Imagen del editor

Beyond the Blue Horizon: How the Earliest Mariners Unlocked the Secrets of the Oceans (Hardcover)

Brian M. Fagan

183 valoraciones por Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1608190056 / ISBN 13: 9781608190058
Nuevos Condición: New Encuadernación de tapa dura
Librería: AussieBookSeller (SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)

Librería en AbeBooks desde: 22 de junio de 2007

Cantidad: 1

Comprar nuevo
Precio recomendado: 28.00
Precio: EUR 31,46 Convertir moneda
Gastos de envío: EUR 31,52 De Australia a Estados Unidos de America Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío
Añadir al carrito

Descripción

Hardcover. Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 336 pages. 0.513. N° de ref. de la librería 9781608190058

Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Detalles bibliográficos

Título: Beyond the Blue Horizon: How the Earliest ...

Encuadernación: Hardcover

Condición del libro:New

Acerca de

Sinopsis:

In Beyond the Blue Horizon, archaeologist and historian Brian Fagan tackles his richest topic yet: the enduring quest to master the oceans, the planet's most mysterious terrain. We know the tales of Columbus and Captain Cook, yet much earlier mariners made equally bold and world-changing voyages. From the moment when ancient Polynesians first dared to sail beyond the horizon, Fagan vividly explains how our mastery of the oceans changed the course of human history.

What drove humans to risk their lives on open water? How did early sailors unlock the secrets of winds, tides, and the stars they steered by? What were the earliest ocean crossings like? With compelling detail, Fagan reveals how seafaring evolved so that the forbidding realms of the sea gods were transformed from barriers into a nexus of commerce and cultural exchange. From bamboo rafts in the Java Sea to triremes in the Aegean, from Norse longboats to sealskin kayaks in Alaska, Fagan crafts a captivating narrative of humanity's urge to challenge the unknown and seek out distant shores. Beyond the Blue Horizon will enthrall readers who enjoyed Dava Sobel's Longitude, Simon Winchester's Atlantic, and Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs, and Steel.

About the Author:

Brian Fagan is emeritus professor of anthropology at the University of California, Santa Barbara. He is the author of Elixir, the Los Angeles Times bestseller Cro-Magnon, and the New York Times bestseller The Great Warming, and many other books, including Fish on Friday, The Long Summer, and The Little Ice Age. He has decades of experience at sea and is the author of several titles for sailors, including the widely praised Cruising Guide to Central and Southern California.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Descripción de la librería

Ver la página web de la librería

Condiciones de venta:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed your mind about a book that you've ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business days.

Condiciones de envío:

Please note that titles are dispatched from our UK and NZ warehouse. Delivery times specified in shipping terms. Orders ship within 2 business days. Delivery to your door then takes 8-15 days.

Todos los libros de esta librería

Métodos de pago
aceptados por la librería

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue

PayPal Transferencia Bancaria