Imagen del editor

Benjamin Kidd: Portrait of a Social Darwinist.

CROOK, D. P.:

ISBN 10: 0521258049 / ISBN 13: 9780521258043
Editorial: Cambridge, etc.: Cambridge University Press, 1984., 1984
Usado Condición: Near Fine Encuadernación de tapa dura
Librería: Ted Kottler, Bookseller (Redondo Beach, CA, Estados Unidos de America)

Librería en AbeBooks desde: 5 de enero de 2002

Cantidad disponible: 1

Comprar usado
Precio: EUR 29,59 Convertir moneda
Gastos de envío: EUR 5,34 A Estados Unidos de America Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío
Añadir al carrito

Descripción

Frontispiece, vii, 460 pp. Original cloth. Near Fine, in near fine dust jacket. N° de ref. de la librería 22284

Detalles bibliográficos

Título: Benjamin Kidd: Portrait of a Social ...

Editorial: Cambridge, etc.: Cambridge University Press, 1984.

Año de publicación: 1984

Encuadernación: Hardcover

Condición del libro:Near Fine

Condición de la sobrecubierta: Near Fine

Edición: 1st Edition

Acerca de

Sinopsis:

This is an intellectual biography of Benjamin Kidd, a leading Social Darwinist in the years before World War I, and a social prophet in the tradition of Comte and Spencer.

Reseña del editor:

This is an intellectual biography of Benjamin Kidd, a leading Social Darwinist in the years before World War I, and a social prophet in the tradition of Comte and Spencer. His first book Social Evolution, published in 1894, was an immediate and enormous success around the world. In it, Kidd developed a collectivist form of Social Darwinism in tune with the values of Progressivism in America and the 'new liberalism' in Britain. By many it was regarded as the basis for a properly scientific sociology, and the combination of its claims to scientific methodology, with an emphasis on non-rational forces as the agents of progress accurately caught the temper of its times. Launched on his career as a writer, Kidd's subsequent books and journalism continued to exercise extraordinary influence. His 'social imperialism', linking a bio-political defence of empire with a programme of social reform, won currency in the Anglo-American world at a time of expansionary fervour.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Descripción de la librería

Ver la página web de la librería

Condiciones de venta:

CREDIT CARD ORDERS MAY ONLY BE ACCEPTED ON BEHALF OF ABE. Personal/bank/traveler's checks (made payable to Ted Kottler), money orders, international money orders are fine. All books are First Editions, in original cloth bindings, and in Very Good or better condition, unless otherwise noted. Returns: with prior notice and within 10 days. I am always interested in purchasing First Editions of scholarly, hardcover books in the history of science and the history of medicine, as well as First Edition...

Más información
Condiciones de envío:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

Todos los libros de esta librería

Métodos de pago
aceptados por la librería

Visa Mastercard American Express Carte Bleue

Cheque Giro Postal Dinero en Efectivo Letra de Cambio