Imagen del editor

Hausfrau

Essbaum, Jill Alexander

Editorial: Random House, 2015
ISBN 10: 0812997530 / ISBN 13: 9780812997538
Nuevos / Hardcover / Cantidad: 2
Librería: Evanston Editions (Spring Green, WI, Estados Unidos de America)
Disponible en otras librerías
Ver todos  los ejemplares de este libro
Añadir al carrito
Precio recomendado:
Precio: EUR 47,87
Convertir moneda
Gastos de envío: EUR 3,72
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Guardar para más tarde

Sobre el libro

Detalles bibliográficos


Título: Hausfrau

Editorial: Random House

Año de publicación: 2015

Encuadernación: Hardcover

Condición del libro: New

Condición de la sobrecubierta: New

Ejemplar firmado: Signed by Author(s)

Edición: 1st Edition

Descripción:

Brand new, unread copy of first edition, first printing. Signed by author on title page. Mint condition. N° de ref. de la librería SG1487

Sobre este título:

Valoración del libro brindada por GoodReads:
3,26 valoración promedio
(11.100 valoraciones)

Sinopsis: ONE OF THE HUFFINGTON POST?S MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2015

For readers of Claire Messud and Mary Gaitskill comes a striking debut novel of marriage, fidelity, sex, and morality, featuring a fascinating heroine who struggles to live a life with meaning.

 
Hausfrau
haus·frau \haus-frau\ n 1: Origin: German.
Housewife, homemaker. 2: A married woman. 3: A novel by jill alexander essbaum
 
Anna was a good wife, mostly.
 
Anna Benz, an American in her late thirties, lives with her Swiss husband, Bruno?a banker?and their three young children in a postcard-perfect suburb of Zürich. Though she leads a comfortable, well-appointed life, Anna is falling apart inside. Adrift and increasingly unable to connect with the emotionally unavailable Bruno or even with her own thoughts and feelings, Anna tries to rouse herself with new experiences: German language classes, Jungian analysis, and a series of sexual affairs she enters with an ease that surprises even her.
 
But Anna can?t easily extract herself from these affairs. When she wants to end them, she finds it?s difficult. Tensions escalate, and her lies start to spin out of control. Having crossed a moral threshold, Anna will discover where a woman goes when there is no going back.
 
Intimate, intense, and written with the precision of a Swiss Army knife, Jill Alexander Essbaum?s debut novel is an unforgettable story of marriage, fidelity, sex, morality, and most especially self. Navigating the lines between lust and love, guilt and shame, excuses and reasons, Anna Benz is an electrifying heroine whose passions and choices readers will debate with recognition and fury. Her story reveals, with honesty and great beauty, how we create ourselves and how we lose ourselves and the sometimes disastrous choices we make to find ourselves.
 
Advance praise for Hausfrau
 
?A stunningly written, hauntingly paced book. Anna Benz has the weight of a classic heroine?isolated yet crowded?but she is utterly modern in Jill Alexander Essbaum?s hands. Reading Hausfrau is like staring at a painting that simultaneously seduces and disturbs. Even when you want to turn away, you find your feet are planted to the floor.? ?Sloane Crosley, author of I Was Told There?d Be Cake

?With an elegance, precision, and surehandedness that recalls Marguerite Duras?s The Lover and Anita Brookner?s Hotel du Lac, Jill Alexander Essbaum gives us this exquisite tale of an expatriate American wife living in Switzerland and her sexual and psychic unraveling. Hausfrau stuns with its confidence and severe beauty, its cascading insights into the uses of erotic life and the nature of secrets, the urgency of compulsion and the difficulty of freedom. This is a rare and remarkable debut.? ?Janet Fitch, #1 New York Times bestselling author of White Oleander
 
?I was mesmerized by this book. Hausfrau creates a complete, engrossing, and particular world where nothing is as easy as it should be, according to the hopeful stories we tell ourselves. It?s a corrective novel, taking character, destiny, and our choices as seriously as a novelist can.? ?Sheila Heti, author of How Should a Person Be?
 
?Hot damn, is Hausfrau a beautiful, heart-wrenching novel. It casts a spell that doesn?t stop working until that wonderful final line. Jill Alexander Essbaum has a seismic talent, and it shows on every page of her first novel. Just read this bad boy. Like right now.? ?Victor LaValle, author of The Devil in Silver

Sinopsis: NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER ? ?Sexy and insightful, this gorgeously written novel opens a window into one woman?s desperate soul.??People
 
Anna was a good wife, mostly. For readers of The Girl on the Train and The Woman Upstairs comes a striking debut novel of marriage, fidelity, sex, and morality, featuring a fascinating heroine who struggles to live a life with meaning??a modern-day Anna Karenina tale.?*

Anna Benz, an American in her late thirties, lives with her Swiss husband, Bruno?a banker?and their three young children in a postcard-perfect suburb of Zürich. Though she leads a comfortable, well-appointed life, Anna is falling apart inside. Adrift and increasingly unable to connect with the emotionally unavailable Bruno or even with her own thoughts and feelings, Anna tries to rouse herself with new experiences: German language classes, Jungian analysis, and a series of sexual affairs she enters with an ease that surprises even her.
 
But Anna can?t easily extract herself from these affairs. When she wants to end them, she finds it?s difficult. Tensions escalate, and her lies start to spin out of control. Having crossed a moral threshold, Anna will discover where a woman goes when there is no going back.
 
Intimate, intense, and written with the precision of a Swiss Army knife, Jill Alexander Essbaum?s debut novel is an unforgettable story of marriage, fidelity, sex, morality, and most especially self. Navigating the lines between lust and love, guilt and shame, excuses and reasons, Anna Benz is an electrifying heroine whose passions and choices readers will debate with recognition and fury. Her story reveals, with honesty and great beauty, how we create ourselves and how we lose ourselves and the sometimes disastrous choices we make to find ourselves.
 
Praise for Hausfrau

?Elegant, erotic . . . There is much to admire in Essbaum?s intricately constructed, meticulously composed novel, including its virtuosic intercutting of past and present.? ?Chicago Tribune
 
?For a first novelist, Essbaum is extraordinary because she is a poet. Her language is meticulous and resonant and daring.? ?NPR?s Weekend Edition
 
?We?re in literary territory as familiar as Anna?s name, but Essbaum makes it fresh with sharp prose and psychological insight.? ?San Francisco Chronicle

?Essbaum?s poignant, shocking debut novel rivets.? ?Us Weekly

?A powerful, lyrical novel . . . Hausfrau boasts taut pacing and melodrama, but also a fully realized heroine as love-hateable as Emma Bovary and a poet?s fascination with language.? ?The Huffington Post
 
?Imagine Tom Perrotta?s American nowheresvilles swapped out for a tidy Zürich suburb, sprinkled liberally with sharp riffs on Swiss-German grammar and European hypocrisy.? ?New York
 
?Brain-surgically constructed to fascinate you, entertain you, and then make you question what a life lived with meaning looks like?all with a sense of poetic discipline and introspection.? ?Los Angeles Magazine
 
?[ Hausfrau] is masterly as it moves toward its own inescapable ending.? ?Publishers Weekly (starred review)

? Madame Bovary meets  Fifty Shades of Grey.? ?Sunday Express (U.K.)

* Glamour (U.K.)

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Librería y condiciones de venta

Opciones de pago

Esta librería acepta las siguientes opciones de pago:

  • American Express
  • Carte Bleue
  • MasterCard
  • PayPal
  • Visa

[Buscar en el catálogo de esta librería]

[Todos los libros de esta librería]

[Hacer una pregunta a la librería]

Librería: Evanston Editions
Dirección: Spring Green, WI, Estados Unidos de America

Librería en AbeBooks desde: 7 de marzo de 2013
Valoración librería: Valoración 5 estrellas

Condiciones de venta:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed your mind about a book that you've ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business days.


Condiciones de envío:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.


Descripción de la librería: Home office.