Imagen del editor

Borderland: A Midwest Journal

Quinney, Richard

0 valoraciones por Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0299174301 / ISBN 13: 9780299174309
Editorial: The University of Wisconsin Press, Madison, Wisconsin, 2001
Condición: Fine Encuadernación de tapa dura
Librería: Glued To The Tube Books (Minneapolis, MN, Estados Unidos de America)

Librería en AbeBooks desde: 13 de noviembre de 2002

Cantidad: 1

Comprar usado
Precio: EUR 47,43 Convertir moneda
Gastos de envío: EUR 3,59 A Estados Unidos de America Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío
Añadir al carrito

Descripción

"Watch closely, Richard Quinney reminds himself, participate, experience the mystery. And watching, we experience with him the wonders of the borderland between a remembered past and an ever-unfolding present, the extraordinary mysteries of ordinary life in a world comfortably situated in the middle of a vast, unknowable universe." This book has 191 pages and is illustrated throughout. The book is a SIGNED copy from the author, Richard Quinney. N° de ref. de la librería 031218

Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Detalles bibliográficos

Título: Borderland: A Midwest Journal

Editorial: The University of Wisconsin Press, Madison, Wisconsin

Año de publicación: 2001

Encuadernación: Cloth

Condición del libro:Fine

Condición de la sobrecubierta: Fine

Edición: First Printing

Acerca de

Sinopsis:

Watch closely, Richard Quinney reminds himself, participate, experience the mystery.  And watching, we experience with him the wonders of the borderland between a remembered past and an ever-unfolding present, the extraordinary mysteries of ordinary life in a world comfortably situated in the middle of a vast, unknowable universe.
To be a midwesterner is, for Quinney, to belong to a place, to a time, to a community, all of which he evokes in this physical, mental, and spiritual geography. In photographs handed down over the years and in those he has taken over a half-century, in reflections and anecdotes, forays into history and judicious quotations and observations from figures as varied as T. S. Eliot, Roland Barthes, and Bob Dylan, Quinney recreates the landscape of his life. Here, he conjures the reality of his Midwest—the land where his great-grandparents, fleeing famine in Ireland, settled to farm, and where in days past the Potawatomi hunted and fished; and the land where now, in later age, Quinney’s explorations intensify as he looks for—and finds—"a lifetime burning in every moment."
Equal parts memoir, geography, photo journal, and natural history, Borderland is a deeply felt exploration of what it means to be at home in a particular landscape. A nuanced literary evocation of place in the tradition of Aldo Leopold and Wallace Stegner, it leaves us with the gift Quinney promises himself: Once again the wonder.

About the Author:

Richard Quinney, professor emeritus of sociology at Northern Illinois University, is the author of Journey to a Far Place and For the Time Being.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Descripción de la librería

We sell online only.

Ver la página web de la librería

Condiciones de venta:

Billing available to established
accounts with payment upon receipt of book(s). 30 day net billing available to
accredited institutions. Returns are allowed with prior notification to dealer.
Return shipping charges paid by customer.To use credit card go thru abe check out.

Condiciones de envío:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

Todos los libros de esta librería

Métodos de pago
aceptados por la librería

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue

Giro Postal