The House at Riverton: A Novel

3,93 valoración promedio
( 80.776 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9781416550532: The House at Riverton: A Novel

The House at Riverton is a gorgeous debut novel set in England between the wars. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, it is the story of an aristocratic family, a house, a mysterious death and a way of life that vanished forever, told in flashback by a woman who witnessed it all and kept a secret for decades.

Grace Bradley went to work at Riverton House as a servant when she was just a girl, before the First World War. For years her life was inextricably tied up with the Hartford family, most particularly the two daughters, Hannah and Emmeline.

In the summer of 1924, at a glittering society party held at the house, a young poet shot himself. The only witnesses were Hannah and Emmeline and only they -- and Grace -- know the truth.

In 1999, when Grace is ninety-eight years old and living out her last days in a nursing home, she is visited by a young director who is making a film about the events of that summer. She takes Grace back to Riverton House and reawakens her memories. Told in flashback, this is the story of Grace's youth during the last days of Edwardian aristocratic privilege shattered by war, of the vibrant twenties and the changes she witnessed as an entire way of life vanished forever.

The novel is full of secrets -- some revealed, others hidden forever, reminiscent of the romantic suspense of Daphne du Maurier. It is also a meditation on memory, the devastation of war and a beautifully rendered window into a fascinating time in history.

Originally published to critical acclaim in Australia, already sold in ten countries and a #1 bestseller in England, The House at Riverton is a vivid, page-turning novel of suspense and passion, with characters -- and an ending -- the reader won't soon forget.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Review:

Amazon Best of the Month, April 2008: In her cinematic debut novel, Kate Morton immerses readers in the dramas of the Ashbury family at their crumbling English country estate in the years surrounding World War I, an age when Edwardian civility, shaken by war, unravels into the roaring Twenties. Grace came to serve in the house as a girl. She left as a young woman, after the presumed suicide of a famous young poet at the property's lake. Though she has dutifully kept the family's secrets for decades, memories flood back in the twilight of her life when a young filmmaker comes calling with questions about how the poet really died--and why the Ashbury sisters never again spoke to each other afterward. With beautifully crafted prose, Morton methodically reveals how passion and fate transpired that night at the lake, with truly shocking results. Her final revelation at the story's close packs a satisfying (and not overly sentimental) emotional punch. --Mari Malcolm

About the Author:

Kate Morton, a native Australian, holds degrees in dramatic art and English literature. She lives with her family in Brisbane, Australia.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Kate Morton
Editorial: Washington Square Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
pickabook
(san francisco, CA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Washington Square Press, 2009. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería mon0000172370

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 4,42
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Morton, Kate
Editorial: Washington Square Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Dionysos Books
(Arabi, LA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Washington Square Press, 2009. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. New item. May have light shelf wear. Nº de ref. de la librería 170528005

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,78
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Morton, Kate
Editorial: Simon and Schuster
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Simon and Schuster. Estado de conservación: New. Brand New. Nº de ref. de la librería 1416550534

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 7,33
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,98
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Morton, Kate
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 2009. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería VS-9781416550532

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 6,93
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Morton, Kate
Editorial: Washington Square Press 2009-03-03 (2009)
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: > 20
Librería
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Washington Square Press 2009-03-03, 2009. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Nº de ref. de la librería 9781416550532B

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 5,25
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 5,10
De Canada a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Morton, Kate
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 2009. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería IB-9781416550532

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 7,83
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Morton, Kate
Editorial: Washington Square Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
BegoraBooks
(Aurora, CO, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Washington Square Press, 2009. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. New paperback. Nº de ref. de la librería F9-RK8Q-XI4C

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 7,88
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Morton, Kate
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: > 20
Librería
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería 888936

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,29
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Kate Morton
Editorial: SIMON SCHUSTER, United States (2009)
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción SIMON SCHUSTER, United States, 2009. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. The House at Riverton is a gorgeous debut novel set in England between the wars. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, it is the story of an aristocratic family, a house, a mysterious death and a way of life that vanished forever, told in flashback by a woman who witnessed it all and kept a secret for decades. Grace Bradley went to work at Riverton House as a servant when she was just a girl, before the First World War. For years her life was inextricably tied up with the Hartford family, most particularly the two daughters, Hannah and Emmeline. In the summer of 1924, at a glittering society party held at the house, a young poet shot himself. The only witnesses were Hannah and Emmeline and only they -- and Grace -- know the truth. In 1999, when Grace is ninety-eight years old and living out her last days in a nursing home, she is visited by a young director who is making a film about the events of that summer. She takes Grace back to Riverton House and reawakens her memories. Told in flashback, this is the story of Grace s youth during the last days of Edwardian aristocratic privilege shattered by war, of the vibrant twenties and the changes she witnessed as an entire way of life vanished forever. The novel is full of secrets -- some revealed, others hidden forever, reminiscent of the romantic suspense of Daphne du Maurier. It is also a meditation on memory, the devastation of war and a beautifully rendered window into a fascinating time in history. Originally published to critical acclaim in Australia, already sold in ten countries and a #1 bestseller in England, The House at Riverton is a vivid, page-turning novel of suspense and passion, with characters -- and an ending -- the reader won t soon forget. Nº de ref. de la librería BZV9781416550532

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 11,85
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Kate Morton
ISBN 10: 1416550534 ISBN 13: 9781416550532
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
READERS PRIDE
(PLANO, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Paperback. Estado de conservación: BRAND NEW. NEW Book in Mint Condition -- Great DEAL !! Fast Shipping -- Friendly Customer Service -- Buy with Confidence!. Nº de ref. de la librería RP1416550534BN

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,53
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,36
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda