Fiction Peter Ackroyd The Lambs of London

ISBN 13: 9781400079582

The Lambs of London

3,16 valoración promedio
( 1.509 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9781400079582: The Lambs of London

From the author of Chatterton and Shakespeare: A Biography comes a gripping novel set in London that re-imagines an infamous 19th-century Shakespeare forgery. Charles and Mary Lamb, who will in time achieve lasting fame as the authors of Tales from Shakespeare for Children, are still living at home, caring for their dotty and maddening parents. Reading Shakespeare is the siblings’ favorite reprieve, and they are delighted when an ambitious young bookseller comes into their lives claiming to possess a ‘lost’ Shakespearea play. Soon all of London is eagerly anticipating opening night of a star-studded production of the play not knowing that they have all been duped by charlatan and a fraud.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

From the Inside Flap:

A tour de force in the tradition of Peter Ackroyd's Hawksmoor and Chatterton, a gripping novel of betrayal and deceit set in the teeming streets of 19th-century London.
At the centre of this intriguing, irresistible novel are the young Lambs: Charles, constrained by the tedium of his work as clerk at the East India Company, taking refuge in a drink or three too many while spreading his wings as a young writer, and his clever, adoring sister Mary, confined by domesticity, an ailing, dotty father and a maddening mother . . . Into their lives comes William Ireland, an ambitious 17-year-old antiquarian and bookseller, anxious not only to impress his demanding showman of a father, but to make his mark on the literary world. When Ireland turns up a document in the handwriting of Shakespeare himself, he takes Mary into his confidence - but soon scholars and actors alike are beating a path to the little bookshop in Holborn Passage.
Touching and tragic, ingenious, funny and vividly alive, this is Ackroyd at the top of his form in a masterly retelling of a 19th-century drama which keeps the reader guessing right to the end.

About the Author:

Peter Ackroyd (CBE) is a master of the historical novel: The Last Testament of Oscar Wilde won the Somerset Maugham Award; Hawksmoor was awarded both the Whitbread Novel of the Year and the Guardian Fiction Prize; and Chatterton was shortlisted for the Booker Prize. His most recent historical novels are The Clerkenwell Tales, The Trial of Elizabeth Cree, Milton in America, and The Plato Papers.

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Ackroyd, Peter
ISBN 10: 1400079586 ISBN 13: 9781400079582
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 2007. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería VR-9781400079582

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 5,94
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Peter Ackroyd
Editorial: Penguin Random House
ISBN 10: 1400079586 ISBN 13: 9781400079582
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Librería
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Penguin Random House. Estado de conservación: New. Brand New. Nº de ref. de la librería 1400079586

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 6,59
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 2,97
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Peter Ackroyd
Editorial: Anchor Books, United States (2007)
ISBN 10: 1400079586 ISBN 13: 9781400079582
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Anchor Books, United States, 2007. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. From the author of Chatterton and Shakespeare: A Biography comes a gripping novel set in London that re-imagines an infamous 19th-century Shakespeare forgery. Charles and Mary Lamb, who will in time achieve lasting fame as the authors of Tales from Shakespeare for Children, are still living at home, caring for their dotty and maddening parents. Reading Shakespeare is the siblings favorite reprieve, and they are delighted when an ambitious young bookseller comes into their lives claiming to possess a lost Shakespearea play. Soon all of London is eagerly anticipating opening night of a star-studded production of the play not knowing that they have all been duped by charlatan and a fraud. Nº de ref. de la librería BZV9781400079582

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 10,69
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Ackroyd, Peter
Editorial: Anchor
ISBN 10: 1400079586 ISBN 13: 9781400079582
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Anchor. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 1400079586 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Nº de ref. de la librería SWATI2132243677

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 8,09
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,39
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Peter Ackroyd
Editorial: Anchor Books, United States (2007)
ISBN 10: 1400079586 ISBN 13: 9781400079582
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
Book Depository hard to find
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Anchor Books, United States, 2007. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Reprint. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. From the author of Chatterton and Shakespeare: A Biography comes a gripping novel set in London that re-imagines an infamous 19th-century Shakespeare forgery. Charles and Mary Lamb, who will in time achieve lasting fame as the authors of Tales from Shakespeare for Children, are still living at home, caring for their dotty and maddening parents. Reading Shakespeare is the siblings favorite reprieve, and they are delighted when an ambitious young bookseller comes into their lives claiming to possess a lost Shakespearea play. Soon all of London is eagerly anticipating opening night of a star-studded production of the play not knowing that they have all been duped by charlatan and a fraud. Nº de ref. de la librería BTE9781400079582

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 14,37
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Peter Ackroyd
Editorial: Anchor (2007)
ISBN 10: 1400079586 ISBN 13: 9781400079582
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Anchor, 2007. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería M1400079586

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 15,45
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Ackroyd, Peter
Editorial: Anchor (2007)
ISBN 10: 1400079586 ISBN 13: 9781400079582
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 2
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Anchor, 2007. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Never used!. Nº de ref. de la librería P111400079586

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 30,01
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,69
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Ackroyd, Peter
Editorial: Anchor Books (2007)
ISBN 10: 1400079586 ISBN 13: 9781400079582
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Anchor Books, 2007. Paperback. Estado de conservación: Brand New. reprint edition. 213 pages. 8.00x5.25x0.75 inches. In Stock. Nº de ref. de la librería 1400079586

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 26,89
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 6,80
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Peter Ackroyd
ISBN 10: 1400079586 ISBN 13: 9781400079582
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
AussieBookSeller
(SILVERWATER, NSW, Australia)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción 2007. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Paperback. From the author of "Chatterton" and "Shakespeare: A Biography" comes a gripping novel set in London that re-imagines an infamous 19th-century Shakespeare f.Shipping may be from our Sydney, NSW warehouse or from our UK or US warehouse, depending on stock availability. 224 pages. 0.236. Nº de ref. de la librería 9781400079582

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 15,27
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 31,42
De Australia a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío