Imagen del editor

The Blessings (Hardcover)

Elise Juska

2.098 valoraciones por Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1410472159 / ISBN 13: 9781410472151
Nuevos Condición: New Encuadernación de tapa dura
Librería: AussieBookSeller (SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)

Librería en AbeBooks desde: 22 de junio de 2007

Cantidad disponible: 1

Comprar nuevo
Precio: EUR 36,78 Convertir moneda
Gastos de envío: EUR 30,27 De Australia a Estados Unidos de America Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío
Añadir al carrito

Descripción

Hardcover. Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 348 pages. 0.522. N° de ref. de la librería 9781410472151

Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Detalles bibliográficos

Título: The Blessings (Hardcover)

Encuadernación: Hardcover

Condición del libro:New

Acerca de

Críticas:

"Several generations of the Blessings, a Philadelphia-based, Irish-American family, come beautifully to life in a deceptively simple tale that examines the foibles, disappointments and passions that tie family members together. . . The author brings a depth of understanding to the human condition, including in her descriptions of Abby's cousin Stephen, on the road to becoming a ne'er-do-well; her uncle Patrick, a successful eye doctor, contemplating infidelity; and Meghan coming to terms with her eating disorder . . . Despite these challenges, the Blessings rally round each other-whether that attention is wanted or not-and the reader leaves feeling lucky to have spent some time in their presence." ""Publishers Weekly" (starred review)""

"Juska explores the collective experiences, traditions and loyalties of a close-knit family . . . a multilayered, sympathetic account of its members' lives." ""Kirkus Reviews"""

"The Blessings are a family so real in all their sorrow, joy and complexity that they could be yours or mine. Juska's portrait of this close-knit clan is bursting with wise observations about the nature of love and belonging. I enjoyed every page." "J. Courtney Sullivan, "New York""Times"-bestselling author of "The Engagements" and "Maine"""

"In the tradition of Elizabeth Berg's and Alice McDermott's work, The Blessings is a knowing portrait of a sprawling Irish-American family in Philly across the last thirty years, in all their shared strength and separate weaknesses. Elise Juska is deft and tender, letting us get close to her characters in their most vulnerable moments. The ties that bind are never simple, and often painful, but as one daughter acknowledges, 'these are the hidden intimacies, the private exchanges, on which she builds her life.'" "Stewart O'Nan, author of Songs for the Missing and Emily, Alone""

"Elise Juska is so good at describing people, places, and moments that you not only picture them, you "feel" them." "Curtis Sittenfeld""

"In this absorbing novel, Elise Juska moves effortlessly among family members and across decades, covering tragedy and triumph, love and loyalty. I adored everything about this book and raced to finish it, only to turn the last page and long for more time with this large, complicated, close-knit family." "Jennifer Close, author of "Girls in White Dresses "and "The Smart One """

"Elise Juska, with a sharp and generous eye, charts the duality of family life in her novel-in-stories, "The Blessings. "Juska's characters, in their all-too-real efforts at self-discovery, remain home or travel the world, dabble with temptation or stay committed, reveal secrets or keep them; the one constant is their shared blood and history"." Each exquisitely layered story builds on top of the other, leaving the reader with a lasting portrait of what it means to be a part of a family in today's fractured world." "Siobhan Fallon, author of "You Know When the Men Are Gone"""

"We are in good hands with award-winning short story author Juska. She is a shrewd observer of human nature and has an outstanding ability to bring her characters to life on the page . . . this wonderfully readable work about family life will have you eagerly turning pages." ""Library Journal"""

"With each chapter, Juska takes readers into the life of a different family member, honoring the individuality that blossoms even amid the strong bonds of a family's deep love. She draws intimate and detailed sketches of each of these characters, but the ultimate portrait is of the Blessing family as a whole. This heartfelt tribute to the ups and downs of a large, devoted family is warm, uplifting, and recommended for readers from families of all sizes." ""Booklist"""

"Juska's emotionally resonant storytelling will remain with you long after turning the last page." ""Irish America"""

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Descripción de la librería

Ver la página web de la librería

Condiciones de venta:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed your mind about a book that you've ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business days.

Condiciones de envío:

Please note that titles are dispatched from our UK and NZ warehouse. Delivery times specified in shipping terms. Orders ship within 2 business days. Delivery to your door then takes 8-15 days.

Todos los libros de esta librería

Métodos de pago
aceptados por la librería

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue

PayPal Transferencia Bancaria