1
Librería
Big Hearted Books
(Canton, MA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: Good. This item is in good condition. All pages and covers are readable. There are no stains or tears. Dust jacket is present if applicable. May contain small amounts of writing and/or highlighting. Spine and cover may show signs of wear. May not contain supplementary items such as CD's or DVD's. We ship within 1 business day. Nº de ref. de la librería 34FCHI001OXQ_ns

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 3,35
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Powers, Harold, Ashbrook, William
Editorial: Princeton University Press (1991)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
Usado Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
HPB-Diamond
(Dallas, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Princeton University Press, 1991. Paperback. Estado de conservación: Good. Item may show signs of shelf wear. Pages may include limited notes and highlighting. Includes supplemental or companion materials if applicable. Access codes may or may not work. Connecting readers since 1972. Customer service is our top priority. Nº de ref. de la librería S_202943764

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 4,16
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,53
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Ashbrook, William
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
Usado Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Bacobooks
(Los Alamitos, CA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Paperback. Estado de conservación: Very Good. First Edit. Nº de ref. de la librería S-196-151

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 3,43
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,37
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Powers, Harold, Ashbrook, William
Editorial: Princeton University Press (1991)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
Usado Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
HPB-Ruby
(Dallas, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Princeton University Press, 1991. Paperback. Estado de conservación: Good. Item may show signs of shelf wear. Pages may include limited notes and highlighting. Includes supplemental or companion materials if applicable. Access codes may or may not work. Connecting readers since 1972. Customer service is our top priority. Nº de ref. de la librería S_201360481

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 5,21
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,53
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

William Ashbrook; Harold Powers
Editorial: Princeton University Press (1991)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
Usado Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Princeton University Press, 1991. Paperback. Estado de conservación: Used: Good. Nº de ref. de la librería SONG0691027129

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 6,17
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,21
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

William Ashbrook, Harold Powers
Editorial: Princeton University Press April 1991 (1991)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
Usado Paper Back Cantidad: 1
Librería
Dunaway Books
(St Louis, MO, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Princeton University Press April 1991, 1991. Paper Back. Estado de conservación: Good. Nº de ref. de la librería 171467

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 7,66
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,38
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Ashbrook, William & Powers, Harold
Editorial: Princeton University Press, Princeton NJ (1991)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
Usado Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Chequamegon Books
(Washburn, WI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Princeton University Press, Princeton NJ, 1991. Paperback. Estado de conservación: Near Fine. Princeton Studies in Opera series. "provides concrete instances of how a listener might encounter the dramatic and musical structures of Turandot in light of the Italian melodramma, and firmly establishes Puccini's last work within the tradition of Rossini, Bellini, Donizeti, and Verdi." 193 pages Size: 6 x 9 ". Nº de ref. de la librería 11387

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 8,69
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,80
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Ashbrook, William & Harold Powers
Editorial: Princeton University Press (1991)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
Usado Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Mahler Books
(PFLUGERVILLE, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Princeton University Press, 1991. Paperback. Estado de conservación: Very Good. This book is in very good condition; no remainder marks. It does have some cover shelfwear. Inside pages are clean. ; Princeton Studies in Opera; 8.90 X 6.20 X 0.70 inches; 193 pages. Nº de ref. de la librería 101413-084-008

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 10,39
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,37
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Ashbrook, William; Powers, Harold
Editorial: Princeton University Press, Princeton, NJ (1991)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
Usado Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Book Booth
(Berea, OH, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Princeton University Press, Princeton, NJ, 1991. Paperback. Estado de conservación: Good. Text clean & bright; binding tight; minor wear to covers. 193 pages. Size: 6" x 9". Nº de ref. de la librería s148-045393

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 10,43
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,80
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Ashbrook, William; Harold Powers
Editorial: Princeton University Press (1991)
ISBN 10: 0691027129 ISBN 13: 9780691027128
Usado Soft Cover Primera edición Cantidad: 1
Librería
W. Lamm
(Los Angeles, CA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Princeton University Press, 1991. Soft Cover. Estado de conservación: Near Fine. First Edition. Tight, clean and crisp. A soft crease to top right corner, otherwise an excellent copy. No inscriptions. No remainder mark. Not ex-library. Almost As New. ; 0.7 x 8.9 x 6.2 Inches; 208 pages. Nº de ref. de la librería 14552

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 10,87
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,37
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras 26 copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda