The Blessings (Hardcover)

Elise Juska

ISBN 10: 1410472159 / ISBN 13: 9781410472151
Usado / Hardcover / Cantidad disponible: 0
Disponible en otras librerías
Ver todos  los ejemplares de este libro

Sobre el libro

Lamentablemente este ejemplar en específico ya no está disponible. A continuación, le mostramos una lista de copias similares.

Descripción:

Hardcover. Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 348 pages. 0.522. N° de ref. de la librería

Sobre este título:

Valoración del libro brindada por Goodreads:
3,73 valoración promedio
(2.150 valoraciones)

Críticas: "Several generations of the Blessings, a Philadelphia-based, Irish-American family, come beautifully to life in a deceptively simple tale that examines the foibles, disappointments and passions that tie family members together. . . The author brings a depth of understanding to the human condition, including in her descriptions of Abby's cousin Stephen, on the road to becoming a ne'er-do-well; her uncle Patrick, a successful eye doctor, contemplating infidelity; and Meghan coming to terms with her eating disorder . . . Despite these challenges, the Blessings rally round each other-whether that attention is wanted or not-and the reader leaves feeling lucky to have spent some time in their presence." ""Publishers Weekly" (starred review)""

"Juska explores the collective experiences, traditions and loyalties of a close-knit family . . . a multilayered, sympathetic account of its members' lives." ""Kirkus Reviews"""

"The Blessings are a family so real in all their sorrow, joy and complexity that they could be yours or mine. Juska's portrait of this close-knit clan is bursting with wise observations about the nature of love and belonging. I enjoyed every page." "J. Courtney Sullivan, "New York""Times"-bestselling author of "The Engagements" and "Maine"""

"In the tradition of Elizabeth Berg's and Alice McDermott's work, The Blessings is a knowing portrait of a sprawling Irish-American family in Philly across the last thirty years, in all their shared strength and separate weaknesses. Elise Juska is deft and tender, letting us get close to her characters in their most vulnerable moments. The ties that bind are never simple, and often painful, but as one daughter acknowledges, 'these are the hidden intimacies, the private exchanges, on which she builds her life.'" "Stewart O'Nan, author of Songs for the Missing and Emily, Alone""

"Elise Juska is so good at describing people, places, and moments that you not only picture them, you "feel" them." "Curtis Sittenfeld""

"In this absorbing novel, Elise Juska moves effortlessly among family members and across decades, covering tragedy and triumph, love and loyalty. I adored everything about this book and raced to finish it, only to turn the last page and long for more time with this large, complicated, close-knit family." "Jennifer Close, author of "Girls in White Dresses "and "The Smart One """

"Elise Juska, with a sharp and generous eye, charts the duality of family life in her novel-in-stories, "The Blessings. "Juska's characters, in their all-too-real efforts at self-discovery, remain home or travel the world, dabble with temptation or stay committed, reveal secrets or keep them; the one constant is their shared blood and history"." Each exquisitely layered story builds on top of the other, leaving the reader with a lasting portrait of what it means to be a part of a family in today's fractured world." "Siobhan Fallon, author of "You Know When the Men Are Gone"""

"We are in good hands with award-winning short story author Juska. She is a shrewd observer of human nature and has an outstanding ability to bring her characters to life on the page . . . this wonderfully readable work about family life will have you eagerly turning pages." ""Library Journal"""

"With each chapter, Juska takes readers into the life of a different family member, honoring the individuality that blossoms even amid the strong bonds of a family's deep love. She draws intimate and detailed sketches of each of these characters, but the ultimate portrait is of the Blessing family as a whole. This heartfelt tribute to the ups and downs of a large, devoted family is warm, uplifting, and recommended for readers from families of all sizes." ""Booklist"""

"Juska's emotionally resonant storytelling will remain with you long after turning the last page." ""Irish America"""

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Detalles bibliográficos

Título: The Blessings (Hardcover)
Encuadernación: Hardcover
Condición del libro: New

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Juska, Elise
Publicado por Wheeler Publishing (2014)
ISBN 10: 1410472159 ISBN 13: 9781410472151
Antiguo o usado Cantidad disponible: 3
Librería
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Wheeler Publishing, 2014. Condición: Good. Lrg. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Nº de ref. del artículo: GRP84010849

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar usado
EUR 3,24
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Elise Juska
Publicado por Wheeler Publishing
ISBN 10: 1410472159 ISBN 13: 9781410472151
Antiguo o usado Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
OwlsBooks
(Toledo, OH, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Wheeler Publishing. Hardcover. Condición: VERY GOOD. Light rubbing wear to cover, spine and page edges. Very minimal writing or notations in margins not affecting the text. Possible clean ex-library copy, with their stickers and or stamp(s). Nº de ref. del artículo: 2624071186

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar usado
EUR 3,24
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Juska, Elise
Publicado por Wheeler Publishing (2014)
ISBN 10: 1410472159 ISBN 13: 9781410472151
Antiguo o usado Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Wheeler Publishing, 2014. Condición: Good. Lrg. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Nº de ref. del artículo: GRP96171538

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar usado
EUR 3,24
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Elise Juska
Publicado por Cengage Gale
ISBN 10: 1410472159 ISBN 13: 9781410472151
Antiguo o usado Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
ThriftBooks - Squared
(Dallas, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Cengage Gale. Hardcover. Condición: Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. The spine may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include previous owner inscriptions. An ex-library book and may have standard library stamps and/or stickers. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Nº de ref. del artículo: G1410472159I3N10

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar usado
EUR 3,54
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Elise Juska
Publicado por Wheeler Publishing Company (2014)
ISBN 10: 1410472159 ISBN 13: 9781410472151
Antiguo o usado Tapa dura Original o primera edición Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
First Class Used Books
(Rockaway Beach, MO, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Wheeler Publishing Company, 2014. Hard Cover. Condición: Very Good. No Jacket. First Edition. 371 pages. Library stamp bottom of title page. There are no other marks or writingin the book. Corners are square. Spine is tight and there are no loose pages. Cover colors are bright. Size: 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Ex-Library. Nº de ref. del artículo: 007803

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar usado
EUR 10,65
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,41
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío