Vaddey Ratner In The Shadow Of The Banyan

ISBN 13: 9781849837583

In The Shadow Of The Banyan

4,04 valoración promedio
( 15.852 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9781849837583: In The Shadow Of The Banyan
Ver todas las copias de esta edición ISBN.
 
 
Críticas:

'In the Shadow of the Banyan is one of the most extraordinary and beautiful acts of storytelling I have ever encountered.... utterly heartbreaking and impossibly beautiful. There are some moments in this story that are among the most powerful in literature' - Chris Cleave, author of The Other Hand

'Often lyrical, a painful, personal record of Cambodia's holocaust.' - Kirkus, starred review

'An emotionally moving story... Ratner's contemplative treatment of her protagonist and the love shared among the family stands in stark contrast to the severe reality they faced each day to survive. Knowing that the story was culled from Ratner's experiences as a child brings a sense of immediacy to this heartrending novel likely to be appreciated by many readers.' - Library Journal

'In the Shadow of the Banyan is a truly important literary event' - Robert Olen Butler

'This stunning memorial expresses not just the terrors of the Khmer Rouge but also the beauty of what was lost. A hauntingly powerful novel imbued with the richness of old Cambodian lore, the devastation of monumental loss, and the spirit of survival' - Publishers Weekly, starred review

'How is it that so much of this bleak novel is full of beauty, even joy? ...What is remarkable, and honourable, here is the absence of anger, and the capacity seemingly infinite for empathy.' - New York Times

In the Shadow of the Banyan is a fascinating, moving work that offers a powerful leitmotif of optimism. Even when death is all about, there can be dreams, and these dreams stories, poems, legends, call them what you will may be precisely what one needs to survive while all that you hold dear is torn asunder. They saved Vaddey Ratner. Her dreams are now her gift to us - Sholto Byrnes, Independent on Sunday

'Historical breadth and a narrative momentum are the novel's greatest strengths.... As the great human drama unfurls in this sensitive and impassioned telling, it is impossible not to be moved by the spectre of famished victims in this ravaged land. In the tradition of novels such as Khaled Hosseini's The Kite Runner, In the Shadow of the Banyan is a compelling saga of a country during a troubled time little understood in the west... Ratner is a fearless writer, and the novel explores important themes such as power, the relationship between love and guilt, and class. Most remarkably, it depicts the lives of characters forced to live in extreme circumstances, and investigates how that changes them. To read In the Shadow of the Banyan is to be left with a profound sense of being witness to a tragedy of history' - Guardian 29/9

Ratner shows us the beauty of her culture and landscape as only a child can see it, bursting with colour and hope, in a devastating and powerful novel --Daily Mail, 18/10

'This is an extraordinary debut, telling a fictionalised version of the author s own experience as a young child caught up in the brutality of Cambodia s Khmer Rouge years. It s narrated from the point of view of Raami, who is seven when civil war shatters her privileged life. Enduring forced labour, starvation and the deaths of her relatives, Raami seeks to cling to her memories. Bringing a savage piece of history vividly to life, this story is as beautiful as it is heartbreaking' - Ceri Radford, Mail on Sunday --(Publishers Weekly, starred review)

In the Shadow of the Banyan is a fascinating, moving work that offers a powerful leitmotif of optimism. Even when death is all about, there can be dreams, and these dreams stories, poems, legends, call them what you will may be precisely what one needs to survive while all that you hold dear is torn asunder. They saved Vaddey Ratner. Her dreams are now her gift to us --Sholto Byrnes, Independent on Sunday --Publishers Weekly (starred review)

'The book largely stirred me and almost made me gasp for breath in most places. You will know why when you read the book and discover its power, the writer's ability to weave a heartfelt and yet hopeful story... A beautiful read. Be prepared though to cry a little' - Vivek Tejuja --IBNLive

'This stunning memorial expresses not just the terrors of the Khmer Rouge but also the beauty of what was lost. A hauntingly powerful novel imbued with the richness of old Cambodian lore, the devastation of monumental loss, and the spirit of survival' --(Publishers Weekly, starred review)

Reseña del editor:

For seven-year-old Raami, the shattering end of childhood begins with the footsteps of her father returning home in the early dawn hours bringing details of the civil war that has overwhelmed the streets of Phnom Penh, Cambodia's capital. Soon the family's world of carefully guarded royal privilege is swept up in the chaos of revolution and forced exodus. Over the next four years, as she endures the deaths of family members, starvation, and brutal forced labour, Raami clings to the only remaining vestige of childhood - the mythical legends and poems told to her by her father. In a climate of systematic violence where memory is sickness and justification for execution, Raami fights for her improbable survival. Displaying the author's extraordinary gift for language, In the Shadow of the Banyanis testament to the transcendent power of narrative and a brilliantly wrought tale of human resilience.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Otras ediciones populares con el mismo título

9781451657715: In the Shadow of the Banyan

Edición Destacada

ISBN 10:  1451657714 ISBN 13:  9781451657715
Editorial: Simon & Schuster, 2013
Tapa blanda

9781451657708: In the Shadow of the Banyan

Simon ..., 2012
Tapa dura

9781410452313: In the Shadow of the Banyan (Thorndike Reviewers' Choice)

Thornd..., 2012
Tapa dura

9781849837606: In The Shadow Of The Banyan

Simon ..., 1900
Tapa blanda

9781444817027: In The Shadow Of The Banyan

Charnwood, 2013
Tapa dura

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Vaddey Ratner
Publicado por Simon & Schuster UK (2012)
ISBN 10: 1849837589 ISBN 13: 9781849837583
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Simon & Schuster UK, 2012. Condición: New. A stunning, powerful debut novel set against the backdrop of the Cambodian War, perfect for fans of Chris Cleave and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie Num Pages: 336 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 237 x 162 x 30. Weight in Grams: 574. . 2012. Hardcover. . . . . . Nº de ref. del artículo: 9781849837583

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 14,79
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Irlanda a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Vaddey Ratner
Publicado por Simon & Schuster UK
ISBN 10: 1849837589 ISBN 13: 9781849837583
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Simon & Schuster UK. Condición: New. A stunning, powerful debut novel set against the backdrop of the Cambodian War, perfect for fans of Chris Cleave and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie Num Pages: 336 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 237 x 162 x 30. Weight in Grams: 574. . 2012. Hardcover. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Nº de ref. del artículo: 9781849837583

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 15,42
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Ratner, Vaddey
Publicado por Simon & Schuster UK (2012)
ISBN 10: 1849837589 ISBN 13: 9781849837583
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 5
Librería
WYEMART LIMITED
(HEREFORD, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Simon & Schuster UK, 2012. Hardcover. Condición: New. All items inspected and guaranteed. All Orders Dispatched from the UK within one working day. Established business with excellent service record. Nº de ref. del artículo: mon0000166270

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 15,97
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,52
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Ratner, Vaddey
Publicado por Simon & Schuster Ltd (2012)
ISBN 10: 1849837589 ISBN 13: 9781849837583
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Simon & Schuster Ltd, 2012. Hardcover. Condición: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. del artículo: P111849837589

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 40,81
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Vaddey Ratner
Publicado por Simon & Schuster Ltd (2012)
ISBN 10: 1849837589 ISBN 13: 9781849837583
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Simon & Schuster Ltd, 2012. Condición: New. book. Nº de ref. del artículo: M1849837589

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 72,31
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío