Imagen del editor

The Fallen Nightingale

Milton, John W.

0 valoraciones por Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1592980716 / ISBN 13: 9781592980710
Editorial: Beaver's Pond Press, Inc., Edina, Minnesota, 2004
Condición: Fine Encuadernación de tapa dura
Librería: Glued To The Tube Books (Minneapolis, MN, Estados Unidos de America)

Librería en AbeBooks desde: 13 de noviembre de 2002

Cantidad: 1

Comprar usado
Precio: EUR 59,05 Convertir moneda
Gastos de envío: EUR 3,61 A Estados Unidos de America Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío
Añadir al carrito

Descripción

"THE FALLEN ANGEL is a luminous work, infused with a historian's exactitude, conjuring up the cultural essence of Barcelona, and taking the reader from the coast of northeastern Spain to Paris, new York, Washington, and London. Milton's novel is a feast for lovers of art, music, biography, and history. Yet it has all the stuff of a potboiler: intrigue, romance and affairs, dynamic dialogue, disease and death, dalliances of the rich and famous, storms at sea, and the disasters of war." this book has 594 pages. The book is a SIGNED AND DATED copy from the author, John W. Milton. In addition, the author has made a notation indicating that this particular copy is No. 11 of the FIRST EDITION. N° de ref. de la librería 034315

Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Detalles bibliográficos

Título: The Fallen Nightingale

Editorial: Beaver's Pond Press, Inc., Edina, Minnesota

Año de publicación: 2004

Encuadernación: Cloth

Condición del libro:Fine

Condición de la sobrecubierta: Fine

Ejemplar firmado: Signed by Author

Edición: First Printing

Acerca de

Sinopsis:

History and fiction merge seamlessly in The Fallen Nightingale, the story of pianist Enrique Granados, whose musical genius is now being rediscovered after nearly a century of obscurity. Dreaming of a time when his talent will be recognized, Granados endures years of frustration, betrayal, rejection and serious illness. Along the way, he meets a legendary opera tenor and amateur artist, a gourmand army general who saves Paris from the German invasion, a barefoot dancer with a legion of heartbroken suitors, an Austrian violinist wounded by charging Cossacks on the Russian front, a pianist who becomes Prime Minister of Poland, and a United States president who aspires to be the world's peacemaker -- and sings his national anthem off-key.

This riveting novel recaptures Granados' time in absorbing detail, drawn from Milton's intense six years of research in the countries and cities wherein Granados worked and lived. With a vivid sense of fin de siecle Europe, Milton takes the reader from Barcelona to Madrid, Paris, and London and on to New York and Washington. The novel is a feast for lovers of art, music, opera, biography, and history, and is spiced with the stuff of a potboiler: intrigue, romance, tragedy, dalliances of the rich and famous, storms at sea, and the devastation of World War I. Each book also includes a CD of Granados' music, performed by the internationally-renowned pianist, Douglas Riva.

Readers of literary fiction, biography or history will find themselves at the end of the Victorian Age, passing through the Modernist period and the upheaval preceding the Great War. The novel will be of special interest to devotees of piano and chamber music, to opera lovers and, for that matter, to virtually anyone moved by the power of music. As an armchair vacation or travel companion, it is sure to capture readers with the beauty, allure and magic of Granados' beloved homeland. In the tradition of The English Patient, Girl With A Pearl Earri

From the Publisher:

"The Fallen Nightingale" by John W. Milton won 1st place honors for Historical/Military Fiction in the 2004 Independent Publishers Book Awards (IPPY Award).

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Descripción de la librería

We sell online only.

Ver la página web de la librería

Condiciones de venta:

Billing available to established
accounts with payment upon receipt of book(s). 30 day net billing available to
accredited institutions. Returns are allowed with prior notification to dealer.
Return shipping charges paid by customer.To use credit card go thru abe check out.

Condiciones de envío:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

Todos los libros de esta librería

Métodos de pago
aceptados por la librería

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue

Giro Postal