Imagen del editor
The Children's Hour: Willett, Marcia

The Children's Hour

Willett, Marcia

564 valoraciones por Goodreads
ISBN 10: 059305119X / ISBN 13: 9780593051191
Editorial: Bantam Press, London, 2003
Condición: Very Good + Encuadernación de tapa dura
Comprar usado
Precio: EUR 16,30 Convertir moneda
Gastos de envío: EUR 9,62 De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío
Añadir al carrito

Ofrecido por

Beach Hut Books
Lingfield, Reino Unido

Valoración 5 estrellas

Librería en AbeBooks desde: 14 de febrero de 2003

Descripción

Signed by the author on title page without dedication. N° de ref. de la librería 016281

Cantidad: 1

Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Detalles bibliográficos

Título: The Children's Hour

Editorial: Bantam Press, London

Año de publicación: 2003

Encuadernación: Hardcover

Condición del libro: Very Good +

Condición de la sobrecubierta: Very Good +

Ejemplar firmado: Signed by Author(s)

Edición: First Edition

Acerca de

Sinopsis:

A glorious novel about half- forgotten memories and childhood secrets in the tradition of Rosamunde Pilcher Nest and Mina still live at Ottercombe, their beautiful old rambling childhood home in the depths of Devon. They came to the house before the war, when as small children they played with their sisters and brothers in the gardens and the woods and the nearby beach while their mother read them stories and their father visited at weekends. It was, in retrospect, an idyllic time, when tragedy seemed far distant. Now they welcome their children and grandchildren, and especially young Lyddie, their niece, who lives in Cornwall with her handsome husband Liam. But when their sister Georgie, now somewhat frail and forgetful, comes to stay with them, aspects of their past start to revisit them. For Georgie knows all their secrets, secrets which she wants to share...

From the Inside Flap:

Praise for Marcia Willett

The Children's Hour
--"Astute and deeply moving." -- The Bookseller (UK)
--"A novel which reminded me of L P Hartley's Eustace and Hilda trilogy. . . . a warm novel with echoes of the past and an endearing simplicity." -- Tim Manderson, Publishing News (UK) (special selection)

A Summer in the Country
--"Willett's first book published in the U.S., A Week in Winter (2001) was very popular with contemporary women's fiction consumers, and comparisons to Rosamunde Pilcher and Maeve Binchy abounded. Her second book will not disappoint her newly won fans. . . . a complex tale featuring many fully drawn characters, an engaging plot....vibrant characters, and [an] excellent depiction of the English countryside." --Booklist (starred review)
--"An intriguing relationship drama. . . . an insightful character study." --Midwest Book Review

A Week in Winter
--"Fans of Rosamunde Pilcher and Maeve Binchy will definitely applaud the introduction of such an enjoyable writer." --Booklist
--"A charming story...highly recommended for public libraries everywhere." --Library Journal
--"A Week in Winter has all the elements of a perfect summer book. . . it's thoroughly engrossing, with richly drawn characters, a mysterious locale, and a beautifully crafted plot . . . the perfect addition to your summer beach tote." --The Sun-Sentinel, Ft. Lauderdale, FL
--"Captivating. . . . Set in a wild Cornish landscape that will evoke for readers Rosamund Pilcher's The Shell Seekers, Willett is a true discovery." --Michelle Slung, Victoria Magazine
--"Like Rosamund Pilcher and Maeve Binchy, Willett creates such fully dimensional characters that readers feel as if they should phone or e-mail them to keep in touch." --Rocky Mountain News
--"A wonderful moving story of family and values set in the English countryside. It is very reminiscent of the novels of Pilcher and Binchy. I am so glad Ms. Willett is following in their footsteps!" --Marilyn Sieb, Books & Company

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Descripción de la librería

Ver la página web de la librería

Condiciones de venta:

Cheques and postal orders in £ sterling; Bankers drafts in sterling drawn on UK banks; international money orders; Paypal. Postage and packaging extra, at cost.

Condiciones de envío:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

Todos los libros de esta librería

Métodos de pago
aceptados por la librería

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue

Cheque