Imagen del editor

How Fiction Works

Wood, James

4.398 valoraciones por Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0224079840 / ISBN 13: 9780224079846
Editorial: Jonathan Cape, London, 2005
Usado Condición: Fine (unused) Encuadernación de tapa blanda
Librería: Elizabeth's Bookshops (Fremantle, WA, Australia)

Librería en AbeBooks desde: 8 de marzo de 2001

Cantidad: 1

Comprar usado
Precio: EUR 9,94 Convertir moneda
Gastos de envío: EUR 29,82 De Australia a Estados Unidos de America Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío
Añadir al carrito

Descripción

"In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel, How Fiction Works is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism, and style. In his first full-length book of criticism, one of the most prominent critics of our time takes the machinery of story-telling apart to ask a series of fundamental questions: What do we mean when we say we 'know' a fictional character? What constitutes a 'telling' detail? When is a metaphor successful? Is realism realistic? Why do most endings of novels disappoint? Wood ranges widely, from Homer to Beatrix Potter, from the Bible to John Le Carre, and his book is both a study of the techniques of fiction-making and an alternative history of the novel. Playful and profound, it incisively sums up two decades of bold, often controversial, and now classic critical work, and will be enlightening to writers, readers, and anyone interested in what happens on the page." pp. 194 #0416 Elizabeth's Bookshops have been one of Australia's premier independent book dealers since 1973. Elizabeth's family-owned business operates four branches in Perth CBD, Fremantle (WA), and Newtown (NSW). All orders are dispatched within 24 hours from our Fremantle Warehouse. All items can be viewed at Elizabeth's Bookshop Warehouse, 23 Queen Victoria Street, Fremantle WA). N° de ref. de la librería 11358

Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Detalles bibliográficos

Título: How Fiction Works

Editorial: Jonathan Cape, London

Año de publicación: 2005

Encuadernación: Softcover

Condición del libro:Fine (unused)

Acerca de

Sinopsis:

In the tradition of E.M. Forster's 'Aspects of the Novel' and Milan Kundera's 'The Art of the Novel', 'How Fiction Works' is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism, and style.

Review:

Amazon Best of the Month, July 2008: The first thing you'll notice about How Fiction Works is its size. At 252 pages, it's a marvel of economy for a book that asks such a huge question and right away you'll want to know (as you might at the start of a new novel) what the author has in store. James Wood takes only his own bookshelves as his literary terrain for this study, and that in itself is the most delightful gift: he joins his audience as a reader, citing his chosen texts judiciously--ranging from Henry James (from whom he takes the best epigraph to a book I've ever read) to Nabokov, Joyce, Updike, and more--to explore not just how fiction works, mechanically speaking, but to reflect on how a novelist's choices make us feel that a novel ultimately works ... or doesn't. Wood remarks that you have to "read enough literature to be taught by it how to read it." His terrific bibliography will surely be a boon to anyone's education, but it's his masterful writing that you'll want to keep reading over the course of your life. --Anne Bartholomew

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Descripción de la librería

Elizabeth's Bookshops were established in 1973 and are one of Australia's largest secondhand bookdealers with 3 branches in Western Australia (Perth City, Subiaco and Fremantle) and 2 branches in Sydney (Sydney CBD and Newtown). We are General Secondhand & Discount Booksellers. We stock over 250,000 books. Our website base is at 23 Queen Victoria Street, Fremantle WA 6160 Australia.

Ver la página web de la librería

Condiciones de venta:

We accept Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Diner's Card.
We are happy to answer enquiries re. postage costs, condition details, etc. prior to confirming order.
Prices quoted are plus postage.
DOMESTIC: Courier or "RED PARCEL POST" (unless "Express Post/ Overnight" is requested).
INTERNATIONAL: "AIR MAIL"
If books fall outside standard weight range, we will advise postage
for approval before charging credit card. Books dispatched within 24 hours of payment received.

Condiciones de envío:

POSTAGE & PACKING DOMESTIC (Australia): Standard service (Default): Courier (1 - 3 days) or Red Parcel Post (7 - 12 days). Rates: From A$9.90 (500g) to A$ 13.50(3kgs) Priority Service: Courier or Express Post (delivery 1-3 days) From A$15.00 (500g) POSTAGE & PACKING INTERNATIONAL: Airmail(Default): Airmail ( 5 - 14 days) To US$30.00 (Up to 999g) For items outside this range, we will advise cost of postage for your approval before processing order. Note: Many hardcover books may exceed the ABE international standard postage rate. We will advise you re cost before processing your order.

Todos los libros de esta librería

Métodos de pago
aceptados por la librería

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue

Dinero en Efectivo PayPal Transferencia Bancaria