The American Way of Eating: Undercover at Walmart, Applebee's, Farm Fields and the Dinner Table

3,57 valoración promedio
( 3.079 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9781439171950: The American Way of Eating: Undercover at Walmart, Applebee's, Farm Fields and the Dinner Table
Ver todas las copias de esta edición ISBN.
 
 

Book by McMillan Tracie

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Reseña del editor:

In the tradition of Barbara Ehrenreich’s Nickel and Dimed, an ambitious and accessible work of undercover journalism that fully investigates our food system to explain what keeps Americans from eating well—and what we can do about it.

Getting Americans to eat well is one of today’s hottest social issues; it’s at the forefront of Michelle Obama’s agenda and widely covered in the media—from childhood obesity to store brands trying to make their food healthier. Yet most Americans still eat poorly, and award-winning journalist Tracie McMillan wanted to know why. So, in 2009 McMillan went to work undercover in our nation’s food system alongside America’s working poor, living and eating off her wages, to examine how we eat.

McMillan worked on industrial farms in California, in a Walmart produce section outside Detroit, and at an Applebee’s kitchen in New York City. Her vivid narrative brings readers along to grueling work places, introduces them to her coworkers, and takes them home to her kitchen, to see what kind of food she (and her coworkers) can afford to buy and prepare. With striking precision, McMillan also weaves in the story of how we got here, digging deep into labor, economics, politics, and social science to reveal new and surprising truths about how America’s food is grown, sold, and prepared—and what it would take to change the system.

Fascinating and timely, this groundbreaking work examines why eating well in America—despite the expansion of farmer’s markets and eat local movements—is limited to the privileged minority.

Biografía del autor:

Tracie McMillan has written about food, poverty, and the politics of both for The New York Times, Harper’s Magazine, Mother Jones, Slate, Saveur and Gastronomica, among others. She received her BA in political science from New York University in 1999 and became the managing editor of the award-winning, independent magazine City Limits, where she won numerous awards and honors for her features on poverty and food.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Otras ediciones populares con el mismo título

9781439171967: The American Way of Eating: Undercover at Walmart, Applebee's, Farm Fields and the Dinner Table

Edición Destacada

ISBN 10:  1439171963 ISBN 13:  9781439171967
Editorial: Scribner Macmillan, 2012
Tapa blanda

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Tracie McMillan
ISBN 10: 1439171955 ISBN 13: 9781439171950
Nuevo Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
LVeritas
(Newton, MA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Condición: New. Gift Quality Book in Excellent Condition. Nº de ref. del artículo: 36SEQU001JUO

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,05
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,41
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

McMillan, Tracie
ISBN 10: 1439171955 ISBN 13: 9781439171950
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Sharehousegoods
(Milwaukee, WI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Hardcover. Condición: New. This is a brand new book! Fast Shipping - Safe and Secure Mailer - Our goal is to deliver a better item than what you are hoping for! If not we will make it right!. Nº de ref. del artículo: 1XGHD40003HG_ns

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,43
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,41
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Tracie McMillan
Publicado por Scribner (2012)
ISBN 10: 1439171955 ISBN 13: 9781439171950
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Scribner, 2012. Condición: New. book. Nº de ref. del artículo: M1439171955

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 16,26
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Tracie McMillan
Publicado por Scribner (2012)
ISBN 10: 1439171955 ISBN 13: 9781439171950
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Scribner, 2012. Hardcover. Condición: New. 1. Nº de ref. del artículo: DADAX1439171955

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 14,80
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,41
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

McMillan, Tracie
ISBN 10: 1439171955 ISBN 13: 9781439171950
Nuevo Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Tc Swiz
(Minneapolis, MN, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Condición: New. Nº de ref. del artículo: HN9620172002

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 19,80
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,41
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

McMillan, Tracie
Publicado por Scribner
ISBN 10: 1439171955 ISBN 13: 9781439171950
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Scribner. Hardcover. Condición: New. 1439171955 Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Nº de ref. del artículo: XM-1439171955

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 22,67
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,41
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

McMillan, Tracie
Publicado por Scribner (2012)
ISBN 10: 1439171955 ISBN 13: 9781439171950
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Scribner, 2012. Hardcover. Condición: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. del artículo: P111439171955

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 36,33
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

McMillan, Tracie
Publicado por Scribner
ISBN 10: 1439171955 ISBN 13: 9781439171950
Nuevo Tapa dura Cantidad disponible: 1
Librería
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Scribner. Hardcover. Condición: New. 1439171955 New Condition. Nº de ref. del artículo: NEW7.0606424

Más información sobre este vendedor | Contactar al vendedor

Comprar nuevo
EUR 43,97
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,26
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío