Josephine W. Johnson Now In November (VMC)

ISBN 13: 9781860499166

Now In November (VMC)

3,66 valoración promedio
( 1.090 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9781860499166: Now In November (VMC)
Ver todas las copias de esta edición ISBN.
 
 
Críticas:

Very beautiful prose, simple yet bright with imagery and so distinctive that one could mistake no single paragraph for the work of any other writer. Johnson belongs in the tradition of Emily Bronte and Emily Dickinson (NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW)

It is a book that sings (NEW YORK HERALD TRIBUNE)

Perhaps it is her obvious radical sympathies that have kept Johnson's novel of dustbowl and depression from being a key text of 20th-century American literature, or perhaps it is that after this Pulitzer Prize-winning debut, Johnson struggled to meet expectations and failed. When working on the novel, she was aware of 'the great flood of books already published', but was confident that her story of how the Wall Street Crash and drought affect one family needed to be told. Her young narrator picks the turning points in her family's misfortunes without over-labouring her portents. The dynamics between parents and daughters and the squabble between siblings are as carefully laid out as the ill omens, such as the shooting of a family dog. Johnson evokes the charms of a character poised on the brink of the adult world yet still bounded by childish concerns, and anchors her story firmly in a landscape that is equal to any of her characters (GUARDIAN UNLIMITED)

There is a kinship between Katherine Mansfield and Josephine Johnson (ELIZABETH HART)

Reseña del editor:

This unforgettable novel tells in shimmering language the story of a middle-class family driven into poverty by the Depression.

Three daughters struggle to survive with their parents as farmers, battling against the elements and trying to come to terms with their harsh, unresponsive father. The brief narrative movingly evokes the torment of isolated individuals driven by powerful, if unexpressed, feelings of love and hatred, and paints a harrowing picture of the Depression and Dust Bowl years.

Originally published in 1934, NOW IN NOVEMBER novel won the Pulitzer Prize for its 24-year-old author, and was acclaimed for its 'rare quality of timelessness'. Nearly seventy years later, it still speaks to the heart.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Josephine W. Johnson
Publicado por Virago Press Ltd (2002)
ISBN 10: 1860499163 ISBN 13: 9781860499166
Nuevo Paperback Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Virago Press Ltd, 2002. Paperback. Condición: New. book. Nº de ref. del artículo: M1860499163

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 28,85
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Johnson, Josephine W.
Publicado por Virago Press Ltd (2002)
ISBN 10: 1860499163 ISBN 13: 9781860499166
Nuevo Paperback Cantidad disponible: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Virago Press Ltd, 2002. Paperback. Condición: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. del artículo: P111860499163

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 29,58
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,63
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío