Science Fiction & Fantasy Joe Matt Spent

ISBN 13: 9781897299111

Spent

3,33 valoración promedio
( 653 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9781897299111: Spent

Spent by Joe Matt

Meet the original antihero Joe Matt: a master of a domain that includes more than twenty-three self-edited eight-hour-long videotapes of bootlegged pornography; a penny-pincher who never fails to make a dime off his friends; a chronic masturbator who doesn't understand why he never has a girlfriend; an obsessive collector frantically searching for the toys of his childhood; a callous son who throws out every gift his adoring mother gives him; a man so lazy that he urinates in a bottle rather than walk to the bathroom.

Everyone and everything is fodder for Matt's autobiographical comics, even having lost the love of his life for documenting his crush on her best friend in the pages of his legendary comic book series Peepshow. Matt's biggest target for ridicule, however, is himself.Wearing his neuroses and fetishes on his sleeve, he knows he is a jerk and does nothing to hide it. This humiliating honesty has made Matt a comedic genius who has been hilariously and shamelessly chronicling his pathetic existence for close to twenty years.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

JOE MATT was born in Philadelphia and now lives in Los Angeles. He is the author of Peepshow: The Cartoon Diary of Joe Matt, The Poor Bastard, and Fair Weather.

From Publishers Weekly:

After a long absence, Matt returns in all his absurdly conflicted, tortured glory. In the tradition of Bukowski and R. Crumb, his tale turns on his disgust with himself and all of humanity, and, like the greats, Matt entertains as he cringes. His paradoxically clean and cheerful art is as likable as his persona is unlikable in this tale of avarice, obsession and masturbation. The episodic story begins in a bookstore, where Matt swoops in on a book he knows his friend, fellow cartoonist Seth, would love; Matt buys the book and then sells it to Seth at an obscene markup. The action moves on to Matt's latest porn purchases, then stops by a coffee shop, where the author chews over his shortcomings with a third member of their cartoonist gang, Chester. Interposed are memories of childhood and scenes from Matt's room in a boarding house, where his laziness and disgust with his fellow humans lead him to urinate in the largest jars he can find in order to avoid using the communal bathroom. The title indicates that Matt's well aware of his entrenched personal issues—but this self-awareness never translates to any kind of epiphany or behavioral change. Those hoping for uplift will go wanting. (May)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Matt, Joe
Editorial: Drawn and Quarterly (2007)
ISBN 10: 1897299117 ISBN 13: 9781897299111
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Drawn and Quarterly, 2007. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. de la librería P111897299117

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 39,14
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,69
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Matt, Joe
Editorial: Drawn and Quarterly
ISBN 10: 1897299117 ISBN 13: 9781897299111
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Drawn and Quarterly. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 1897299117 New Condition. Nº de ref. de la librería NEW7.0807666

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 52,43
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,23
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Joe Matt
Editorial: Drawn and Quarterly (2007)
ISBN 10: 1897299117 ISBN 13: 9781897299111
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Drawn and Quarterly, 2007. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería DADAX1897299117

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 86,19
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Matt, Joe
Editorial: Drawn and Quarterly 2007-07-10 (2007)
ISBN 10: 1897299117 ISBN 13: 9781897299111
Nuevos Tapa dura Cantidad: 1
Librería
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Drawn and Quarterly 2007-07-10, 2007. Hardcover. Estado de conservación: New. 1. 1897299117 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Nº de ref. de la librería TM-1897299117

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 90,33
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío