Imagen del editor

Dead Meat

Coe, Sue

104 valoraciones por Goodreads
ISBN 10: 156858041X / ISBN 13: 9781568580418
Editorial: Four Walls Eight Windows, New York, 1996
Condición: Near fine Encuadernación de tapa blanda
Librería: Elk River Books (IOBA, RMABA) (Livingston, MT, Estados Unidos de America)

Librería en AbeBooks desde: 22 de agosto de 2014

Cantidad: 1

Comprar usado
Precio: EUR 27,90 Convertir moneda
Gastos de envío: EUR 4,25 A Estados Unidos de America Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío
Añadir al carrito

Descripción

Octavo (25.5cm), pp. 136. Full color illustrations throughout, essay by Alexander Cockburn. Signed and inscribed by Alexander Cockburn, "To Doug and Andrea" on front free endpaper. Cover shows some light rubbing and scratching, front head of spine shows a small bump. N° de ref. de la librería 12565

Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Detalles bibliográficos

Título: Dead Meat

Editorial: Four Walls Eight Windows, New York

Año de publicación: 1996

Encuadernación: Paperback

Condición del libro:Near fine

Ejemplar firmado: Signed by Author(s)

Acerca de

Sinopsis:

A nationally prominent, politically oriented artist offers an unsparingly critical view of the meat industry in scores of illustrations, documenting the skewing, flaying, dismembering, castrating, debeaking, electrocuting, and decapitating of animals. Simultaneous. IP.

Review:

British artist Sue Coe is well known for her social and political paintings and illustrations, which appear regularly in such publications as the New York Times and the New Yorker. Her latest effort is the disturbing book Dead Meat, a visual record of Coe's visits to 40 slaughterhouses, cattle ranches, and hatcheries to document the grisly practices of the meat-packing industry. Although she was not allowed to photograph on the premises, she was permitted to draw and sketch, and much of this work is jarringly graphic. Incorporated with the artwork are her thoughts and observations laid out in diary form. Even if you don't agree with Coe's politics, this is social and political art at its most powerful, in the tradition of Goya, Daumier, and Rockwell Kent.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Descripción de la librería

Elk River Books is a partnership between poet Marc Beaudin and journalist Andrea Peacock. We opened our doors in 2011, and moved to our current location in Livingston's gallery district in 2014. We offer affordable, high quality books, fair trade journals, maps, note cards (many by local artists) and other literary gifts. The store specializes in works by collectible outdoor literature, books by regional authors, visual and literary arts, and western history and lore.

Ver la página web de la librería

Condiciones de venta:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the AbeBooks web sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed your mind about a book that you've ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business days. This does not affect your statutory consumer rights includ...

Más información
Condiciones de envío:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

Todos los libros de esta librería

Métodos de pago
aceptados por la librería

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue