Shamim Sarif The World Unseen

ISBN 13: 9780956031600

The World Unseen

4,07 valoración promedio
( 1.586 valoraciones por Goodreads )
 
9780956031600: The World Unseen

In 1950's South Africa, free-spirited Amina has broken all the rules of her own conventional Indian community, and the new apartheid-led government, by running a café with Jacob her 'coloured' business partner. When she meets Miriam, a young wife and mother, their unexpected attraction pushes Miriam to question the rules that bind her and a chain of events is set in motion that changes both women forever. The World Unseen transports us to a vibrant, colourful world, a world that divides white from black and women from men, but one that might just allow an unexpected love to survive.

"Sinopsis" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

About the Author:

Shamim Sarif is a novelist, screenwriter and film director. She recently wrote and directed the motion picture adaptation of her own novel, The World Unseen. She is also the writer/director of the feature film, I Can't Think Straight, which is based on her novel of the same name. She is the author of the novel Despite the Falling Snow. She lives in London with her partner Hanan and their two children.

Review:

            It is an impressive debut. Sarif's story brings together the descriptive power of the novelist with the screenwriter's mastery of dialogue."
--The Times

        "I read The World Unseen at a gulp, so entrancing is it's style, so complete it's tale of love and betrayal, and so accurate it's depiction of the physical, social and political scene..."
--Johannesburg Star - Book of the Week

   "Sarif's elegant and understated debut eschews emotional fireworks, and offers an unusual insight into early apartheid . . . a novel that lives up to its title"
--The Times - Play

   "In the tradition of Vikram Seth, Sarif throws down a literary gauntlet that very few writers will be able to pick and return with any conviction." Pride

--Pride

   "This is a stylishly written work. Sarif is near faultless."
--India Weekly

"Sobre este título" puede pertenecer a otra edición de este libro.

Los mejores resultados en AbeBooks

1.

Sarif, Shamim
Editorial: Enlightenment Productions Ltd. (2001)
ISBN 10: 0956031609 ISBN 13: 9780956031600
Nuevos Cantidad: > 20
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Enlightenment Productions Ltd., 2001. PAP. Estado de conservación: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Nº de ref. de la librería IQ-9780956031600

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 9,06
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,37
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

2.

Sarif, Shamim
Editorial: Enlightenment Press 4/13/2010 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0956031609 ISBN 13: 9780956031600
Nuevos Paperback or Softback Cantidad: 10
Librería
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Enlightenment Press 4/13/2010, 2010. Paperback or Softback. Estado de conservación: New. The World Unseen. Book. Nº de ref. de la librería BBS-9780956031600

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 14,77
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

3.

Sarif, Shamim
Editorial: Enlightenment (2017)
ISBN 10: 0956031609 ISBN 13: 9780956031600
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 14
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Enlightenment, 2017. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Never used! This item is printed on demand. Nº de ref. de la librería 0956031609

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 13,82
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 1,68
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

4.

Shamim Sarif
Editorial: Enlightenment Productions Ltd., United Kingdom (2010)
ISBN 10: 0956031609 ISBN 13: 9780956031600
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
The Book Depository US
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Enlightenment Productions Ltd., United Kingdom, 2010. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. In 1950 s South Africa, free-spirited Amina has broken all the rules of her own conventional Indian community, and the new apartheid-led government, by running a cafe with Jacob her coloured business partner. When she meets Miriam, a young wife and mother, their unexpected attraction pushes Miriam to question the rules that bind her and a chain of events is set in motion that changes both women forever. The World Unseen transports us to a vibrant, colourful world, a world that divides white from black and women from men, but one that might just allow an unexpected love to survive. Nº de ref. de la librería APC9780956031600

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 17,34
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

5.

Shamim Sarif
Editorial: Enlightenment Productions Ltd., United Kingdom (2010)
ISBN 10: 0956031609 ISBN 13: 9780956031600
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Impresión bajo demanda
Librería
The Book Depository
(London, Reino Unido)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Enlightenment Productions Ltd., United Kingdom, 2010. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.In 1950 s South Africa, free-spirited Amina has broken all the rules of her own conventional Indian community, and the new apartheid-led government, by running a cafe with Jacob her coloured business partner. When she meets Miriam, a young wife and mother, their unexpected attraction pushes Miriam to question the rules that bind her and a chain of events is set in motion that changes both women forever. The World Unseen transports us to a vibrant, colourful world, a world that divides white from black and women from men, but one that might just allow an unexpected love to survive. Nº de ref. de la librería APC9780956031600

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 17,37
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
De Reino Unido a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

6.

Shamim Sarif
ISBN 10: 0956031609 ISBN 13: 9780956031600
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: > 20
Librería
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. 344 pages. In 1950s South Africa, free-spirited Amina has broken all the rules of her own conventional Indian community, and the new apartheid-led government, by running a caf with Jacob her coloured business partner. When she meets Miriam, a young wife and mother, their unexpected attraction pushes Miriam to question the rules that bind her. When Amina helps Miriams sister-in-law to hide from the police, a chain of events is set in motion that changes both women forever. The World Unseen transports us to a vibrant, colourful world, a world that divides white from black and women from men, but one that might just allow an unexpected love to survive. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Nº de ref. de la librería 9780956031600

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 17,73
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

7.

Sarif, Shamim
Editorial: Enlightenment (2010)
ISBN 10: 0956031609 ISBN 13: 9780956031600
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 10
Librería
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Enlightenment, 2010. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería INGM9780956031600

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 15,20
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 4,22
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

8.

Shamim Sarif
Editorial: Enlightenment (2010)
ISBN 10: 0956031609 ISBN 13: 9780956031600
Nuevos Tapa blanda Cantidad: 1
Librería
California Spanish Books
(San francisco, CA, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Enlightenment, 2010. Estado de conservación: New. Nº de ref. de la librería I-9780956031600

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 16,53
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 3,38
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

9.

Shamim Sarif
Editorial: Enlightenment (2010)
ISBN 10: 0956031609 ISBN 13: 9780956031600
Nuevos Paperback Cantidad: 1
Librería
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, Estados Unidos de America)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Enlightenment, 2010. Paperback. Estado de conservación: New. book. Nº de ref. de la librería M0956031609

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 20,11
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: GRATIS
A Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

10.

Sarif, Shamim
Editorial: Enlightenment
ISBN 10: 0956031609 ISBN 13: 9780956031600
Nuevos PAPERBACK Cantidad: > 20
Librería
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)
Valoración
[?]

Descripción Enlightenment. PAPERBACK. Estado de conservación: New. 0956031609 Special order direct from the distributor. Nº de ref. de la librería ING9780956031600

Más información sobre esta librería | Hacer una pregunta a la librería

Comprar nuevo
EUR 15,61
Convertir moneda

Añadir al carrito

Gastos de envío: EUR 5,91
De Canada a Estados Unidos de America
Destinos, gastos y plazos de envío

Existen otras copia(s) de este libro

Ver todos los resultados de su búsqueda