Girl at War: A Novel

Novic, Sara

Editorial: Random House, 2015
ISBN 10: 0812996348 / ISBN 13: 9780812996340
Usado / Hardcover / Cantidad: 0
Disponible en otras librerías
Ver todos  los ejemplares de este libro

Sobre el libro

Lamentablemente este ejemplar en específico ya no está disponible. A continuación, le mostramos una lista de copias similares.

Descripción:

Signed new copy, opened only for signing. Dust jacket protected. N° de ref. de la librería

Sobre este título:

Valoración del libro brindada por Goodreads:
3,98 valoración promedio
(15.413 valoraciones)

Sinopsis: NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY BOOKPAGE, BOOKLIST, AND ELECTRIC LITERATURE · ALEX AWARD WINNER · LOS ANGELES TIMES BOOK PRIZE FINALIST · LONGLISTED FOR THE BAILEYS WOMEN’S PRIZE FOR FICTION

For readers of The Tiger’s Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl’s coming of age—and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war.


Zagreb, 1991. Ana Jurić is a carefree ten-year-old, living with her family in a small apartment in Croatia’s capital. But that year, civil war breaks out across Yugoslavia, splintering Ana’s idyllic childhood. Daily life is altered by food rations and air raid drills, and soccer matches are replaced by sniper fire. Neighbors grow suspicious of one another, and Ana’s sense of safety starts to fray. When the war arrives at her doorstep, Ana must find her way in a dangerous world.

New York, 2001. Ana is now a college student in Manhattan. Though she’s tried to move on from her past, she can’t escape her memories of war—secrets she keeps even from those closest to her. Haunted by the events that forever changed her family, Ana returns to Croatia after a decade away, hoping to make peace with the place she once called home. As she faces her ghosts, she must come to terms with her country’s difficult history and the events that interrupted her childhood years before.

Moving back and forth through time, Girl at War is an honest, generous, brilliantly written novel that illuminates how history shapes the individual. Sara Nović fearlessly shows the impact of war on one young girl—and its legacy on all of us. It’s a debut by a writer who has stared into recent history to find a story that continues to resonate today.

Praise for Girl at War

“Outstanding . . . Girl at War performs the miracle of making the stories of broken lives in a distant country feel as large and universal as myth.”The New York Times Book Review (Editor’s Choice)

“[An] old-fashioned page-turner that will demand all of the reader’s attention, happily given. A debut novel that astonishes.”Vanity Fair

“Shattering . . . The book begins with what deserves to become one of contemporary literature’s more memorable opening lines. The sentences that follow are equally as lyrical as a folk lament and as taut as metal wire wrapped through an electrified fence.”USA Today

“Gripping . . . Nović, in tender and eloquent prose, explores the challenge of how to live even after one has survived.”—O: The Oprah Magazine

“Powerful and vividly wrought . . . Nović writes about horrors with an elegant understatement. In cool, accomplished sentences, we are met with the gravity, brutality and even the mundaneness of war and loss as well as the enduring capacity to live.”San Francisco Chronicle

“Intimate and immense . . . a writer whose own gravity and talent anchor this novel.”The New York Times

“An important and profoundly moving reading experience.”—The National

“Remarkable.”—Julia Glass, The Boston Globe

“[A] powerful, gorgeous debut novel.”—Adam Johnson, The Week

“An unforgettable portrait of how war forever changes the life of the individual . . . a writer working with deep reserves of talent, heart, and mind.”—Gary Shteyngart, author of Super Sad True Love Story

About the Author: Sara Nović was born in 1987 and has lived in the United States and Croatia. She is a graduate of the MFA program at Columbia University, where she studied fiction and translation. She is the fiction editor at Blunderbuss Magazine and teaches writing at the Fashion Institute of Technology and Columbia University. She lives in Queens, New York.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Detalles bibliográficos

Título: Girl at War: A Novel
Editorial: Random House
Año de publicación: 2015
Encuadernación: Hardcover
Condición del libro: New
Edición: 1st Edition

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Novic, Sara
Editorial: Random House (2015)
ISBN 10: 0812996348 ISBN 13: 9780812996340
Usado Primera edición Cantidad: 1
Librería
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Random House, 2015. Estado de conservación: Good. 1st. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Nº de ref. de la librería GRP85662617

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 3,07
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Sara Novic
Editorial: Random House Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0812996348 ISBN 13: 9780812996340
Usado Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Green Earth Books
(Portland, OR, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Random House Publishing Group. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: Good. Light shelving wear with minimal damage to cover and bindings. Pages show minor use. Nº de ref. de la librería G0812996348I3N00

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 3,36
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Sara Novic
Editorial: Random House Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0812996348 ISBN 13: 9780812996340
Usado Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Random House Publishing Group. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: Very Good. Book has appearance of light use with no easily noticeable wear. Nº de ref. de la librería G0812996348I4N00

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 3,36
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Sara Novic
Editorial: Random House Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0812996348 ISBN 13: 9780812996340
Usado Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Sierra Nevada Books
(Reno, NV, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Random House Publishing Group. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: Very Good. Very good condition - book only shows a small amount of wear. Nº de ref. de la librería G0812996348I4N00

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 3,36
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Novic, Sara
ISBN 10: 0812996348 ISBN 13: 9780812996340
Usado Hardcover Cantidad: 1
Librería
Big Hearted Books
(Sharon, MA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Hardcover. Estado de conservación: Good. This item is in good condition. All pages and covers are readable. There are no stains or tears. Dust jacket is present if applicable. May contain small amounts of writing and/or highlighting. Spine and cover may show signs of wear. May not contain supplementary items such as CD's or DVD's. We ship within 1 business day. Nº de ref. de la librería 34FD1E0016DO

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 3,79
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

ISBN 10: 0812996348 ISBN 13: 9780812996340
Usado Cantidad: 2
Librería
Big Hearted Books
(Sharon, MA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: Good. This item is in good condition. All pages and covers are readable. There are no stains or tears. Dust jacket is present if applicable. May contain small amounts of writing and/or highlighting. Spine and cover may show signs of wear. May not contain supplementary items such as CD's or DVD's. We ship within 1 business day. Nº de ref. de la librería 34FD1E0016DO_ns

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 3,79
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

ISBN 10: 0812996348 ISBN 13: 9780812996340
Usado Cantidad: 1
Librería
New Legacy Books
(Hackettstown, NJ, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: VeryGood. Fast shipping and order satisfaction guaranteed. A portion of your purchase benefits charities and literacy groups!. Nº de ref. de la librería 0WOF8I0008IJ

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 1,31
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,99
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Sara Novic
Editorial: Random House
ISBN 10: 0812996348 ISBN 13: 9780812996340
Usado Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Hippo Books
(Toledo, OH, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Random House. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: GOOD. Gently used may contain ex-library markings, possibly has some minor highlighting, textual notations, and or underlining. Text is still easily readable. Nº de ref. de la librería 2783437986

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 4,62
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Novic, Sara
Editorial: Random House
ISBN 10: 0812996348 ISBN 13: 9780812996340
Usado Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Hawking Books
(Lake Arrowhead, CA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Random House. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: Very Good. 0812996348 Very Good Condition. Has some wear. Five star seller - Buy with confidence!. Nº de ref. de la librería Z0812996348Z2

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 5,28
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Novic, Sara
Editorial: Random House
ISBN 10: 0812996348 ISBN 13: 9780812996340
Usado Tapa dura Cantidad: 2
Librería
Campusbookexchange
(Richmond, VA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Random House. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: Very Good. 0812996348. Nº de ref. de la librería SKU1000715

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar usado
EUR 3,49
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,42
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras 20 copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda