Project Itoh Harmony

ISBN 13: 9781421536439

Harmony

3,93 valoración promedio
( 890 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9781421536439: Harmony

In a perfect world, there is no escape

Reads L to R (Western Style). In a perfect world, there is no escape

In the future, Utopia has finally been achieved thanks to medical nanotechnology and a powerful ethic of social welfare and mutual consideration. This perfect world isn't that perfect though, and three young girls stand up to totalitarian kindness and super-medicine by attempting suicide via starvation. It doesn't work, but one of the girls--Tuan Kirie--grows up to be a member of the World Health Organization. As a crisis threatens the harmony of the new world, Tuan rediscovers another member of her suicide pact, and together they must help save the planet...from itself.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

Keikaku (Project) Itoh was born in Tokyo in 1974. He graduated from the Musashino Art University. In 2007, he debuted with Gakusatsu Kikan(Genocidal Organs), and took first prize of the “Best SF of 2007” in SF Magazine. He is also the author of Metal Gear Solid: Guns of the Patriots, a Japanerse-language novel based on the popular video game series. After a long battle with cancer, Itoh passed away in March 2009. Harmony was revised by Itoh while in the hospital, receiving treatment for the disease.

From School Library Journal:

Gr 9 Up-Itoh ups the dystopian-fiction ante considerably by including a backstory, main plot, and postcript, each of which is disturbing in its own way. In Japan, Tuan Kirie and her friends Miach Mihie and Cian Reikado are taught about a period called the Maelstrom during which nuclear bombs and diseases ran rampant and destroyed the country once known as the United States of America. A horror of disease has driven the older generation to remake society, replacing nation-states with smaller "admedistrations," organizational bodies that use nanotech "medicules" and societal pressure to ensure that each person is as healthy as possible. The three teenagers, led by Miach, attempt to use this technology to commit suicide and thus rob society of valuable resources-their own lives. Miach is successful but Cian reveals the plot and she and Tuan are saved. Thirteen years later, Tuan continues to rebel, even while she attains a high-level position in the international medical police corps. It is under this aegis that she investigates when Cian commits suicide (one of thousands, worldwide). During her search, Tuan discovers that there may be something even more repugnant than a world of perfectly healthy people. Itoh presents a future in which humanity willingly collaborates in its own subjugation to "medical correctness." Fans of Orwell and Westerfeld will find this novel intriguing.-Eric Norton, McMillan Memorial Library, Wisconsin Rapids, WI (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Itoh, Project
ISBN 10: 1421536439 ISBN 13: 9781421536439
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 2010. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería VS-9781421536439

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 6,44
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Itoh, Project
Editorial: Simon and Schuster
ISBN 10: 1421536439 ISBN 13: 9781421536439
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Simon and Schuster. Estado de conservación: New. Brand New. Nº de ref. de la librería 1421536439

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 6,87
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,98
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Project Itoh
Editorial: Viz Media, Subs. of Shogakukan Inc, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 1421536439 ISBN 13: 9781421536439
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Viz Media, Subs. of Shogakukan Inc, United States, 2010. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the future, Utopia has finally been achieved thanks to medical nanotechnology and a powerful ethic of social welfare and mutual consideration. This perfect world isn t that perfect though, and three young girls stand up to totalitarian kindness and super-medicine by attempting suicide via starvation. It doesn t work, but one of the girls--Tuan Kirie--grows up to be a member of the World Health Organization. As a crisis threatens the harmony of the new world, Tuan rediscovers another member of her suicide pact, and together they must help save the planet.from itself. Nº de ref. de la librería ABZ9781421536439

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,25
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Itoh, Project
ISBN 10: 1421536439 ISBN 13: 9781421536439
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 2010. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería IB-9781421536439

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 7,05
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Project Itoh
Editorial: Haikasoru (2010)
ISBN 10: 1421536439 ISBN 13: 9781421536439
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 4
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Haikasoru, 2010. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. de la librería 1421536439

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,04
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,69
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Itoh, Project
ISBN 10: 1421536439 ISBN 13: 9781421536439
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 18
Librería
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería 1015065

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 7,72
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Project Itoh
Editorial: Viz Media, Subs. of Shogakukan Inc, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 1421536439 ISBN 13: 9781421536439
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Viz Media, Subs. of Shogakukan Inc, United States, 2010. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the future, Utopia has finally been achieved thanks to medical nanotechnology and a powerful ethic of social welfare and mutual consideration. This perfect world isn t that perfect though, and three young girls stand up to totalitarian kindness and super-medicine by attempting suicide via starvation. It doesn t work, but one of the girls--Tuan Kirie--grows up to be a member of the World Health Organization. As a crisis threatens the harmony of the new world, Tuan rediscovers another member of her suicide pact, and together they must help save the planet.from itself. Nº de ref. de la librería ABZ9781421536439

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,25
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Itoh, Project
Editorial: Haikasoru
ISBN 10: 1421536439 ISBN 13: 9781421536439
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Haikasoru. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 1421536439 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Nº de ref. de la librería NATARAJB1FI767803

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,08
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Project Itoh
ISBN 10: 1421536439 ISBN 13: 9781421536439
Nuevos Cantidad: 5
Librería
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Estado de conservación: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Nº de ref. de la librería 97814215364390000000

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 12,16
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Itoh, Project
Editorial: Haikasoru
ISBN 10: 1421536439 ISBN 13: 9781421536439
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: 3
Librería
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Haikasoru. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 1421536439 BRAND NEW, GIFT QUALITY! NOT OVERSTOCKS OR MARKED UP REMAINDERS! DIRECT FROM THE PUBLISHER!|0.5. Nº de ref. de la librería OTF-Y-9781421536439

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,37
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda