Elizabeth Moon Speed of Dark: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9781841491417

Speed of Dark: A Novel

4,01 valoración promedio
( 8.251 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9781841491417: Speed of Dark: A Novel

Lou is different to 'normal' people. He interacts with the world in a way they do not understand. He might not see the things they see, however, but he also sees many things they do not. Lou is autistic. One of his skills is an ability to find patterns in data: extraordinary, complex, beautiful patterns that not even the most powerful computers can comprehend. The company he works for has made considerable sums of money from Lou's work. But now they want Lou to change - to become 'normal' like themselves. And he must face the greatest challenge of his life. To understand the speed of dark. SPEED OF DARK is a powerful near-future thriller, the theme of which is both universal and intensely personal. It is dedicated to the author's own autistic son, and to other parents of autistic children, 'in the hope that they also find that delight in difference'. Find out more about this title and others at www.orbitbooks.co.uk

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Review:

Corporate life in early 21st-century America is even more ruthless than it was at the turn of the millennium. Lou Arrendale, well compensated for his remarkable pattern-recognition skills, enjoys his job and expects never to lose it. But he has a new boss, a man who thinks Lou and the others in his building are a liability. Lou and his coworkers are autistic. And the new boss is going to fire Lou and all his coworkers--unless they agree to undergo an experimental new procedure to "cure" them.

In The Speed of Dark, Elizabeth Moon has created a powerful, complex, and believable portrayal of a man who varies radically from what is defined as "normal." The author insightfully explores the nature of "normality," identity, choice, responsibility, free will, illness and health, and good and evil. The Speed of Dark is a powerful, moving, illuminating novel in the tradition of Flowers for Algernon, Forrest Gump, and Rain Man . --Cynthia Ward

From the Back Cover:

The Speed of Dark gives a stunning, insightful and openhearted look at the world through the eyes of a man with autism. After reading this book, you will think deeply on the question: What does ‘normal’ mean? Elizabeth Moon has written an outstanding testament to the unique gift every one of us has to share, exactly as we are, while also cheering us on to be all that we can be. Kudos to Ms. Moon for helping us to see with new clarity not only the mystery of autism, but also the wonder of it.”
–BARRY NEIL KAUFMAN
Author of Son-Rise and Happiness Is A Choice
Director of The Option Institute and
the Autism Treatment Center of America™

“[A] fine novel . . . I marvel at Elizabeth Moon’s achievement. With no shadow of sentimentality or easy romanticism, she shows us the core of autism . . . making us experience the anxiety and tension continually accompanying its autistic hero as he struggles to make sense of the world we so readily call normal.”
–CLARA PARK
Author of Exiting Nirvana: A Daughter’s Life with Autism

“Absolutely compelling . . . A fine novel! Elizabeth Moon takes us to a part of the human neighborhood that is at once enchanting and heartbreaking.”
–GREG BEAR
Author of Darwin’s Radio

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Comprar nuevo Ver libro

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America

Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Añadir al carrito

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Elizabeth Moon
Editorial: Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom (2002)
ISBN 10: 1841491411 ISBN 13: 9781841491417
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom, 2002. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Lou is different to normal people. He interacts with the world in a way they do not understand. He might not see the things they see, however, but he also sees many things they do not. Lou is autistic. One of his skills is an ability to find patterns in data: extraordinary, complex, beautiful patterns that not even the most powerful computers can comprehend. The company he works for has made considerable sums of money from Lou s work. But now they want Lou to change - to become normal like themselves. And he must face the greatest challenge of his life. To understand the speed of dark. SPEED OF DARK is a powerful near-future thriller, the theme of which is both universal and intensely personal. It is dedicated to the author s own autistic son, and to other parents of autistic children, in the hope that they also find that delight in difference . Find out more about this title and others at. Nº de ref. de la librería AA29781841491417

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,12
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Elizabeth Moon
Editorial: Orbit (2002)
ISBN 10: 1841491411 ISBN 13: 9781841491417
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 3
Librería
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Orbit, 2002. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Nº de ref. de la librería mon0000410466

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,36
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,17
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Elizabeth Moon
Editorial: Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom (2002)
ISBN 10: 1841491411 ISBN 13: 9781841491417
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Little, Brown Book Group, United Kingdom, 2002. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Lou is different to normal people. He interacts with the world in a way they do not understand. He might not see the things they see, however, but he also sees many things they do not. Lou is autistic. One of his skills is an ability to find patterns in data: extraordinary, complex, beautiful patterns that not even the most powerful computers can comprehend. The company he works for has made considerable sums of money from Lou s work. But now they want Lou to change - to become normal like themselves. And he must face the greatest challenge of his life. To understand the speed of dark. SPEED OF DARK is a powerful near-future thriller, the theme of which is both universal and intensely personal. It is dedicated to the author s own autistic son, and to other parents of autistic children, in the hope that they also find that delight in difference . Find out more about this title and others at. Nº de ref. de la librería AA29781841491417

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,83
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Elizabeth Moon
Editorial: Orbit (2002)
ISBN 10: 1841491411 ISBN 13: 9781841491417
Nuevos Tapa blanda Cantidad: 1
Librería
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Orbit, 2002. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería GH9781841491417

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,45
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,99
De Alemania a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Moon, Elizabeth
Editorial: Little, Brown Book Group (2002)
ISBN 10: 1841491411 ISBN 13: 9781841491417
Nuevos Tapa blanda Cantidad: 2
Librería
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Little, Brown Book Group, 2002. Estado de conservación: New. 2002. Paperback. A near-future SF thriller that is both page-turning and thought-provoking. Num Pages: 432 pages. BIC Classification: FL. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 178 x 109 x 27. Weight in Grams: 232. . . . . . . Nº de ref. de la librería V9781841491417

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,95
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Irlanda a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Moon, Elizabeth
Editorial: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN 10: 1841491411 ISBN 13: 9781841491417
Nuevos Tapa blanda Cantidad: 2
Librería
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Little, Brown Book Group. Estado de conservación: New. 2002. Paperback. A near-future SF thriller that is both page-turning and thought-provoking. Num Pages: 432 pages. BIC Classification: FL. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 178 x 109 x 27. Weight in Grams: 232. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Nº de ref. de la librería V9781841491417

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 12,07
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Elizabeth Moon
Editorial: Little, Brown 2002-11-07, London (2002)
ISBN 10: 1841491411 ISBN 13: 9781841491417
Nuevos paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Little, Brown 2002-11-07, London, 2002. paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería 9781841491417

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,19
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,28
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Elizabeth Moon
ISBN 10: 1841491411 ISBN 13: 9781841491417
Nuevos Cantidad: 2
Librería
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST1841491411. Nº de ref. de la librería ST1841491411

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 13,54
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Elizabeth Moon
Editorial: Orbit
ISBN 10: 1841491411 ISBN 13: 9781841491417
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 5
Librería
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Orbit. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Nº de ref. de la librería B9781841491417

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 6,20
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 7,58
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Elizabeth Moon
Editorial: Orbit (2002)
ISBN 10: 1841491411 ISBN 13: 9781841491417
Nuevos Tapa blanda Cantidad: 2
Librería
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Orbit, 2002. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería ria9781841491417_rkm

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,75
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,23
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda